Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Bug Reports

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-25-2019, 07:31 PM   #1
mrelwood
Human being with feelings
 
mrelwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,405
Default ReaEQ: Parameter Link, "Scale" reference value is wrong

Trying to link EQ band gains of two ReaEQ instances, in reverse. So that setting one to +6 would set the other to -6. Seems this can't be done. I got close by setting the Link Offset and Scale to -100%. However, now the slave Gain is not set to -6 but to -3.5. And setting the master to -6 makes the slave go to +7.9.

As I played with the Link Offset and Scale sliders, it seems as if the Gain values are not referenced to +0dB, but to 0V, since:
Master at +0dB, slave goes to:
-6dB (scale at 50%)
-inf (scale at 0%)

From user perspective the current behavior is pointless and useless. Scale at 0% should result no deviation from the default value, which for an EQ gain is of course +0dB. The expected behavior would be:

Master at +6dB would set slave to:
-6dB (scale at -100%)
-3dB (scale at -50%)
0dB (scale at 0%)
3dB (scale at 50%)
__________________
______Announcing__mrelwood plugins______
.. MacBook Pro 15" Late '13 .. Scarlett 6i6, Saffire Pro 24 DSP (+ADA8000) .. FCA610 .. EVE: SC207 .. Focal: Alpha 65, CMS 40, Listen Pro ..
mrelwood is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2020, 04:55 PM   #2
Icchan
Human being with feelings
 
Icchan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Finland
Posts: 564
Default

Agreed, I ran into this today while trying to mess with pre and post emphasis EQ for a particular VST...
This should be changed.
__________________
Support FR's to make reaper more usable!
PRE-Fader Metering, TCP Parameter knobs, Splitting Midi Editor, Big MIDI Indicators
Icchan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2020, 02:21 AM   #3
mrelwood
Human being with feelings
 
mrelwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,405
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Icchan View Post
Agreed, I ran into this today while trying to mess with pre and post emphasis EQ for a particular VST...
This should be changed.
I actually made a LinkEQ plugin myself because of this very issue. It has a few other fresh and interesting features as well, but it is still in beta and may generate noise or pops while adjusting. Once I get that fixed, this is a one powerful EQ for Reaper.

Latest LinkEQ beta:
https://forum.cockos.com/showthread....12#post2239312

LinkEQ introduction:
https://forum.cockos.com/showthread....04#post2146004
__________________
______Announcing__mrelwood plugins______
.. MacBook Pro 15" Late '13 .. Scarlett 6i6, Saffire Pro 24 DSP (+ADA8000) .. FCA610 .. EVE: SC207 .. Focal: Alpha 65, CMS 40, Listen Pro ..
mrelwood is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2020, 06:42 PM   #4
djabthrash
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Paris (France)
Posts: 15
Default

Same problem here...
Can't do any "reverse" parameter linking when needed, very annoying indeed !
djabthrash is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.