Old 12-01-2019, 05:09 PM   #1
budda
Human being with feelings
 
budda's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: UA
Posts: 16
Default ReaComp AA

Why ReaComp in Reaplugs vst pack have AA, and Reacomp inside Reaper dont have it?
budda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2019, 05:39 PM   #2
Xenakios
Human being with feelings
 
Xenakios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Oulu, Finland
Posts: 8,062
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by budda View Post
Why ReaComp in Reaplugs vst pack have AA, and Reacomp inside Reaper dont have it?
It was determined the AA didn't really work as intended in ReaComp and it was removed from the Reaper-included plugin. The standalone plugins have not been updated to have that change.
__________________
I am no longer part of the REAPER community. Please don't contact me with any REAPER-related issues.
Xenakios is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2020, 03:41 PM   #3
pepe44
Human being with feelings
 
pepe44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Portugal
Posts: 1,044
Default

And what is the internal Anti aliasing defined in the "refurbished" reacomp after the 5.97 update ? none or 2x ?
__________________
Intel core i7 6700K - socket 1151 LGA - Chipset z170 - 16G DDR4 - Nvidia GTX 1060
pepe44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2020, 02:49 AM   #4
not-relevant
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 92
Default

BTW: if you want anti-aliasing across the board for all plug-ins in a project, you can always render your project at a higher samplerate and resample the result back down to your target format.
not-relevant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2020, 05:46 AM   #5
pepe44
Human being with feelings
 
pepe44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Portugal
Posts: 1,044
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by not-relevant View Post
BTW: if you want anti-aliasing across the board for all plug-ins in a project, you can always render your project at a higher samplerate and resample the result back down to your target format.
I believe that won´t solve the problem regarding the fold back aliasing at 44.1 when using some saturators / compressors, since you´re printing a mix with all those mirrored frequencies .
__________________
Intel core i7 6700K - socket 1151 LGA - Chipset z170 - 16G DDR4 - Nvidia GTX 1060
pepe44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2020, 07:31 AM   #6
not-relevant
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 92
Default

I'm not an expert on this, and someone more informed might be able to clarify, but I think a saturator will produce considerably less aliasing if you run it at a higher sample rate, resample the input up to that rate, and resample the output back down afterwards, providing the input signal is relatively low frequency compared to the rate the saturator runs at and the resampling process has suitable bandlimiting.

This is essentially what plug-ins do when they offer an anti-aliasing setting. However, doing on the whole mix, rather than on a plug-in by plug-in basis, reduces the amount of sample-rate conversion that has to be done, which has got to be preferable from a sound quality perspective.

Edit: I think I read somewhere that Line 6 oversample 8x in their guitar processors though, so perhaps the benefits of upsampling to say 96kHz or even 172kHz if targetting 44kHz, might be limited.
not-relevant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2020, 08:50 PM   #7
ErBird
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 551
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by not-relevant View Post
providing the input signal is relatively low frequency compared to the rate the saturator runs at.
The input gain matters too. Even a low frequency input at high gain will create harmonics above Nyquist.

Also, this is from u-he's URS on KVR:
"The problem is that the added harmonics in a signal chain add to each other. That is, a nonlinear process will also add harmonics to the already added ones from the previous process. So each time you double the samplerate all you get is one more plugin in the signal chain to end up with the same level of artifacts.

The best way to keep aliasing low is to bandlimit each single process in the chain. Thus deploying steep filters inbetween. 'tis the only way."
ErBird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2020, 04:06 PM   #8
pepe44
Human being with feelings
 
pepe44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Portugal
Posts: 1,044
Default

Recently i made a post about some odd events regarding reacomp. While i was doing some experiments i found that when activating the preview for the filter detector all sliders introduce a glitchy sound. Old Versions too. I made a thread about and i would like to learn a bit more about this problem if someone could help.
thread here: https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=231788
__________________
Intel core i7 6700K - socket 1151 LGA - Chipset z170 - 16G DDR4 - Nvidia GTX 1060
pepe44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.