Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Feature Requests

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-31-2011, 04:16 AM   #121
DevonPete
Human being with feelings
 
DevonPete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Here and There
Posts: 93
Default

+ 1. One of the first issues I discovered with Reaper that needs attention.
DevonPete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2011, 05:10 AM   #122
rayc
Human being with feelings
 
rayc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: East Coast of Australia
Posts: 15
Default

I'm quite new to Reaper & have enjoyed most of my fiddling about with it but as someone nervous about losing stuff and keen on backing up tidily I'd love to see this concept come to fruition.
+1 & I've voted!
rayc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2011, 07:23 AM   #123
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: brighton, uk
Posts: 12,525
Default

Wanted to make sure you guys new that in project settings (alt and enter) you can atleast set a relative audio path.

Now just for the rest!
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2011, 11:33 AM   #124
Mudchild
Human being with feelings
 
Mudchild's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Wales, UK
Posts: 679
Default

Good lord, +10!!
Mudchild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2011, 07:33 PM   #125
ObiJanKenobi
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1
Default

Thank god you posted this.
I have just registered to make the same thread, because it is one of the only thing left that annoys me in Reaper.
I beg you to consider implementing this.
Most important is the relative path for backup and thos peak files.
I have 2 workstations, a few km apart from each other, and I just don't like seeing 500 back up files in my directory.
I want to have a nice clean overview over my projects, that is a bit hard.
ObiJanKenobi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2011, 09:32 PM   #126
martinmadero
Human being with feelings
 
martinmadero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 221
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Solar View Post
digging this mockup big time simple and straight to the point
yeah, there is! Is any way to do this in Reaper 4?
martinmadero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2011, 10:31 AM   #127
timlloyd
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 4,713
Default

*wimper* bump *sad frown*

p-p-ppleeease?

///

(donning serious hat) *thunk*

Should I compile a more specific outline of how we all want this to work?
timlloyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2011, 12:36 PM   #128
Tod
Human being with feelings
 
Tod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Just outside of Glacier National Park
Posts: 11,827
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by timlloyd View Post
Should I compile a more specific outline of how we all want this to work?
Not a bad idea Tim, I know I'm not sure of where it's all at right now.
__________________
Kontakt Vid Tutorials->Create Outputs / Create Templates -|- SMDrums Free drums -|- Elk Video Productions -|- Tod's Music
Tod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2011, 07:03 PM   #129
Marah Mag
Human being with feelings
 
Marah Mag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Here
Posts: 3,000
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tod View Post
Not a bad idea Tim, I know I'm not sure of where it's all at right now.
Not to dump it on Tim. But a consolidation of the ideas at this point would be good... then a formal FR?
Marah Mag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2011, 08:22 PM   #130
Amazed
Human being with feelings
 
Amazed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Perth, W.A.
Posts: 1,645
Default

Perhaps a little OT but maybe this will benefit some. Procedures like backup and archive can be quite specific to each user. Recently I came across Autoit which is a scripting tool for windows. Its quite extensive and very easy to use. I have written little scripts to automate quite a few things in our office. For instance a program that dumps each backup in a sub folder off the root. It'll never be changed. So a script now checks the age of these backups and manages them the way I like. Just a thought.
Amazed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 01:43 PM   #131
timlloyd
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 4,713
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marah Mag View Post
Not to dump it on Tim. But a consolidation of the ideas at this point would be good... then a formal FR?
No it's fine - I'll do it tomorrow (bit busy this eve) - will try to take everything we've all mentioned into account and not just post "my" desires. There are already formal FRs though - this thread was more a lamenting plea to JCS than an FR But, it does seem to have turned into one.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amazed View Post
Perhaps a little OT but maybe this will benefit some. Procedures like backup and archive can be quite specific to each user. Recently I came across Autoit which is a scripting tool for windows. Its quite extensive and very easy to use. I have written little scripts to automate quite a few things in our office. For instance a program that dumps each backup in a sub folder off the root. It'll never be changed. So a script now checks the age of these backups and manages them the way I like. Just a thought.
Yes, this kind of thing can be done with Applescript in OSX. It's great and can really help ... but it's not an adequate replacement for a built-in solution in reaper imnvho.

It just feels really really silly to me for such a well-featured app to be unable to do this.
timlloyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2011, 11:15 AM   #132
m1ck300668UK
Human being with feelings
 
m1ck300668UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Earth
Posts: 88
Default

+1 from me please
m1ck300668UK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 01:08 PM   #133
gembez
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 255
Default

This is NOT a bump.
gembez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2012, 12:04 PM   #134
tremblap
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 17
Default

+1 for me
tremblap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2012, 05:59 PM   #135
Troy
Human being with feelings
 
Troy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Western Hemisphere
Posts: 373
Default Can we get some feedback?

+∞

Is there any reason that this CAN'T be done on the programming/organization side? This is one of my biggest issues with this great program.
Troy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2012, 06:04 PM   #136
timlloyd
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 4,713
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Troy View Post
+∞

Is there any reason that this CAN'T be done on the programming/organization side? This is one of my biggest issues with this great program.
Nope. Not that I know for sure ... but no there definitely is no reason it can't be done

Quote:
Originally Posted by timlloyd View Post
No it's fine - I'll do it tomorrow (bit busy this eve)
Btw - didn't see the point. If JCS have seen this thread (sooo very likely), they know exactly what is being asked for I think, and no doubt have their own ideas on how to best provide it. And anyway, it's been explained well enough imo. Just waiting to tick through the to-do list until it's time for this one ...

... imvho ... not that I know for sure ... but yeah ...

mmvbpnbmiaa
timlloyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2012, 08:50 AM   #137
benebomber
Human being with feelings
 
benebomber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 197
Default

+1 on that!

Please, Devs (with cream and a cherry on top)!!!!
__________________
Quad XEON 2,66GHz w/4GB, Win7 64, Reaper 32 and 64, NI Maschine Mikro, Echo Audiofire, 15,4" i7 MBP w/8GB, PMC TB-2, FMR RNLA, Lexicon LXP-5, Denon tape deck, DSI Evolver, Roland JX-8P, Epiphone the Dot
benebomber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2012, 09:38 AM   #138
John Lance
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 98
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tomm View Post
Not sure if this has been suggested, but...

If we could also define relative paths per track (so like, a subfolder for bass, guitar, drums, vox, etc...) that would be an added bonus. I like to keep thing organized.
Whew. But still a nice idea.

Expand to have recorded files for each track to have its' own drive and directory set up if you want. (This is ballooning way beyond the more simplistic house cleaning effort that is being requested here - imo). I'm only suggesting a logical extension of the idea.

At any rate, you could then have as many drives as you can in a system, and assign individual tracks to their own drives and directories for the files... instead of using a single alternate/additional recording path.

This should probably be a separate feature request, even though it seems related, although relative paths per track would seem okay in the original context as you've suggested.

Last edited by John Lance; 04-21-2012 at 11:26 AM.
John Lance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2012, 10:49 AM   #139
John Lance
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 98
Default

-----------*** OT alert ***------------
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marah Mag View Post
Path customization.

It becomes even more interesting when you factor in portability, and then combine that with use over a local network or with a service like Dropbox.

Reaper has all those lovely ini files sitting in its root. Their functional granularity makes them candidates for selective sharing across installations. They practically beg for a good path customization scheme.

If it was easy and transparent, I'd share my KeyMaps or MenuSets or templates folders across my lappy & desktop.

Reaper being such a small and self-contained installation brings these issues into relief.
I already do this by running Reaper with command line switches and by using separate startup directories. I also use junctions and symbolic links for common directories and files. I've installed Reaper to a USB stick for portable use, but the methods I've used could work across a network (for a non mult-user setup).

What I've done is quite complicated to setup. It does allow for machine peculiarities, and for common items to exist where I need them to exist.

My templates, keymaps, themes (as needed), and more, are shared across all machines. Other items specific to a machine stay specific.

You can PM me if you're interested, and don't mind digging a bit into OS peculiarities. On second thought, maybe this is a bad idea. This could be considerable to attempt to explain, and there are some gotcha's, like backup software that doesn't work as intended with junctions and symbolic links.

For the attachment I've included here, I've forgotten where I got the specific information concerning command line usage. It is possible to setup Reaper to keep all user and reaper information to be placed in the startup location. Using the junctions and symbolic links allows for you to make common directory and file links that will be shared for each startup configuration as desired. This is way more than normal folks want to mess with.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg reaperstartup.jpg (25.6 KB, 135 views)

Last edited by John Lance; 04-21-2012 at 12:44 PM.
John Lance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2013, 02:12 AM   #140
sonnie
Human being with feelings
 
sonnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 640
Default

I totally missed this thread, I started a new one: http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.p...=1#post1123416

maybe a +1 should do it

@anyone: why noone starts a "real" FR?
sonnie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2013, 02:19 AM   #141
mabian
Human being with feelings
 
mabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Italy
Posts: 3,521
Default

There's this one, though for backup only...

http://forum.cockos.com/project.php?issueid=3149

EDIT: and these

http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=71036

- Mario
__________________
My DAW: Intel i7700k @4.2GHz / 16GB RAM / RME Fireface UC / 250GB SSD / 2x2TB HD / Win10x64
My Music: http://www.reverbnation.com/errepici - http://www.errepici.it/web/contents.asp?sec=4
mabian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2013, 02:30 AM   #142
EricM
Human being with feelings
 
EricM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia
Posts: 3,801
Default

Vote here, it's already elevated tho'.
http://forum.cockos.com/project.php?issueid=644

The title's a bit too vague.

e
__________________
Shoelace 4 Theme | SoundCloud/erXon
EricM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 07:45 PM   #143
frspp
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Finland
Posts: 10
Default

Count me in for this!
frspp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 11:01 AM   #144
shawnguess
Human being with feelings
 
shawnguess's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 379
Default

yes, please please please add this
shawnguess is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2013, 11:23 PM   #145
mikeypee
Human being with feelings
 
mikeypee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 660
Default

Count me as a +1 as well
__________________
~~~ Proud Reaper License Owner! ~~~
mikeypee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2013, 12:02 PM   #146
Bob Headroom
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 262
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tomm View Post
If we could also define relative paths per track (so like, a subfolder for bass, guitar, drums, vox, etc...) that would be an added bonus. I like to keep thing organized.
I would love to see this implemented. But failing such a feature, the other file management requests in this thread would be a huge plus to Reaper.

I'm actually new to the DAW and just a couple of weeks or so into the evaluation period. I think its a shame that there's no way to designate relative folders for the different types of files that make up a project.

But what's also a shame is the fact that I heard many times whilst researching Reaper that one of the great things about it is how the developers listen to users and implement feature requests. I read how Reaper does this so much better than some of DAW manufacturers. I don't know if this is generally true, but it certainly doesn't seem to be true in this instance. There's a lot of people here requesting this feature. But a quick search in the forums finds quite a few more similar threads. Many (including this) go back over two years.

So here's my +1! And a bump while I'm at it.
Bob Headroom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2013, 10:03 AM   #147
Bob Headroom
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 262
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Max Dread View Post
a quick search in the forums finds quite a few more similar threads. Many (including this) go back over two years.
(Excuse me quoting myself!)

Actually, some requests for this go back a lot further....:

http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.p...light=relative

http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.p...light=relative


So why do you think the devs keep ignoring the request?
Bob Headroom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2014, 08:26 AM   #148
Viente
Human being with feelings
 
Viente's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1,972
Default

So there is still no way to store ReaPeaks in relative path to Reaper root folder? THis actually means REAPER not really portable. When i come with my usb stick to another studio, it won't find all my peaks for my sample library?
Viente is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2014, 12:47 PM   #149
Musiciansfan
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 46
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Viente View Post
So there is still no way to store ReaPeaks in relative path to Reaper root folder?
Yes, apparently this is still a problem.

What's weird is, the only relative path (that I know of) that can be specified in reaper is the path to the python dll on the reascript preferences page.

When I use the following path on my USB drive:


\Portable Python 3.2.5.1\App\DLLs


Provided I specify the correct .dll in the "Force Python to use .dll" box, I get:


python3.dll is installed.


I tried this on a usb drive with multiple computers with different drive letters and it still says this.

Based on this, I think the real question is, why does it seem like this is the only relative path that can be specified? When I specify a relative path in the same way as I did here for the other folders on my usb drive in the paths preferences page, it doesn't work.

EDIT: I did some more investigating and it turns out the default render\record paths as specified in the paths preferences section are able to have a backslash in the beginning (\REAPER as opposed to [drive_letter]:\REAPER) and still render\record to the proper directory(s). This leads me to believe: either there is a bug with the program's ability to generate .reapeaks files or I'm just missing something.

Last edited by Musiciansfan; 09-01-2014 at 03:13 PM. Reason: Misquote, Adding on
Musiciansfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2014, 12:57 PM   #150
Viente
Human being with feelings
 
Viente's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1,972
Default

Cmon guys, please take a look at this problem...
Viente is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2015, 03:34 AM   #151
zookthespook
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 362
Default last post in 2012 ?

Hi ,
Project peak management is a nightmare in reaper .
Is it possible to write a script where the relative peak folder path can be automatically be deployed inside a specified project folder ?

a thousand examples have been given in the previous threads

Project Folder - My project
Sub folders nestled the "my project" folder

[Audio]
[Peaks]

Because as of now we have to go into the prefs and set up peaks relative path inside every time you set up a new project .

Any macro or script automation would be a great work about


cheers
zook
zookthespook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2015, 06:34 AM   #152
timlloyd
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 4,713
Default

Yes, here's an old python script to do this for backup files. It can be modified to deal with peak files. Just remove the save command, change the name stored in pb and the extension to check for.

Code:
# ----------------------------------------
# Save project and move all ".rpp-bak"
# files to a subfolder.
# ----------------------------------------

import os
import shutil

pb = "Project Backups"
max_len = 4 * 1024 * 1024
proj_path = os.path.split(RPR_GetProjectPath("", max_len)[0])[0]
pb_path = os.path.join(proj_path, pb)

RPR_Main_OnCommand(40026, 0) # save project

if not os.path.exists(pb_path):
    os.makedirs(pb_path)

for file in os.listdir(proj_path):
  path = os.path.join(proj_path, file)
  ext = os.path.splitext(path)[1]
  if ext.lower() == ".rpp-bak":
    new_path = os.path.join(proj_path, pb, file)
    shutil.move(path, new_path)
Not sure if it's possible to do with EEL (which would be more convenient since it is included in Reaper). There's a new scripting language on the way that will not require 3rd party installation, so it can be rewritten when that's available.
timlloyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2015, 10:59 PM   #153
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 5,002
Default

Take a look at Claudiohbsantos File manager lua script on JSFX/ReaScript subforum. You may like it :P

Last edited by X-Raym; 04-07-2015 at 06:05 AM.
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2015, 04:25 AM   #154
zookthespook
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 362
Default

thank you good people of the reaper community !!
zookthespook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2015, 12:26 AM   #155
jrp
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 149
Default

i was suggesting to friend to check out reaper. He is a pro recording every day, and i told him "reaper is the best!"
When he asked me where to set up relative paths i felt very emberassed...
jrp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2015, 01:16 PM   #156
jmgweb01
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Kitsap County, Washington
Posts: 39
Default Organizing Files

Kenny Gioia has put together some great tutorials that cover just about everything in Reaper, including how to use Preferences and Options to organize files to help support workflow. The link is https://www.groove3.com/reaper-train...er-4-explained and it's definitely worth the $15!
jmgweb01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2016, 10:34 AM   #157
jalfk
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 110
Default

just saw the new update included relative file paths, but at least on my mac, this is still not working... AAAAARRRRGGGGGG!!!!!


Maybe in 5 more years this basic thing will be in reaper....
jalfk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.