Old 04-19-2016, 11:39 AM   #121
korakios
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Greece
Posts: 98
Default

Why on earth do I have email notification enabled for this zombie thread?

I am done with Reaper (finally!!!!) . I miss the forum but had to move on...
korakios is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2016, 12:22 PM   #122
sinkmusic
Human being with feelings
 
sinkmusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: decepticon mothership in a hidden place inside a mountain
Posts: 3,310
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by disposable frequencies View Post
I've been pulling my hair out over syncing my hardware to reaper purely for recording purposes. I wanted to record each seperate track from my Octatrack, Electribe and Blofeld, to allow me more flexibility when it comes to mix down. as has been previously stated, Reaper WILL NOT be slave device...just does not want to recognize MTC from any device, so i eventually got Reaper working as the master device, but the independent tracks i was recording seemed to be slipping in and out of time and made the recording absolutely useless. Its not only Reaper that this is an issue with, quite an extraordinary amount of other DAW seem to suffer from the same issue, with somewhat weak and wishy washy master clocking.
Interesting. I was in the same mood yesterday ("I wanted to record each seperate track from my Octatrack, Electribe and Blofeld"), and stupidly forgot that Reaper has no Midi slave setting.
I have a nice hardware-based setup running fine, and just wanted to record each track at once into Reaper. But having no Midi slave support for the tempo made it rather hard to do

So... let's bump ?!
Please, consider adding Midi clock slave mode to Reaper.
sinkmusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2016, 12:05 PM   #123
maleako
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 34
Default

+10000000000
maleako is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2016, 04:26 AM   #124
Untouchable_888
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 65
Default

I was really hoping that when I got to the end of this thread I'd see a solution.. So really in five years no solution has been found? (Either on consumer or developer end?)
Untouchable_888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2016, 05:43 AM   #125
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 17,884
Default

This is not unique to Reaper. Sonar was the same last time I tried it.
Maybe it is either very difficult to do because of all the different hardware permutations, or alternatively that the HARDWARE units most folks use dont like being master....

I ran into this the first time with Bars n Pipes Pro on an Amiga computer.
Had a Cooper smpte box and a pair of Fostex D90s that would ONLY ever synch in one direction, not the other.

Mind you, Behringer have their issues with ADAT clock synch on the old ADA8000 - hopefully a little easier to sort out in the ADA8020
__________________
We are in a rudderless ship with a fool at the wheel who doesnt even realise it ain`t working any more
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2017, 04:50 AM   #126
flipotto
Human being with feelings
 
flipotto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 518
Default Bump

Bump, this thread!
__________________
KeyMce/GenMce - pc keyboard/midi to Mackie control emulation (built with ahk). Also - an ahk script to build your own midi programs.
flipotto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2017, 05:02 AM   #127
cristian_v
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 18
Default

whoops just invested in a solid master clock for eurorack which sends its sync over midi assuming the all featured Reaper would have a MIDI clock in -- but it doesn't!

Polite request to devs for midi clock input to Reaper DAW
cristian_v is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2017, 02:28 AM   #128
cristian_v
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 18
Default

I can't think of any way for Reaper to record in sync from Eurorack or other hardware master clocks that don't send MTC and tend to send MIDI Clock 24PPQN sync.

devs, please add this feature...
cristian_v is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2017, 02:45 AM   #129
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 22,159
Default

I'd say there are probably good reasons why this wasn't added in more than 5 years... And why other DAWs might have the same issues (as ivansc says above, Sonar is the same).

Sell that clock if you want to use a DAW for recording, it must be the clock master. Or get a hardware recorder, those can usually be slaved to MTC.
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2017, 06:24 AM   #130
sinkmusic
Human being with feelings
 
sinkmusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: decepticon mothership in a hidden place inside a mountain
Posts: 3,310
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
I'd say there are probably good reasons why this wasn't added in more than 5 years...
Well, i guess so, but i'm still hoping for it, badly.
Once you've found a workflow (and it can take several years), and once you're hooked to Reaper, you're willing to get the best of both worlds

Of course, from a developer's point of view, there must be technical reasons behind that lack of a core feature(or it would be just madness).
But still, from a user's point of view (and i should add : "from a user's perepective... used to use other DAWs with such a feature implemented"), it's very frustrating to have an hybrid configuration (software + midi hardware + cv hardware) fully working, and having to change everything if you "just" want to have Reaper receive the clock...
(... and it's twice as frustrating to ask for it and getting no reply or official statement in the official forum)

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
other DAWs might have the same issues (as ivansc says above, Sonar is the same).
Yes, "might"... Live does feature it for instance. So, for hybrid work i use Live more and more (despite loving Live less and less). But i really do prefer Reaper for the audio work, and i wish i could just use Reaper as a time-synced multitrack recorder (just like a do with Ableton) so i could efficiently do some post-production work with it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
get a hardware recorder, those can usually be slaved to MTC.
ED, it's nonsense It's a workflow killer !
...record to your hardware recorder, then transfer to your DAW ? Thanks, but no thanks I'd rather record straight into Live in time-synced slave mode, and then export to Reaper... and i even prefer to multi-track record in Reaper with no clock at all (even if after it's a pain in the ass and a big loss of time to re-sync everything).
sinkmusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2017, 12:14 PM   #131
sinkmusic
Human being with feelings
 
sinkmusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: decepticon mothership in a hidden place inside a mountain
Posts: 3,310
Default


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YEj6Y8aHM-c
sinkmusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2017, 03:49 AM   #132
TonE
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Reaper HAS send control via midi !!!
Posts: 1,484
Default

I like if Reaper is master and rest slave, then you can even have logarithmic bpm changes via program change > osc > reaper. Rest following. Anton Savov's midi clock vst does the rest.
TonE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2017, 07:29 AM   #133
Ulf3000
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 338
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
I'd say there are probably good reasons why this wasn't added in more than 5 years... And why other DAWs might have the same issues (as ivansc says above, Sonar is the same).

Sell that clock if you want to use a DAW for recording, it must be the clock master. Or get a hardware recorder, those can usually be slaved to MTC.
yo drachenlord you´re in every thread telling people " there are good reasons ..." like you are some kind of developer or something lol .. its not like its technically impossible or whatever you mean with that ...
Ulf3000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2018, 08:37 PM   #134
petervh
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 1
Default

Bumping this thread.

I spent some time trying to slave Reaper to midi clock from Max/MSP (& and a few other tools) with no success. I want the ability to modulate the Reaper clock frequency in real-time, but that definitely seems to be impossible from my experiments.

Controlling the clock across OSC also resulted in a lot of buggy behaviour (distorted audio, misplaced play cursor). Modulating the clock via OSC on a midi loop while sending the audio to a return track for output recording resulted in all kinds of weird shit.

& it seems impossible to push the tempo below 40BPM or above 294BPM via OSC, although via the number box on the GUI you can select between 2BPM & 960BPM.

I know my use case is somewhat unusual but still it's a struggle.

Last edited by petervh; 11-25-2018 at 08:46 PM.
petervh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.