Old 11-07-2014, 05:37 PM   #201
nonobvious
Human being with feelings
 
nonobvious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: brooklyn
Posts: 284
Default

+1 and bumping
nonobvious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2017, 05:37 AM   #202
chumbo
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Posts: 498
Default

me bump too! This thread is almost 10 years old but this still isn't implemented. I in fact just posted about it in the main forum before I found this.

This would solve the problem I'm having with the REX files.
chumbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2017, 06:04 AM   #203
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 22,159
Default

Yes it is. It's called subprojects.
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2017, 07:02 AM   #204
chumbo
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Posts: 498
Default

Nope, that's not what this is thread seems to be about. But I can understand the confusion, it sometimes sounded like that to me too until I read this below. Couldn't be any clearer and this is what I want to! ;-)


chumbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2017, 07:04 AM   #205
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 22,159
Default

That is exactly what subprojects are. Except it opens a new project tab instead of a MIDI editor-like thingie.
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2017, 07:21 AM   #206
chumbo
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Posts: 498
Default

Sorry, but I certainly would not say that this is EXACTLY what subprojects are and the 'except' is a pretty major difference.

Ok, you can +- less get the same result but the workflow and number of steps involved is the major difference that makes this a worthwhile feature, in my opinion anyway.

Not sure how satisfied tallisman and bitbybit are with subprojects as a replacement but my guess is that it doesn't quite cut the mustard.
chumbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2017, 07:55 AM   #207
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 22,159
Default

You can get EXACTLY the same result, not +/-. Number of steps involved? Just run an action and subproject gets created. Big deal.
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2017, 09:02 AM   #208
chumbo
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Posts: 498
Default

Well, it isn't as 'bad' as I thought it might be :-)
I still need to fool around a bit more with it but it does come pretty close.

However, unless you've already done it, I think the setting up is not as simple as a single press of a button or key as you mentioned. There are quite a few steps involved, some I can foresee won't be that easy to setup if possible at all.

Mainly, it's the popup menu that prompts you to name & save the subproject that AFAIK, cannot be automated by an action. so it would still be at least 3 step process to setup + every time you want to close the subproject, you need to save again because if working with several REX files, I can see the crowding at the top of the screen with all the submenus quickly becoming a bit annoying and confusing.

So, I'd still like to see something like the Reaparts/Amalgamation but at least Reaper always has a solution that comes pretty close! ;-)
chumbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2017, 10:11 AM   #209
chumbo
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Posts: 498
Default

Hmm...I'm already encountering some differences that make it trickier to work with:
I create a subproject for the REX file and then modify the newly created file in the main project. That works well, cut, split, move, all that works as with a wav file. When I then go to the subproject, I in fact see and hear all my edits.

Then I closed the subproject - so had to save it - and when I later wanted to re-edit the file in the main project, I double-clicked the file and it opened the subproject as it should, but the REX file is now back to it's original state when I imported it in the main project!
Basically, the connection between the main and subproject is now lost.

Since I'm fairly new to this, maybe I did something wrong or there is something I need to know...?
chumbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2017, 10:52 AM   #210
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 22,159
Default

You did something wrong... this all works fine here.
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2017, 10:59 AM   #211
chumbo
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Posts: 498
Default

Possibly. There is definitely something strange going on. I can't get the main & subproject to sync. If I edit in the main, changes are no longer reflected in the sub and when I save in the sub, it doesn't change anything in the main. It's basically like having two completely separate projects.

Any idea what could be wrong?


(BTW, I solved the action issue. It will now open in one click, cool! :-))

Last edited by chumbo; 01-16-2017 at 03:10 PM.
chumbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.