Old 06-11-2019, 08:24 AM   #1
Ozman
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 557
Default Reaper Chord Track

Looking at the date of the first project I posted on this, it's been almost 4 years since I made a working example of a real-time Reaper project containing a chord progression that forced MIDI and Audio tracks to conform.

Link to Project

I'm wondering why this isn't a big factor to anyone here. Many praise tools like RapidComposer and the like, but tools like that do not affect audio clips.

Cubase was the first with a Chord Track. Studio One even has its own Chord Track.
I bet both of them has had their issues, but they at least started with something.

Reaper Developers, Scriptors, etc. please start giving more attention to such workflows NATIVELY. The capabilities are already there. Just some love and team-work needs to be applied to the goal.

Look at how heavy MusoBob is going on his ReaTrack workflow, using tools like Band in a Box.

Like Really?

No one should have to make so many crazy 3rd party workflows for such common/modern composing features, that Reaper for the most part is already capable of performing.

I'm trying not to make this come off as a rant. But really, am I just wasting my time even bringing this up?
Ozman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2019, 08:38 AM   #2
Lokasenna
Human being with feelings
 
Lokasenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada
Posts: 6,241
Default

There's a sizeable list of features that a majority of users seem to agree are no-brainers, like this, but which Cockos haven't shown any inclination to work on. Whether that's from a lack of interest, or maybe because of technical challenges with how the existing code works, nobody can say.
Lokasenna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2019, 06:01 AM   #3
Michael AD
Human being with feelings
 
Michael AD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Hackensack
Posts: 267
Default

I agree - this would be very useful.
Michael AD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2019, 11:59 AM   #4
azslow3
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Heidelberg, Germany
Posts: 710
Default

Tracktion has chord support. Cakewalk has no chord progression, but at least pitch markers (MIDI/audio able to follow it).

Is REAPER the only DAW which think that "pitch" is no so important for Music?
azslow3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2019, 09:47 PM   #5
puddi
Human being with feelings
 
puddi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 247
Default

+1

Would like to see something like this too.
puddi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2019, 12:21 AM   #6
cool
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Sunny Siberian Islands
Posts: 160
Default

I think that while Reaper does not have a native polyphonic pitch engine, there is no point in talking about something like a chord track of the Studio One4 level.
At the moment, the closest available way to change the notes inside a chord (I mean audio, not midi) is to use Melodyne. But this is still far from the full-fledged chord track.
cool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2019, 05:09 AM   #7
Ozman
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 557
Default Reaper cannot .... ?

Reaper has ARA, which may be the one of the best polyphonic pitch engines and is also able to detect a sample's key.
Anyway, there's also, most likely, some open source library for this stuff as well (if ARA doesn't easily communicate such data through its API).
Either way, if multiple DAWs have been able to do it for years, why cannot Reaper?

The test project I did which forced monophonic audio and midi notes to conform to a chord progression was done 4 years ago,
that's a whole college degree/military enlistment worth of time.

It's features like this that make digital ITB musicians feel a major lacking, when we know music theory and see tools floating around of various other DAWs
which cater to ITB composition. It's pretty much becoming a standard nowadays.

We stay hopeful with Reaper for one reason: Love.

While other DAWs tend to have a lot of features that I have access to (e.g. Studio One, Ableton, FL Studio, Sonar, Audition, etc), and know very well,
I prefer Reaper be my canvas.

I've been tweaking, making toolbars and menus, etc, doing the best I can do to adapt certain workflows
to this platform. But with this, there's just no way around it.

I need... We need the help of the Reaper Devs.

Last edited by Ozman; 06-13-2019 at 05:39 AM.
Ozman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2019, 02:21 AM   #8
MusoBob
Human being with feelings
 
MusoBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 1,025
Default

I think you may just see a chord track in Reaper 6.
Getting midi to conform should not be a problem,
MIDI_SetScale was asked for as there is only a MIDI_GetScale this would enable snap all notes starting in selection (region) to snap to that Reascale, ReaTrak at the moment reads the region/chord name gets the notes for that chord from the internal chord library then converts it to a ReaScale value then uses mpl's Snap selected notes to scale, so that should be easy enough for a Reaper 6 chord track to do.
https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?p=2129237#780
Monophonic audio should not be a problem, I suggested with ReaTune they could have an option to receive a send from a midi chord track to set the ReaTune notes, so having a chord track they could do that automatically or to whatever scale it is set to.

To conform polyphonic audio you would need Reaper to integrate Melodyne as Studio One does so those who have the polyphonic version of Melodyne will get this feature in Reaper.

With ReaTrak I was hoping there would be a community sharing of prerecorded instrument tracks in different key/chord progressions that are fitted automatically to the chord track rather than having to elastique them, but that may happen down the track if Reaper 6 has a chord track then things may take off as potential is seen.
I would have to modify ReaTrak from
reaper.EnumProjectMarkers( proj, idx )
to
reaper.EnumProjectChords( proj, idx )

reaper.SetProjectMarker
to
reaper.SetProjectChord
etc...

but I don't think it would have all the chords that ReaTrak has as Reaper's MusicXML import only imports basic chord names and misses a lot that MuseScore uses.
https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=209607
__________________
ReaTrakStudio Chord Track for Reaper forum
www.reatrak.com
MusoBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2019, 12:48 PM   #9
MusoBob
Human being with feelings
 
MusoBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 1,025
Default

With the chords for Reaper 6 chord track you could have an editable GUI chord library that allows you to add aliases names to chords, add new chords and edit the chord's notes,
ReaTrak matches the region name by
if string.find(",Maj11,maj11,M11,Maj7(add11),M7(add11 ),", ","..chord..",", 1, true) then note2=4 note3=7 note4=11 note5=14 note6=17 end
__________________
ReaTrakStudio Chord Track for Reaper forum
www.reatrak.com
MusoBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2019, 03:45 PM   #10
krahosk
Human being with feelings
 
krahosk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,696
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MusoBob View Post
With the chords for Reaper 6 chord track you could have an editable GUI chord library that allows you to add aliases names to chords, add new chords and edit the chord's notes,
ReaTrak matches the region name by
if string.find(",Maj11,maj11,M11,Maj7(add11),M7(add11 ),", ","..chord..",", 1, true) then note2=4 note3=7 note4=11 note5=14 note6=17 end
WOW! thank MusoBob!
krahosk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2019, 04:00 PM   #11
pbognar
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 244
Default

Here's another vote for a chord track in Reaper.
pbognar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.