Old 01-12-2010, 10:52 PM   #1
Glubber
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 185
Default Reaper Crashes when closing VST GUI

If I load Peavey Revalver MkIII onto a track, and then close the GUI for Revalver by clicking the 'x', Reaper consistently crashes.

Faulting application reaper.exe, version 3.2.0.0, faulting module ntdll.dll, version 5.1.2600.3180, fault address 0x00028bed.
The previous 3 crashes show the same data.

WinXP sp3, 32bit
4gbRam,
Emu1212m

Last edited by Glubber; 01-13-2010 at 09:49 AM.
Glubber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2010, 11:25 PM   #2
Ollie
Super Moderator (no feelings)
 
Ollie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: On or near a dike
Posts: 9,742
Default

Sorry to hear that but do you have some info what exactly crashes there (crashing module + fault offset)? Create a fresh crash and note the informations when you click the "..details.." button on the crash message or check Event Viewer:

Quote:
Originally Posted by That other thread

[XP]
Go 'Start Menu->Run' and type EVENTVWR <Enter>. In Event Viewer, open the 'Applications' branch and look for the latest "Error" entries.

Jotting down the time of the crash or creating a fresh crash may help you finding the right error entry. The most important informations there are the faulting module and the fault offset. Post them.
Ollie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2010, 09:47 AM   #3
Glubber
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 185
Default

Currently when I initiate this crash, it drops immediately to the desktop with no error window, and no log. Here's one from yesterday.

Faulting application reaper.exe, version 3.2.0.0, faulting module ntdll.dll, version 5.1.2600.3180, fault address 0x00028bed.
The previous 3 crashes show the same data.

Hopefully this is more helpful

I also discovered that if no preset is loaded into Revalver, it closes properly.
Glubber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2010, 05:39 PM   #4
Ollie
Super Moderator (no feelings)
 
Ollie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: On or near a dike
Posts: 9,742
Default

Hmm, alas this doesn't point clearly to something. My suspicion is that another plugin is involved in that.

- Does that happen in an empty project with Revalver as the only plugin?

If it does,
- Have you set the marked two checkboxes in the VST preferences in Reaper like this?



- If yes, what happens if you uncheck them?
Ollie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2010, 11:54 PM   #5
Glubber
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 185
Default

I tried the check boxes, no change.
And I tried a completely empty project with just one track and Revalver, same crash.
Good ideas, but Reaper dies ungracefully.
Glubber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2010, 09:44 AM   #6
Mercado_Negro
Moderator
 
Mercado_Negro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Caracas, Venezuela
Posts: 8,261
Default

What Revalver version are you using? This only happens with older versions afaik (I do not own it but it used to happen when I demoed it about 2 years ago). This was fixed... it was a 'copy protection' issue, Peavey said. Try to update to latest version if you haven't done so
__________________
Pressure is what turns coal into diamonds - Michael a.k.a. Runaway
Mercado_Negro is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.