Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > Dstruct's Casa De Nitpicks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-01-2014, 06:53 AM   #1
reapercurious
Human being with feelings
 
reapercurious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,629
Default Please post MIDI (item/editor) problems in this thread

The midi item and editor behavior in Reaper is a work in progress.

I've had a few different problems with snapping, looping, copying, tempo changing, all definitely bordering on buggy. I don't imagine it's just me, so I thought it would be constructive to make a list of specific issues and suggest to make a sticky out of it, since midi is a central function.

I will post specific nitpicks in this thread when I get some more time.
reapercurious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2014, 03:59 AM   #2
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Dresden, Germany
Posts: 12,120
Default

http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=141156 (Record to selected MIDI item)

SOLVED

Last edited by Dstruct; 06-22-2014 at 06:34 AM.
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2016, 04:07 AM   #3
noise_construct
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1,564
Default



The pink rectangle covers an area that is half ruler, half "grabbing area", there's quite a few precious pixels wasted here. Height of those two location indicator boxes would probably suffice for that whole area.
noise_construct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2016, 06:38 AM   #4
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 19,735
Default

The other half is for project and tempo markers.

However it does make sense to collapse that additional space when those markers are disabled from view.
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2016, 08:20 AM   #5
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 16,157
Default

You didn`t like the OTHER "MIDI issues" thread, that has been around for a very long time?
__________________
UK and USA: Our leaders MAY be buffoons but they are still dangerous buffoons.
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2016, 08:48 AM   #6
noise_construct
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1,564
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
The other half is for project and tempo markers.

However it does make sense to collapse that additional space when those markers are disabled from view.
Ah, that explains (and reveals that I don't use markers ). But yes, without those it is a big empty area.
noise_construct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2016, 08:49 AM   #7
noise_construct
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1,564
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ivansc View Post
You didn`t like the OTHER "MIDI issues" thread, that has been around for a very long time?
Which one? This was a sticky with a fitting title. This isn't a major issue anyway, more like a "what if".
noise_construct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2016, 06:05 AM   #8
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 16,157
Default

Ahem! My apologies - the other thread seems to have been un-stickied.

I will see if I can find it and see how much stuff on there needs to be on this one since this IS stickied.


OK read this and then use the link in the last-but-one post (made by me) and it would seem we sorta go in waves of enthusiasm followed by apathy....

I can remember posting about stuff like this back in 2010 and maybe earlier...

http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.p...+thread&page=6
__________________
UK and USA: Our leaders MAY be buffoons but they are still dangerous buffoons.

Last edited by ivansc; 04-21-2016 at 06:15 AM.
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2016, 11:06 AM   #9
noise_construct
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1,564
Default

Cheers, I'll check that 2015 thread out, the earlier one is too long and old already.

Hard to say if Cockos ever reads these idea compilations, but maybe a 2016 edition could still be useful?
noise_construct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2016, 01:19 AM   #10
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 16,157
Default

Sadly there is still a fair bit of relevant content in that earlier thread....
*sigh*

Speaking purely for myself, I have several DAW alternatives to Reaper but still keep coming back top reaper, despite the odd niggle here and there.
Finally reached the point where there were no show stoppers for me about 2 years ago & with the arrival of Shwa`s magnificent efforts on the notation editor I anticipate a lot of the remaining irritants disappearing.
However I suppose because I have a lot of experience with the MIDI editors in Sonar I still find that pretty comfortable to work with.
Never did get on with Cubase... I think it is a left brain right brain thing.
__________________
UK and USA: Our leaders MAY be buffoons but they are still dangerous buffoons.
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2016, 07:38 PM   #11
Commala
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 560
Default Note Selection Sticking

When using actions to add previous/next note to selection, there are situations where notes are missed or impossible to select, and the note selection becomes stuck.

This issue happens frequently, two instances in this gif



Here, I repeatedly hit my shortcut for add next note to selection, then I do the same for previous notes. You can see the missed notes, as well as where the selection becomes stuck (it won't select first chord in the image at all, even though I'm hitting the shortcut). I move the cursor to select the first chord, and then add next note to selection, but notes are still not selected.

I feel this is pretty important, because it makes keyboard navigation much less reliable

Last edited by Commala; 04-29-2016 at 07:43 PM.
Commala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2016, 12:23 AM   #12
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 16,157
Default

Maybe post that in the beta section? Might get more immediate attention.
__________________
UK and USA: Our leaders MAY be buffoons but they are still dangerous buffoons.
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2016, 04:58 PM   #13
Commala
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 560
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ivansc View Post
Maybe post that in the beta section? Might get more immediate attention.
It's not to do with the pre, I'm showing the notation editor in the gif, but the selection shortcut has always been part of the midi editor (and hasn't been working quite right for some time as far as I can tell)
Commala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2016, 07:08 PM   #14
Nystagmus
Human being with feelings
 
Nystagmus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 509
Default

MIDI is the most important function to me of any DAW program, so this thread is very significant to me as a composer who uses VST instruments.

I am really frustrated with the MIDI editor design flaws that continually go unfixed in Reaper, even though Reaper remains my main DAW for other reasons.

And I feel like to take on music notation as a feature set is way too ambitious when the basic MIDI editing is not smooth yet.

I feel like it will be a long time before we get the support we are looking for.

I hope you guys will submit this info in this thread to the developers. I really don't think they will otherwise be reading it. Sorry but that's the truth.
Nystagmus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2016, 10:44 PM   #15
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 16,157
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Commala View Post
It's not to do with the pre, I'm showing the notation editor in the gif, but the selection shortcut has always been part of the midi editor (and hasn't been working quite right for some time as far as I can tell)
I still reckon it would get more attention in pre, since anything that involves notation is flavour of the month at present., maybe post it there as well?
Or at least a link....
__________________
UK and USA: Our leaders MAY be buffoons but they are still dangerous buffoons.
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2016, 04:17 PM   #16
Commala
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 560
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ivansc View Post
I still reckon it would get more attention in pre, since anything that involves notation is flavour of the month at present., maybe post it there as well?
Or at least a link....
It might belong as a proper bug report actually, but I put it here because the thread has a sticky and it's a problem with a MIDI editor action. Thing is, it's not something new to a pre, so while the pre forum might be a way to get attention, I think this is a more appropriate topic here.

Then again, it's not really hampering me that this doesn't work quite right. If it was slowing someone down, then I'd definitely agree that it might do to cause more of a stir
Commala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2016, 03:30 PM   #17
ceanganb
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Brazil
Posts: 271
Default Inconsistent Mouse Piano Roll/left-click custom behavior

if I use the action: move edit cursor to mouse cursor

with a shortcut, it works the way I expected, keeping note/events selection.

But if I set it in mouse modifiers->piano roll->left-click, it unselects all events in ME. If I undo, the selection is back.

I find it inconsistent behavior, isn't it?
__________________
Ceanganb
ceanganb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2016, 03:05 PM   #18
strachupl
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 190
Default Media item lane in piano roll

strachupl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2016, 12:41 AM   #19
TryingToMakeMusic
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 416
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikComposer View Post
@Schwa Please have a look at this. this is Cubase cc editing. It's not complex, and it's not very advanced, but it is way way better then what we have.








Also please notice the verticl helper bar that lets you instantly know where in the horizntal space are you pointing.
+1
-------------------
TryingToMakeMusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2016, 03:20 AM   #20
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 16,157
Default

That IS rather elegant. Couldnt do that in the last version of BPP but there again that was discontinued in 1991!
Would love to see something like this implemented.

Even basic bezier curves would transform CC editing.
__________________
UK and USA: Our leaders MAY be buffoons but they are still dangerous buffoons.
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2016, 06:41 AM   #21
MikComposer
Human being with feelings
 
MikComposer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Brighton
Posts: 1,779
Default

Just did this gif from cubase le7 ( which is how old? ) to highlight some of its midi functionality:
Midi notes outside items ( when copying no butts of notes stick out, everything is clean and tidy )
Copying midi items
Working with cc and automation
Snapping
Other little nicely streamlined elements

https://i.imgur.com/IxfSVIL.gif
__________________
My Royalty Free Music library

Last edited by MikComposer; 01-24-2017 at 05:52 AM.
MikComposer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2016, 11:02 AM   #22
MikComposer
Human being with feelings
 
MikComposer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Brighton
Posts: 1,779
Default

I haven't used it for a while, but it is working as fast as it looks.


Other things about midi ed:

being able to change transport position
better grid handling ( and fixed display bugs)
notes extended or drawn outside of the item
Not notes butts on cut items - ( forgot to do that in the video, but will do )
better separation between actions - meaning: make it impossible to change something accidental
Entering notes on click and not on drag or double click.
Better zoom - each zoom level got to display sharp graphics. also no sudden position jumps
Midi item navigator ( for large midi items )
Fixed track list highlights ( not all tracks selected in main view get highlighted )
Smaller/re sizable piano roll kb
Additional inspector interface ( like note details toolbar on the pic below )

Who am I going to be kidding thought? It is worth taking a lot from cubase interface both: physically and ideologically.
__________________
My Royalty Free Music library

Last edited by MikComposer; 12-27-2016 at 09:01 AM.
MikComposer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2016, 12:41 PM   #23
MikComposer
Human being with feelings
 
MikComposer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Brighton
Posts: 1,779
Default

Splitting example

https://i.imgur.com/cQF67FY.gif
__________________
My Royalty Free Music library

Last edited by MikComposer; 01-24-2017 at 05:52 AM.
MikComposer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2016, 04:56 PM   #24
Heroix
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 44
Default

iam gonna make this short.

reaper is king when it comes to cpu usage

cubase is king when it comes to midi

there is nothing coming close to cubase, and everybody saying something different hasnt worked with cubase pro i guess.

reaper would do good to copy some of the midi stuff atleast. i mean cubase 9 also took lower zones now like in studio one... so why not?
Heroix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2016, 07:14 AM   #25
juliansader
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,309
Default

I am not sure what you mean by most of these points (please elaborate), but these two are easy to do: just set your mouse modifiers for the first, and your Preferences in View -> Piano roll notes for the second.
Quote:
Originally Posted by MikComposer View Post
Entering notes on click and not on drag or double click.
showing pitch instead of velocities

The CC edits in your GIFs are indeed neither complex nor advanced, and all of them can easily be done in REAPER.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikComposer View Post
@Schwa Please have a look at this. this is Cubase cc editing. It's not complex, and it's not very advanced, but it is way way better then what we have.


Last edited by juliansader; 12-27-2016 at 08:38 AM.
juliansader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2016, 07:42 AM   #26
pcartwright
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 819
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikComposer View Post
Smaller/re sizable piano roll kb
Already possible.
pcartwright is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2016, 07:48 AM   #27
pcartwright
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 819
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikComposer View Post
More inspector interface with every important elements should be in view and quickly accessible
What "important elements" are you referring to? Are you talking about the MIDI event property window?
pcartwright is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2016, 08:59 AM   #28
MikComposer
Human being with feelings
 
MikComposer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Brighton
Posts: 1,779
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pcartwright View Post
Already possible.
Is it? How can I change it?

@What "important elements" are you referring to? Are you talking about the MIDI event property window?

I was referring to notes inspector toolbar, where you can see all the notes detail and where you can edit notes from. I'm gonna edit that sentence a bit to clarify.
__________________
My Royalty Free Music library
MikComposer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2016, 09:04 AM   #29
MikComposer
Human being with feelings
 
MikComposer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Brighton
Posts: 1,779
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by juliansader View Post
I am not sure what you mean by most of these points (please elaborate), but these two are easy to do: just set your mouse modifiers for the first, and your Preferences in View -> Piano roll notes for the second.
Pitch, already set that, and removed from the list.

Mouse modifiers thought, currently Midi click deselects notes. If I make custom action: deselect notes then insert note insert note at mouse cursor, will it work thought? I'll try.

EDIT@ All right, so it deselects automatically anyway. Cool.

EDIT2@ Oh damn it, now it doesn't deselect cc's. no action to deselect. Only action to set mouse default modifier. This is so frustrating. It's like operating a crane, and I bet those are even more automated now days.
__________________
My Royalty Free Music library

Last edited by MikComposer; 12-27-2016 at 09:25 AM.
MikComposer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2016, 09:25 AM   #30
juliansader
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,309
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikComposer View Post
The hell with those modifiers. Tools should be context sensitive. And here is only one action set globally. That's stupid design.
REAPER is not the problem. *You* are the problem.


Quote:
Originally Posted by MikComposer View Post
I was referring to notes inspector toolbar, where you can see all the notes detail and where you can edit notes from. I'm gonna edit that sentence a bit to clarify.
I also missed this feature of Cubase, so I wrote the MIDI Inspector script:
juliansader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2016, 09:43 AM   #31
pcartwright
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 819
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikComposer View Post
Is it? How can I change it?
Ctrl mouse wheel over the keyboard.

For the record, I have no interest in helping little $&@!s like you. I'm only replying for the benefit of others who might read this thread.
pcartwright is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2016, 09:45 AM   #32
pcartwright
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 819
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by juliansader View Post
I also missed this feature of Cubase, so I wrote the MIDI Inspector script:
Very cool! Is that in ReaPack?
pcartwright is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2016, 09:48 AM   #33
MikComposer
Human being with feelings
 
MikComposer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Brighton
Posts: 1,779
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by juliansader View Post
REAPER is not the problem. *You* are the problem.




I also missed this feature of Cubase, so I wrote the MIDI Inspector script:
That's nice you wrote this script. Those script with interface tend to hide behind editor unfortunately.


Now, if you are trying to tell me that a piece of software is above a human, then I'd suggest you rethink your values, because no device or program is. The problem is with reaper design - it is a bunch of ideas snitched together. It's a Frankenstein's monster basically. And it is sad, because just like the monster was genius at its core, so is reaper. But will Pinocchio ever become a real boy? That's down to devs who many of you protects to the point it is pathological. And proof is in the pudding; you yourself don't seam to know how to do that, yet you say I'm the problem: there isn't even an action to add to toolbar to set mouse modifier to insert note on single click. The only way to do that is trough modifiers in preferences. Fine, but why it affects cc lane? It shouldn't. So how then I reverse it back to deselecting notes and cc's on on click? I can't. Only tool I can set is insert notes on double click. So clearly there is no solution to make it easy. I'm not the problem - I'm just the user who notices things that are not great, frustrating often, and comes over and says how to make them better for EVERYONE. Because EVERYONE would benefit from less clicking and less navigation.
__________________
My Royalty Free Music library

Last edited by MikComposer; 12-27-2016 at 09:55 AM.
MikComposer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2016, 09:49 AM   #34
MikComposer
Human being with feelings
 
MikComposer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Brighton
Posts: 1,779
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pcartwright View Post
Ctrl mouse wheel over the keyboard.

For the record, I have no interest in helping little $&@!s like you. I'm only replying for the benefit of others who might read this thread.
No worries commie. It doesn't change the width, only height, unless there is some other secret option. Al thought I get that it changes width if you turn your head 90 deg.

__________________
My Royalty Free Music library
MikComposer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2016, 09:54 AM   #35
pcartwright
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 819
Default

You didn't say width, you just said size.
pcartwright is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2016, 09:58 AM   #36
MikComposer
Human being with feelings
 
MikComposer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Brighton
Posts: 1,779
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pcartwright View Post
You didn't say width, you just said size.
All right, I thought that would be self explanatory, having cubase snapshots in the pic, but fair enough.
__________________
My Royalty Free Music library
MikComposer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2016, 10:31 AM   #37
juliansader
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,309
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikComposer View Post
That's nice you wrote this script. Those script with interface tend to hide behind editor unfortunately.
REAPER does not currently add "pin on top" buttons to script GUIs. However, there are two easy ways to keep this script on top:
* Click the "Dock" button in the GUI to dock the script, and then pin the docker on top.
* Install 3rd party software such as FileBox eXtender, which can add "pin on top" as well as other useful buttons to windows. (I personally use FileBox eXtender, and it is very useful for pinning any window - even non-REAPER windows such as media players - on top while I am working.)


Quote:
Originally Posted by MikComposer View Post
And proof is in the pudding; you yourself don't seam to know how to do that, yet you say I'm the problem:
Some people are problem solvers, others are problem-seeking complainers.


Quote:
Originally Posted by MikComposer View Post
there isn't even an action to add to toolbar to set mouse modifier to insert note on single click. The only way to do that is trough modifiers in preferences. Fine, but why it affects cc lane? It shouldn't.
If I understand you correctly, you can try adding the Action "Set default mouse modifier action for "MIDI piano roll left click" to "Insert note, leaving other notes selected" to the toolbar. The mouse action "Insert note, leaving other notes selected" should not affect anything in the CC lane.


Quote:
Originally Posted by MikComposer View Post
So how then I reverse it back to deselecting notes and cc's on on click? I can't.
If you want to do it via the toolbar, link "Set default mouse modifier action for "MIDI piano roll left click" to "Deselect all notes and move edit cursor" (factory default)" to a button.

Last edited by juliansader; 12-27-2016 at 10:47 AM.
juliansader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2016, 11:48 AM   #38
MikComposer
Human being with feelings
 
MikComposer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Brighton
Posts: 1,779
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by juliansader View Post
REAPER does not currently add "pin on top" buttons to script GUIs. However, there are two easy ways to keep this script on top:
* Click the "Dock" button in the GUI to dock the script, and then pin the docker on top.
* Install 3rd party software such as FileBox eXtender, which can add "pin on top" as well as other useful buttons to windows. (I personally use FileBox eXtender, and it is very useful for pinning any window - even non-REAPER windows such as media players - on top while I am working.)




Some people are problem solvers, others are problem-seeking complainers.




If I understand you correctly, you can try adding the Action "Set default mouse modifier action for "MIDI piano roll left click" to "Insert note, leaving other notes selected" to the toolbar. This mouse action should not affect anything in the CC lane.




If you want to do it via the toolbar, link "Set default mouse modifier action for "MIDI piano roll left click" to "Deselect all notes and move edit cursor" (factory default)" to a button.
What do you mean i don't solve problems? I tell where the problem is and show best solution. But it is not my business to fix things for the devs or to find work around, because frankly, i hate work around, as they never work well enough, and only add more mess. And if you'd had seen my theme, you'd see how much effort I did put in to it already. Took me over a month. I could have worked over that month. You understand.

I am going to see if I can dock the script independently from other docked elements. Also, do you know if there is a way of toggling it on opening and closing of editor, without affecting default modifiers?

As for notes: I'd want to insert note without leaving other notes selected, but there is no such action. The one that can be set trough modifiers affect cc's. There is action available for deselecting all notes. Even if there would be action for drawing notes with single slick without keeping selection, you can't create a toggle button that would switch between those two.
__________________
My Royalty Free Music library
MikComposer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2016, 07:59 PM   #39
juliansader
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,309
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikComposer View Post
As for notes: I'd want to insert note without leaving other notes selected, but there is no such action. The one that can be set trough modifiers affect cc's. There is action available for deselecting all notes. Even if there would be action for drawing notes with single slick without keeping selection, you can't create a toggle button that would switch between those two.
So if I understand correctly, your original problem statement "Entering notes on click and not on drag or double click" has now mutated into:
* A single toolbar button that
* toggles the default left-click mouse modifier between:
* 1) deselecting all events (and moving edit cursor?), and
* 2) inserting a note while
* 2.a) keeping CCs unchanged but
* 2.b) deselecting all notes.

If you require such unusual customizations, this MIDI thread is not the place to complain about it. Go to the "Q&A, Tips, Tricks and Howto" or the "JSFX and Reascript" subforums and ask for help. Or better yet: learn the basics of Lua scripting yourself!

Toggle buttons can easily be set up with SWS cycle actions.

To create an Action that can be linked to a toolbar button and that sets the default Mouse Modifier to a customized action, use the SetDefaultModifier function in a one-line script.

The rest can be done in a custom action or a simple 10-line script, depending on whether the deselection etc should affect all editable takes, or be limited to the active take.

Last edited by juliansader; 12-27-2016 at 08:27 PM.
juliansader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2017, 05:10 PM   #40
jlacharite1
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 8
Default Problem with MIDI Latency...

I apologize in advance if this is the wrong thread to be posting this in, I'm tired and frustrated...

I'm using and a Presonus Audiobox USB interface to run midi into Reaper 5.28 and I keep having latency problems. I can see under Preferences - Device: that the latency is about 193ms (which in of itself is weird because I ran Latency Mon and it was telling me that my latency was about 40 micro seconds) I selected the check box under "recording" to use the audio driver reported latency...no change, then I tried entering the value myself, still no change. It's possible that I'm just an idiot and I don't know what I'm doing because I'm a newb when it comes to reaper but if anyone can point me in the right direction I would be very appreciative. Thank you in advance for any thoughts and directions...
jlacharite1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.