Old 08-10-2016, 06:48 AM   #1
urednik
Human being with feelings
 
urednik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1,163
Default Video EDITING - Tips, Tricks & Questions

It is not easy to find threads or help regarding video editing on this forum, because there is no dedicated forum for this.
It might be better to post all our questions in one thread, so we can co-operate better.
For start I would recommend everyone working with video in Reaper to download Jon's video presets, since default presets are not enough.
Even Jon himself keeps posting in several threads, which is hard to keep track of.
One of them is here: http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=167376

Any suggestions?
__________________
W10 (64) Lenovo E540 - SSD; Lenovo B590; W7 (32), Compaq 610 (2.1Ghz core 2 duo, L2 cache, 2GB RAM); Neumann mk184 (pair), AEA Ribbon 88mk, AKG SolidTUBE; Focusrite Scarlett 18i20, M-Audio Fast Track Ultra; SWS; Python Playlists; recording merely live acoustic music.
urednik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2016, 07:53 AM   #2
EpicSounds
Human being with feelings
 
EpicSounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5,608
Default

Hard to believe I've been making videos in reaper for over a year and released more videos than I can count. If v5 didn't have video editing functions I would have given up on making videos a long time ago.


Random tip
I've started using Chroma Key overlays instead of Image overlay. I prepare images in the app Pixelmator. 1920x1080 72dpi

When using the 'Simple Source Chroma Key' preset on graphics

Use these standard colors in your image elements
chroma key green:

0,255,0 or Hex #00ff00

chroma key blue:

0,0,255 or Hex #0000ff

The green should work with the default settings.

Avoid angled lines! They will look terrible.

Now that I've written that out I'll have to experiment with higher dpi or resolution and see if the jagged lines are just because the image is stretched on my monitor.
__________________
REAPER Video Tutorials, Tips & Tricks and more at The REAPER Blog
EpicSounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2016, 02:21 PM   #3
urednik
Human being with feelings
 
urednik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1,163
Default

Jon,
please can you help me:
I have a png image that I would like to overlay over a corner of a video for two seconds. How can I manage it with Simple chroma key?
It is a "dreaming cloud" with either transparent or green #00ff00 background. The second goes a little bit, but I totally mess colours on the video ...

Is this doable in Reaper?
__________________
W10 (64) Lenovo E540 - SSD; Lenovo B590; W7 (32), Compaq 610 (2.1Ghz core 2 duo, L2 cache, 2GB RAM); Neumann mk184 (pair), AEA Ribbon 88mk, AKG SolidTUBE; Focusrite Scarlett 18i20, M-Audio Fast Track Ultra; SWS; Python Playlists; recording merely live acoustic music.
urednik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2016, 04:51 PM   #4
TonE
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Reaper HAS send control via midi !!!
Posts: 1,933
Default

Does video work for you in wine?
TonE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2016, 09:04 PM   #5
EpicSounds
Human being with feelings
 
EpicSounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5,608
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by urednik View Post
Jon,
please can you help me:
I have a png image that I would like to overlay over a corner of a video for two seconds. How can I manage it with Simple chroma key?
It is a "dreaming cloud" with either transparent or green #00ff00 background. The second goes a little bit, but I totally mess colours on the video ...

Is this doable in Reaper?
Sure it's possible.



I made a 1920 x 1080 pixel image.
background fill of #00ff00. added the shape.
Exported as png
import to reaper on a track above main video.
track fx chain: video processor "Simple source chroma-key"
K1 -0.5, K2 -0.5, K3 0.75, k4 2
__________________
REAPER Video Tutorials, Tips & Tricks and more at The REAPER Blog
EpicSounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2016, 12:39 AM   #6
urednik
Human being with feelings
 
urednik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1,163
Default

Success, thanks.
But I did it right, just had to reload reaper because first my .png image was done wrong, after correction it did not update, that is why it did not work. Thanks a billion!
__________________
W10 (64) Lenovo E540 - SSD; Lenovo B590; W7 (32), Compaq 610 (2.1Ghz core 2 duo, L2 cache, 2GB RAM); Neumann mk184 (pair), AEA Ribbon 88mk, AKG SolidTUBE; Focusrite Scarlett 18i20, M-Audio Fast Track Ultra; SWS; Python Playlists; recording merely live acoustic music.
urednik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2016, 10:59 AM   #7
EpicSounds
Human being with feelings
 
EpicSounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5,608
Default

that would be because reaper caches the files somehow and doesn't update unless you choose a new file in properties (doesn't work with images), or enable to option to make items offline when the program isn't focused. I just import the file a second time.
__________________
REAPER Video Tutorials, Tips & Tricks and more at The REAPER Blog
EpicSounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2018, 05:31 PM   #8
sjs94704
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Berkeley, CA USA
Posts: 1,016
Default Split Screen possible in Reaper?

I did do a search here on the forum before posting this and either I did not type in the right search criteria or there is nothing on this subject.

I have a software called VideoPad from NCH software that can do split screen, but, to me, everything that Reaper can do with video seems so much easier than this video editing software.

Anyways, I did an experiment with VideoPad and here is a link to my very first video and it does the kind of split screen that I'm looking for.

My parents came for my 54th birthday to visit and I videoed them as my backup singers to the song 'Fly Like the Wind' by Christopher Cross.

I have the music in Reaper and recorded their audio of them singing into Reaper as well. I then just synced the video with the audio.

Now, when it is time for the two of them to sing, I want to put them both up on the screen together the same way as I have it in my video on my YouTube channel.

If there is a way to do this, I learn best by watching videos, but, if there is not one of those, if there is any kind of documentation I would be grateful for a referral to whatever is out there to show me how to do it.

If not I will figure it out in VideoPad.

Here is the link to the video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kBHv80bn0aY
__________________
Bayside Studios, Berkeley, CA - Music That Brings People Together
Come visit me at: https://soundcloud.com/bayside-studios
sjs94704 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2018, 01:22 PM   #9
Sleep opposed
Human being with feelings
 
Sleep opposed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 325
Default

I've got a question...I've been using reaper for years with audio but am a complete dunce when it comes to video.

I have a clip that was recorded on an iphone, in portrait mode. I've added some audio to it and want to export it in the same size/aspect ratio/quality as the original version. I thought i did exactly this when rendering it but it turned out smaller/lesser quality.

Am I missing something? I really know very little about video, I've looked up basic tips and stuff online but it doesn't come naturally to me at all, so it could be something really obvious that I'm missing.

Thanks!
Sleep opposed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2018, 05:15 PM   #10
sjs94704
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Berkeley, CA USA
Posts: 1,016
Default

Are you saying that after rendering the video it looks 'squashed up' and out of proportion?

If so, I am not sure if this will work or not, but, try rotating the video first in Windows to check it before putting it into Reaper again.

If that does not work then maybe someone else has another idea....
__________________
Bayside Studios, Berkeley, CA - Music That Brings People Together
Come visit me at: https://soundcloud.com/bayside-studios
sjs94704 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2018, 05:26 PM   #11
Sleep opposed
Human being with feelings
 
Sleep opposed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 325
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sjs94704 View Post
Are you saying that after rendering the video it looks 'squashed up' and out of proportion?

If so, I am not sure if this will work or not, but, try rotating the video first in Windows to check it before putting it into Reaper again.

If that does not work then maybe someone else has another idea....
I dont have it on this computer to take a screenshot, but its not squashed in any way, its the same proportions, just smaller and seems lesser quality. I do social media for work and i have a video that was taken on a phone...id like to add some stuff to it in reaper, then re-use the video via the phone and onto instagram.

Thanks!
Sleep opposed is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.