Old 05-25-2020, 12:14 PM   #1
Edgemeal
Human being with feelings
 
Edgemeal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: ASU`ogacihC
Posts: 1,805
Default v6.11+dev0525 - May 25 2020

v6.11+dev0525 - May 25 2020
+ Area selection: add area selection and area selection edge mouse modifiers
+ Area selection: drag areas to move or copy, drag edges to adjust selection or stretch contents
+ Area selection: support creating area selections in arrange view right-drag mouse modifiers
+ Area selection: support cut/copy/paste
+ Area selection: support selecting areas of media items and envelopes
+ Custom actions: editor is now modeless and can be opened for multiple custom actions at once
+ Custom actions: improve accessibility of editor (Control+Up/Down to reorder custom action list, Enter to add to list, etc) [t=237012]
+ Envelopes: fix display glitch in certain instances with asymmetrical envelope display [t=208841]
+ FX browser: allow drag/drop reordering of user-folders
+ FX browser: reorder user folders via Ctrl+Up/Down in tree
+ ReaEQ: fix processing artifact when automating parameters away from a non-automatically-bypassed state [t=208841]
+ Ripple: allow moving media items across tracks with ripple enabled
+ macOS: allow NSAppTransportSecurity NSExceptionDomains for localhost/HTTP for some plug-ins
# FX browser: improve handling of video processor when hiding prefixes

This thread is for pre-release discussion. Please post other requests in the Feature Requests forum.

Full changelog / Latest pre-releases
Edgemeal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2020, 12:22 PM   #2
Triode
Human being with feelings
 
Triode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 690
Default

Kabooom !!!!!
__________________
Brush and Beater Drums Online: www.outoftheboxdrums.co.uk
Triode is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2020, 12:27 PM   #3
nappies
Human being with feelings
 
nappies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 159
Default

Hallelujah brothers!Thank you devs!
nappies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2020, 12:28 PM   #4
Jason Brian Merrill
Human being with feelings
 
Jason Brian Merrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Northeastern PA, USA
Posts: 21,116
Default

whoa, area selection is neat

I immediately added the actions.
__________________
Beliefs do not require respect. People do.
Jason Brian Merrill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2020, 12:34 PM   #5
BirdBird
Human being with feelings
 
BirdBird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 174
Default

Never jumped out of bed so quick in my life Testing...
BirdBird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2020, 12:38 PM   #6
IXix
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: mcr:uk
Posts: 3,479
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edgemeal View Post
+ Area selection: add area selection and area selection edge mouse modifiers
+ Area selection: drag areas to move or copy, drag edges to adjust selection or stretch contents
+ Area selection: support creating area selections in arrange view right-drag mouse modifiers
+ Area selection: support cut/copy/paste
+ Area selection: support selecting areas of media items and envelopes
So it's true. This really is the apocalypse!
IXix is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2020, 12:48 PM   #7
ferropop
Human being with feelings
 
ferropop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 722
Default

I'm dead.


Dead.
ferropop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2020, 12:54 PM   #8
akademie
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,437
Default

Ho ho ho
akademie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2020, 12:57 PM   #9
Triode
Human being with feelings
 
Triode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 690
Default

I had to look and was initially puzzled but it's here:

"Mouse modifiers to create area selection are in the Arrange View right-drag context"
__________________
Brush and Beater Drums Online: www.outoftheboxdrums.co.uk
Triode is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2020, 12:57 PM   #10
citizenkeith
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Ohio
Posts: 818
Default

Whoa.
__________________
http://www.citizenkeith.com
citizenkeith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2020, 12:59 PM   #11
J Reverb
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 765
Default

OMFG !!!! bobs your uncle and fannys your aunt ! way to go dev's !!!
J Reverb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2020, 01:07 PM   #12
ferropop
Human being with feelings
 
ferropop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 722
Default

Sincerely I'm gonna eat my own hat. This looks SO good you guys. I hesitate to make ANY suggestions at all because we've been given gold, but ....take it or leave it lol.

1. When Ctrl-Dragging area to duplicate, what do devs/users think of the original selection remaining visible as a guide? Most likely you'll be selecting/duplicating to the same tracks but just another section in time of the song, and seeing the original selection acts as a guide when deciding where to position the drop. Especially at 4k (we'll all be there soon!) it's hard to see if your duplication is aligned with your selection, also because there's no tinting of the Arrange Area when a track is selected. Any sort of guide, as I suspect that'll be the most common usage of Area Selection - grabbing a chunk of stuff and duplicating it later in the project but to the same tracks.

2. Actions/Modifiers for Create Area Selection from Time Selection for selected tracks, and/or Create Area Selection On All Tracks when Modifier-Dragging on the timeline.


...otherwise wow guys. From the bottom of my heart.
ferropop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2020, 01:11 PM   #13
BirdBird
Human being with feelings
 
BirdBird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 174
Default

It works really well! That being said... time to nitpick

Vertical Dividers
When zoomed out it is really hard to drag the entire area, as there are hotspots for the vertical dividers everywhere:

I believe a potentially better way to handle this would be to draw the area as a solid block instead, and have an Area Selection -----> Left Drag context modifier to remove tracks/envelopes from the area.


Visual feedback
When drawing new areas that overlap with the existing ones it does get hard to see where where the area starts and where it ends. The new information (the new area being drawn in this case) should be brighter than the previous existing area. (Or perhaps the brightness of the old area should be dimmed during the operation)



Snapping
Currently the beginning of the area snaps to the previous grid division, the end of the area snaps to the nearest grid division. Solving this inconsistency would make the area selection much more intuitive to use.
So either:
Area Beginning -----> Snaps to previous grid
Area End -------------> Snaps to next grid
So the user is always focused on ''drawing into'' the grid.
OR
Area Beginning -----> Snaps to closest grid
Area End -----> Snaps to closest grid
So the user is always focused on aiming for the grid division.

I personally find aiming for the grid division a tad easier to operate visually. Would be curious to hear what everyone else thinks.

Movement
When vertically zoomed out it can be hard to move things on the horizontal or the vertical axis only. Mouse modifiers to constrain movement horizontally or vertically in the Area Selection context would be very useful and needed in some cases.


Duplicate area
One of the most common operations musicians use with area selection is selecting an area and hitting a keyboard shortcut to duplicate it right at the end of the area. Maybe I missed it but I couldn't find an action that does this.

Last edited by BirdBird; 05-25-2020 at 01:29 PM.
BirdBird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2020, 01:15 PM   #14
wol
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 79
Default

Me: wtf?!
wol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2020, 01:17 PM   #15
ovnis
Human being with feelings
 
ovnis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1,466
Default

Great add ! Thx you

A great feature would be to add "always snap" to some feature like area selection, region, etc (inside mouse modifier). Why ? Because, some people use always some functionalities with the snap. So, we will gain time to don't have to handle the toggle snap.

Quote:
2. Actions/Modifiers for Create Area Selection from Time Selection for selected tracks, and/or Create Area Selection On All Tracks when Modifier-Dragging on the timeline.
It would be a nice idea to be able to move in the same the time selection + area selection.

Last edited by ovnis; 05-25-2020 at 01:25 PM.
ovnis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2020, 01:27 PM   #16
Thonex
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,148
Default

Thank you Devs!!!

You guys rock!

A lot of users will be very happy!
__________________
Cheers,
Andrew K
v6.03+dev0114 - January 14 2020 • Mac 10.12.+ • i7 Quad 2.9GHz • 24GB
Thonex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2020, 01:27 PM   #17
ferropop
Human being with feelings
 
ferropop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 722
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BirdBird View Post
It works really well! That being said... time to nitpick

Vertical Dividers
When zoomed out it is really hard to drag the entire area, as there are hotspots for the vertical dividers everywhere:

I believe a potentially better way to handle this would be to draw the area as a solid block instead, and have an Area Selection -----> Left Drag context modifier to remove tracks/envelopes from the area.
Maybe easier: when hovering over Area and holding Duplicate Modifier (Ctrl), disable the vertical dividers as they are unnecessary when holding the modifier.

Quote:

Visual feedback
When drawing new areas that overlap with the existing ones it does get hard to see where where the area starts and where it ends. The new information (the new area being drawn in this case) should be brighter than the previous existing area. (Or perhaps the brightness of the old area should be dimmed during the operation)

Agreed or even just the box border color be lighter.

Quote:

Snapping
Currently the beginning of the area snaps to the previous grid division, the end of the area snaps to the nearest grid division. Solving this inconsistency would make the area selection much more intuitive to use.
So either:
Area Beginning -----> Snaps to previous grid
Area End -------------> Snaps to next grid
So the user is always focused on ''drawing into'' the grid.
OR
Area Beginning -----> Snaps to closest grid
Area Beginning -----> Snaps to closest grid
So the user is always focused on aiming for the grid division.

I personally find aiming for the grid division a tad easier to operate visually. Would be curious to hear what everyone else thinks.
Will play with this to give feedback, but you have Area Beginning written twice for your Snaps to closest Grid proposal ... bringing it up just so it doesn't cause confusion

Quote:
Movement
When vertically zoomed out it can be hard to move things on the horizontal or the vertical axis only. Mouse modifiers to constrain movement horizontally or vertically in the Area Selection context would be very useful and needed in some cases.
Agree, locking would be great, or my proposal above of leaving intact the selected area when Ctrl-Dragging so you have a visual guide of where you are coming from.

Quote:

Duplicate area
One of the most common operations musicians use with area selection is selecting an area and hitting a keyboard shortcut to duplicate it right at the end of the area. Maybe I missed it but I couldn't find an action that does this.
SUPER important. People want to select stuff, and hit Duplicate Area x times. This should very importantly work in conjunction with Trim Content Behind Media Items When Editing, as often you just want to drag in some stuff, Select Area, and hit duplicate a bunch of times and have it just overtake the stuff it's pasting over rather than creating a mess of layers/crossfades etc. The area should simply replace what it's overlapping when duplicating in that mode.
ferropop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2020, 01:28 PM   #18
Joe90
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 686
Default Area Selection!

Amazing! Thank you!

One thing I've noticed straight away - I have 'grid snap settings follow grid visibility' checked, and the minimum grid line spacing pixels set quite high which essentially provides me with an 'adaptive grid' that gets higher resolution the further zoomed in I am.

It would be great if when 'grid snap settings follow grid visibility' is checked, this also applies to area selection. Or it could be a separate checkbox I guess. Otherwise it gets quite fiddly when zoomed out and area selecting large areas.

Duplicate is needed too I'd say (I think someone mentioned that already).

Thanks again!
Joe90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2020, 01:32 PM   #19
Delucci
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 192
Default

What a time to be alive.
Delucci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2020, 01:34 PM   #20
BirdBird
Human being with feelings
 
BirdBird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 174
Default

Thanks @ferropop, fixed the typo

Quote:
Originally Posted by ferropop View Post
Maybe easier: when hovering over Area and holding Duplicate Modifier (Ctrl), disable the vertical dividers as they are unnecessary when holding the modifier.
I believe the other way around would be much better as dragging operations are executed more than removing tracks from the area. So in this case, hold a modifier to reveal dividers. (Or just hold a modifier and click within the area to remove a track)
In either case I believe making this a modifier and drawing the area as a solid block would be easier on the eyes and more intuitive to use instead of worrying about hotspots.

Last edited by BirdBird; 05-25-2020 at 01:47 PM.
BirdBird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2020, 01:34 PM   #21
juliansader
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3,143
Default

Exciting!

* Could we get click mouse modifiers in the Media Item and AI contexts to quickly add the entire item to the Area Selection?

* Area selection MMs for splitting doesn't yet split AIs.

* Copying AIs with Area Selection doesn't obey "Options: Trim contents behind AIs" setting.

* Snapping to item edges would be useful for drawing precise Areas.

* Stretching an Area across an AIs starts dragging the AI along, with the dragged AI stretching ahead of the Area.

Last edited by juliansader; 05-25-2020 at 02:12 PM.
juliansader is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2020, 01:35 PM   #22
nappies
Human being with feelings
 
nappies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 159
Default

Some minor area zoom lag
nappies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2020, 01:38 PM   #23
puddi
Human being with feelings
 
puddi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 295
Default

I'm crying right now, thank you devs!

Let's bug test the crap out of this and make it the best it can be!
__________________
☐ Area Selection
puddi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2020, 01:39 PM   #24
Sexan
Human being with feelings
 
Sexan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 2,808
Default

Have no fear I am here!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Sexan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2020, 01:43 PM   #25
Joe90
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 686
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ferropop View Post
SUPER important. People want to select stuff, and hit Duplicate Area x times. This should very importantly work in conjunction with Trim Content Behind Media Items When Editing, as often you just want to drag in some stuff, Select Area, and hit duplicate a bunch of times and have it just overtake the stuff it's pasting over rather than creating a mess of layers/crossfades etc. The area should simply replace what it's overlapping when duplicating in that mode.
Yes. I don't think you should even need 'trim content...' on at all. It should just replace the entire area with whatever you've just pasted/duplicated in that spot. This is how copying is currently working in this implementation, which I'd say is the correct way to do, and duplication should work the same way. Anything under the new area gets obliterated and replaced with whatever was in the original, copied area, including blank spaces.

I'd also LOVE to see some rudimentary envelope editing tools based on the area selection, just some little handles so we can grab, compress/stretch, fade etc... but I know it's still early days... just throwing it out there.

A way of changing the shortcuts for drag copy would be great too.

Thanks!
Joe90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2020, 01:46 PM   #26
airon
Human being with feelings
 
airon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Berlin
Posts: 10,670
Default

Special day.

I am impressed. This is very useful indeed, and integrates well.

That an item partially covered by an area selection will introduce stretch markers as the area selection is compressed/expanded is a nice touch.

Split at time selection now does area selection splits too. Nice.

Multiple area selections. Removal with CTRL+right-click. It just works.

Copies take automation with them. Automation across multiple lanes and/or tracks copies over just fine. I think it's a good thing that every new envelope lane that gets introduced to a target area does not pop up.

The frame grid's fine on my end. So far it's behaving as I expect it to.

I think we're off to the races with this one. Well done sirs.
__________________
Dialogue/FX Editor & Re-Recording Mixer
(Video)Using Latch Preview - Faderport16 CSI
"My ego comes pre-shrunk" - Randy Thom
airon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2020, 01:46 PM   #27
Gass n Klang
Human being with feelings
 
Gass n Klang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Detmold - Germany
Posts: 651
Default

HALLELUJAH!
__________________
https://gassnklang.de
Gass n Klang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2020, 01:49 PM   #28
Funkybot
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,194
Default

This is lit.
Funkybot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2020, 01:51 PM   #29
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 24,119
Default

Sexan did you help the devs out for this or?


Schwa: YES. THIS IS FUCKING LIT!
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2020, 01:51 PM   #30
svijayrathinam
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 626
Default

its a very cool feature. But Pls make it available on left drag also. Performing right drags on trackpad is a bit odd. Pls developers
svijayrathinam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2020, 01:51 PM   #31
cfillion
Human being with feelings
 
cfillion's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 3,145
Default

The tooltip leaves some artifacts behind when left-dragging upwards in the area selection:

(macOS 10.14)
cfillion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2020, 01:53 PM   #32
ferropop
Human being with feelings
 
ferropop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 722
Default

Really Important (please give feedback):

Doing Area Selection of the ITEMS LANE ONLY is currently not possible.



Love that you can just select an individual automation lane or lanes, but you cannot currently ONLY select the ITEMS.
ferropop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2020, 01:53 PM   #33
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 24,119
Default

Almost immediately: there needs to be a way to swipe the mouse to remove area selections at will by just swiping across them.
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2020, 01:53 PM   #34
Sexan
Human being with feelings
 
Sexan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 2,808
Default

copy paste is weird. I'm maybe pushing it but my COPY MODE is something REALLY special:



At least make when starting drawing of Area select first track. When selecting paste destination Area is removed

Last edited by Sexan; 05-25-2020 at 02:03 PM.
Sexan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2020, 01:54 PM   #35
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 24,119
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ferropop View Post
Really Important (please give feedback):

Doing Area Selection of the ITEMS LANE ONLY is currently not possible.



Love that you can just select an individual automation lane or lanes, but you cannot currently ONLY select the ITEMS.
That is super important, yes!
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2020, 01:54 PM   #36
mehmethan
Human being with feelings
 
mehmethan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 500
Default

Today is my birthday and this "area selection" gift really made me happy. Thank you
mehmethan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2020, 01:55 PM   #37
ferropop
Human being with feelings
 
ferropop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 722
Default

Should these be collected in a dedicated post? This is gonna be hell for the devs to sort through haha; our excitement is electric though!
ferropop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2020, 01:56 PM   #38
mabian
Human being with feelings
 
mabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Italy
Posts: 3,691
Default

And out of a "boring" new pre release suddenly - the armageddon.

Judgment day? Ah no, I see... we can play with it then it will be pulled off before 6.12

Just kidding.

Devs must be doing the coffin dance with Pro T***s in the coffin...

Just being silly now.

Seriously, really glad it's coming.

Now, about that articulation editor...

- Mario
__________________
My DAW: Intel i7700k @4.2GHz / 16GB RAM / RME Fireface UC / 250GB SSD / 2x2TB HD / Win10x64
My Music: http://www.reverbnation.com/errepici - http://www.errepici.it/web/contents.asp?sec=4
mabian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2020, 01:58 PM   #39
svijayrathinam
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 626
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
Almost immediately: there needs to be a way to swipe the mouse to remove area selections at will by just swiping across them.
Great idea !! or pls make hitting esc key to clear all area selections.
svijayrathinam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2020, 01:58 PM   #40
puddi
Human being with feelings
 
puddi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 295
Default

Wow, this is really solid already.

The only thing I noticed is that the selection snaps to "invisible" grid lines when you're zoomed out. That's probably what's happening in Nappie's GIF above. Normal time selection can snap to only the visible grid lines which makes more sense to me.

Edit: Restarted Reaper and now the area selection snaps correctly. Seems to be some inconsistency there.
__________________
☐ Area Selection

Last edited by puddi; 05-25-2020 at 02:23 PM.
puddi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.