Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Bug Reports

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-20-2016, 03:02 PM   #81
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 23,644
Default

Are there any CCs on that track preceeding the loop? This seems not like a reset issue, it's just chasing CCs to what is there (or isn't).
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2016, 03:08 PM   #82
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 12,300
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Auralviolence View Post
EvilDragon, which VSTi should I use for a project example ?
ReaSynth
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2016, 03:09 PM   #83
Auralviolence
Human being with feelings
 
Auralviolence's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Latvia
Posts: 80
Default

Guys, I'm very sorry, it seems to be Fixed indeed ! I've just found that now I have the issue with CC74 only, but with others CC not. So, yes, please return back (FIXED) to the subject !

Below is why I had this with CC74 today. When I delete those previous items with CC74 inside, there are no more CC74 resets on every loop Which setting is responsible for this by the way !

Auralviolence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2016, 03:10 PM   #84
Auralviolence
Human being with feelings
 
Auralviolence's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Latvia
Posts: 80
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
Are there any CCs on that track preceeding the loop? This seems not like a reset issue, it's just chasing CCs to what is there (or isn't).
Yes ! Which setting is responsible for this, please ?
Auralviolence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2016, 03:11 PM   #85
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 23,644
Default

There's no setting for that AFAIK. MIDI CC chasing is what every proper DAW does, and it actually took Reaper quite a long while to do it correctly (now it's working as it should). There's no way to disable that, IIRC.
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2016, 03:19 PM   #86
Auralviolence
Human being with feelings
 
Auralviolence's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Latvia
Posts: 80
Default

EvilDragon, well, I don't remember such complications when I was on Cubase.

Now it looks like the only way to edit CCs on the loop on the right is muting all the preceding items where is that CC number MIDI data.


Anyway, this is not a problem for me, the most important is current thread's bug is fixed indeed !
Auralviolence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2016, 03:24 PM   #87
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 12,300
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Auralviolence View Post
Now it looks like the only way to edit CCs on the loop on the right is muting all the preceding items where is that CC number MIDI data.
I don't have to do this here. Working fine here without the need to disable preceding items. Maybe your Track FX are sending reset stuff?


Btw: REAPER also has it's own MIDI Monitor (ReaControlMIDI: "Show Log")
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2016, 03:28 PM   #88
ELP
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 943
Default



With Enable MIDI Devices All notes off "ON" Pitch/sustain "Off" Reset on Play "Off" Stop/stopped/seek "ON"
Playback Run FX when stopped "ON"
Send MIDI note-offs when un-record-arming "ON"
Reset MIDI CC/Pitch on playback start"Off" playback stop "ON" playback loop/skip "ON"

Reset overrides:
cc32=-1 cc0=-1 cc7=-1 cc10=-1 cc39=-1 cc42=-1 cc70-79=-1 cc91-95=-1

VST compatibility
Dont flush and Dont send note offs or pitch both "Off"

Code:
Result to Hardware BUS MIDI Out:

Item 1            
   1348387  1  --    176    74   112    1  ---  CC: Brightness 

Item 2  Start 
   1350762  1  --    176    74   127    1  ---  CC: Brightness        
   1351263  1  --    176    74    41    1  ---  CC: Brightness        
   1351700  1  --    176    74    62    1  ---  CC: Brightness        
   1352512  1  --    176    74    51    1  ---  CC: Brightness        
   1353012  1  --    176    74    34    1  ---  CC: Brightness        
   1353512  1  --    176    74    48    1  ---  CC: Brightness        
   1354137  1  --    176    74    69    1  ---  CC: Brightness        
   1354950  1  --    176    74    74    1  ---  CC: Brightness        
   1355512  1  --    176    74    42    1  ---  CC: Brightness        
   1355950  1  --    176    74    77    1  ---  CC: Brightness        
   1356637  1  --    176    74    90    1  ---  CC: Brightness        
   1357262  1  --    176    74    89    1  ---  CC: Brightness        
   1357700  1  --    176    74    98    1  ---  CC: Brightness        
   1358262  1  --    176    74    32    1  ---  CC: Brightness        
   1359387  1  --    176    74   112    1  ---  CC: Brightness 
Item 2 End
Loop   
   1361762  1  --    176    74   127    1  ---  CC: Brightness        
   1362262  1  --    176    74    41    1  ---  CC: Brightness        
   1362699  1  --    176    74    62    1  ---  CC: Brightness        
   1363512  1  --    176    74    51    1  ---  CC: Brightness        
   1364012  1  --    176    74    34    1  ---  CC: Brightness        
   1364512  1  --    176    74    48    1  ---  CC: Brightness        
   1365137  1  --    176    74    69    1  ---  CC: Brightness        
   1365949  1  --    176    74    74    1  ---  CC: Brightness        
   1366513  1  --    176    74    42    1  ---  CC: Brightness        
   1366950  1  --    176    74    77    1  ---  CC: Brightness        
   1367637  1  --    176    74    90    1  ---  CC: Brightness        
   1368263  1  --    176    74    89    1  ---  CC: Brightness        
   1368700  1  --    176    74    98    1  ---  CC: Brightness        
   1369262  1  --    176    74    32    1  ---  CC: Brightness        
   1370387  1  --    176    74   112    1  ---  CC: Brightness  
Loop   
   1372762  1  --    176    74   127    1  ---  CC: Brightness  
   1373262  1  --    176    74    41    1  ---  CC: Brightness        
   1373700  1  --    176    74    62    1  ---  CC: Brightness        
   1374512  1  --    176    74    51    1  ---  CC: Brightness        
   1375012  1  --    176    74    34    1  ---  CC: Brightness        
   1375512  1  --    176    74    48    1  ---  CC: Brightness        
   1376137  1  --    176    74    69    1  ---  CC: Brightness
Code:
MIDI Plugin BUS  
0: B0 4A 70 [CC74 Brightness/Cutoff Freq] chan 1 val 112
1: B0 4A 7F [CC74 Brightness/Cutoff Freq] chan 1 val 127
2: B0 4A 29 [CC74 Brightness/Cutoff Freq] chan 1 val 41
3: B0 4A 3E [CC74 Brightness/Cutoff Freq] chan 1 val 62
4: B0 4A 33 [CC74 Brightness/Cutoff Freq] chan 1 val 51
5: B0 4A 22 [CC74 Brightness/Cutoff Freq] chan 1 val 34
6: B0 4A 30 [CC74 Brightness/Cutoff Freq] chan 1 val 48
7: B0 4A 45 [CC74 Brightness/Cutoff Freq] chan 1 val 69
8: B0 4A 4A [CC74 Brightness/Cutoff Freq] chan 1 val 74
9: B0 4A 2A [CC74 Brightness/Cutoff Freq] chan 1 val 42
10: B0 4A 4D [CC74 Brightness/Cutoff Freq] chan 1 val 77
11: B0 4A 5A [CC74 Brightness/Cutoff Freq] chan 1 val 90
12: B0 4A 59 [CC74 Brightness/Cutoff Freq] chan 1 val 89
13: B0 4A 62 [CC74 Brightness/Cutoff Freq] chan 1 val 98
14: B0 4A 20 [CC74 Brightness/Cutoff Freq] chan 1 val 32
15: B0 4A 70 [CC74 Brightness/Cutoff Freq] chan 1 val 112
16: B0 4A 7F [CC74 Brightness/Cutoff Freq] chan 1 val 127
17: B0 4A 29 [CC74 Brightness/Cutoff Freq] chan 1 val 41
18: B0 4A 3E [CC74 Brightness/Cutoff Freq] chan 1 val 62
19: B0 4A 33 [CC74 Brightness/Cutoff Freq] chan 1 val 51
20: B0 4A 22 [CC74 Brightness/Cutoff Freq] chan 1 val 34
21: B0 4A 30 [CC74 Brightness/Cutoff Freq] chan 1 val 48
22: B0 4A 45 [CC74 Brightness/Cutoff Freq] chan 1 val 69
23: B0 4A 4A [CC74 Brightness/Cutoff Freq] chan 1 val 74
24: B0 4A 2A [CC74 Brightness/Cutoff Freq] chan 1 val 42
25: B0 4A 4D [CC74 Brightness/Cutoff Freq] chan 1 val 77
26: B0 4A 5A [CC74 Brightness/Cutoff Freq] chan 1 val 90
27: B0 4A 59 [CC74 Brightness/Cutoff Freq] chan 1 val 89
28: B0 4A 62 [CC74 Brightness/Cutoff Freq] chan 1 val 98
29: B0 4A 20 [CC74 Brightness/Cutoff Freq] chan 1 val 32
30: B0 4A 70 [CC74 Brightness/Cutoff Freq] chan 1 val 112
31: B0 4A 7F [CC74 Brightness/Cutoff Freq] chan 1 val 127
32: B0 4A 29 [CC74 Brightness/Cutoff Freq] chan 1 val 41
33: B0 4A 3E [CC74 Brightness/Cutoff Freq] chan 1 val 62
34: B0 4A 33 [CC74 Brightness/Cutoff Freq] chan 1 val 51
35: B0 4A 22 [CC74 Brightness/Cutoff Freq] chan 1 val 34
36: B0 4A 30 [CC74 Brightness/Cutoff Freq] chan 1 val 48
37: B0 4A 45 [CC74 Brightness/Cutoff Freq] chan 1 val 69
You can see above:
CC74 do not reset to 0 -in any way/Open Midi editor and or Arrange view
and within both Busses(Hardware&Plugin) because cc74 is prevent from reset!!
"cc70-79=-1"

Official REAPER V 5.15/x64 the same with 5.15/x32 version
--
And these flexible CC reset overrides, is one REAPER only Feature..
Attached Images
File Type: jpg reset.JPG (15.8 KB, 283 views)
__________________
I hope you can understand me? Without german beer my written english is always very bad, with beer it becomes unbearable!.
Less is more! To much limited the own creativity.

Last edited by ELP; 02-20-2016 at 03:44 PM.
ELP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2016, 03:33 PM   #89
Auralviolence
Human being with feelings
 
Auralviolence's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Latvia
Posts: 80
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dstruct View Post
I don't have to do this here. Working fine here without the need to disable preceding items. Maybe your Track FX are sending reset stuff?
No, there are no any tracks routed into that one. Strange that you don't have it.
Auralviolence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2016, 03:34 PM   #90
Auralviolence
Human being with feelings
 
Auralviolence's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Latvia
Posts: 80
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ELP View Post
"cc70-79=-1"
Interesting, I still have these resets with CC74=-1
Auralviolence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2016, 03:41 PM   #91
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 12,300
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Auralviolence View Post
No, there are no any tracks routed into that one. Strange that you don't have it.
Sorry, reproduced! But correct behaviour.


I've tested with Channel Pressure controller. There it doesn't happen.


I think we need an option to not chase to the left of playback start position!?
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2016, 03:43 PM   #92
Auralviolence
Human being with feelings
 
Auralviolence's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Latvia
Posts: 80
Default

So, it depends on a CC-number ?
Auralviolence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2016, 03:44 PM   #93
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 23,644
Default

No, all CCs are chased, always.
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2016, 03:46 PM   #94
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 12,300
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
No, all CCs are chased, always.
Channel Pressure obviously not. Why that? Correct behaviour?
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2016, 03:48 PM   #95
ELP
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 943
Default

If he has an CC74 0 value before loop start, this has nothing to do with resets..
Normal Chase..

It is the Chase behavior/ missing options etc. pp within REAPER which is still not satisfactory.. I mean CHASE Events/Options/behave etc. pp

For now, hopefully

The biggest problem refers to chase and REAPER is that REAPER also Chase and send events
which are already at the exact Start and or Loop start position..
Which result in the same message with different values both at the same time
Most problem with native MIDI program change message.
__________________
I hope you can understand me? Without german beer my written english is always very bad, with beer it becomes unbearable!.
Less is more! To much limited the own creativity.

Last edited by ELP; 02-20-2016 at 04:01 PM.
ELP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2016, 03:51 PM   #96
Auralviolence
Human being with feelings
 
Auralviolence's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Latvia
Posts: 80
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ELP View Post
If he has an 0 value before loop start, this has nothing to do with resets..
It's 0 in my current example, as 0 was the last value in the last preceeding loop. But in real it resets to the last event, e.g. if it's 55 in the last preceeding loop, the reset is to 55 as well. So, yes, seems to be chasing.
Auralviolence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2016, 03:55 PM   #97
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 12,300
Default

Posted as Feature Request:

http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=173131
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2016, 03:58 PM   #98
Auralviolence
Human being with feelings
 
Auralviolence's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Latvia
Posts: 80
Default

Dstruct, perhaps it would be correct to give the link to the last 3rd page of this thread there, otherwise it might be not clear for the people reading the request
Auralviolence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2016, 04:01 PM   #99
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 12,300
Default

Done.

+ Bug Report for the Channel Pressure controller not chasing correctly: http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=173132
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2016, 04:14 PM   #100
ELP
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 943
Default

"An option not to chase MIDI CCs to the left of playback start position would be nice!"

This could be done with Prevent Chase over item boundaries or Loop boundaries or simple prevent chase over time selection..

Maybe best as an option within the Track performance option. I think this would be a good place.....
Would be very flexible and for every Track independently

The same like prevent Anticipative/prevent media buffering.... and then for CHASE
__________________
I hope you can understand me? Without german beer my written english is always very bad, with beer it becomes unbearable!.
Less is more! To much limited the own creativity.
ELP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2016, 04:18 PM   #101
Auralviolence
Human being with feelings
 
Auralviolence's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Latvia
Posts: 80
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ELP View Post
or simple prevent chase over time selection..
Agree, because basically chasing is needed. In this case it disturbs in a case of loop/time selection when tweaking a VST only.
Auralviolence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2016, 04:18 PM   #102
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 12,300
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ELP View Post
Maybe best as an option within the Track performance option. I think this would be a good place.....
Would be very flexible and for every Track independently


I'd like a global option for this personally.
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2016, 04:21 PM   #103
ELP
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 943
Default

Mostly you want/need prevent chase only for/during MIDI editing... loop or whatever
And for this reason via independently Track performance thing, would be better..
I personally think.

but maybe both ways would also be possible.
__________________
I hope you can understand me? Without german beer my written english is always very bad, with beer it becomes unbearable!.
Less is more! To much limited the own creativity.

Last edited by ELP; 02-20-2016 at 04:33 PM.
ELP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2016, 04:22 PM   #104
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 12,300
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ELP View Post
"An option not to chase MIDI CCs to the left of playback start position would be nice!"

This could be done with Prevent Chase over item boundaries or Loop boundaries or simple prevent chase over time selection..
Not sure about that. For me this has nothing to do with item or selection boundaries.
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2016, 04:28 PM   #105
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 12,300
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ELP View Post
And for this reason per Track performance option would be better.. I personally think.
Globally for me


I only need reaction to external keyboard input + item CCs passing the playcursor.

Last edited by Dstruct; 02-20-2016 at 04:42 PM.
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2016, 04:33 PM   #106
Auralviolence
Human being with feelings
 
Auralviolence's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Latvia
Posts: 80
Default

OK, seems to be there are different opinions about that IMHO it should be global setting (not per track) and could be called like "Prevent chasing events from the left when looping a time selection".
Auralviolence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2016, 04:53 PM   #107
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 23,644
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dstruct View Post
Channel Pressure obviously not. Why that? Correct behaviour?
Yep, it's not a CC, hence it doesn't really need to be chased. It relies on notes existing beforehand, which is not essential for CCs.
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2018, 06:44 PM   #108
[Doci]e
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 1
Default Better late than never?

I realize there hasn't been any activity on this thread in a while, but it's worth a shot.

Has there been anything added to toggle chasing yet? I just discovered this feature while tweaking a Massive preset and it is a little irritating.
[Doci]e is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2019, 11:55 AM   #109
HighVoltage
Human being with feelings
 
HighVoltage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 368
Default

What i don't understand, is why it is chasing CC's that has no precedence?

For example it always resets my CC1 to 0, but there are no items before, and no CC1 written anywhere in the project. In that case it should leave the parameter the fuck alone shouldn't it?

And it only resets it if i move the parameter with a MIDI controller. If i move the parameter with ReaControlMIDI, it stays where it should.

It's extremely annoying, cause it always resets a few parameters of a properly set up instrument.
HighVoltage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2019, 12:11 PM   #110
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 23,644
Default

CC resetting options are found at Preferences->Audio->Playback->CC reset overrides. You also have options when to do the resets.
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2019, 01:52 PM   #111
HighVoltage
Human being with feelings
 
HighVoltage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 368
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
CC resetting options are found at Preferences->Audio->Playback->CC reset overrides. You also have options when to do the resets.
Oh thanks!!! That solved it.

(Though i'd still like an option to turn chasing off completely.)
HighVoltage is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.