Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Feature Requests

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-15-2011, 09:18 AM   #1
timlloyd
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 4,713
Default Relative project backup, reapeaks, undo files, render files directories ... come ON:)

http://forum.cockos.com/project.php?issueid=644

http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.p...eferrerid=7887

///

This needs to be adressed for v4 imho.

Just give us the same option to do it or not, exactly as we already have for project media.

please
timlloyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2011, 09:39 AM   #2
d.bop
Human being with feelings
 
d.bop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Duluth, MN
Posts: 1,712
Default

+1
Pretty please?
__________________
Sleepy-Time DSP - @sleepytimedsp
d.bop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2011, 11:50 AM   #3
maxdis
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 309
Default

+1, at this time every project folder is a mess!
__________________
Massimo Discepoli - Daniel Barbiero "An Eclipse Of Images"
http://www.acustronica.com/an-eclipse-of-images.html
http://www.massimodiscepoli.com
maxdis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2011, 12:45 PM   #4
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 7,747
Default

+1

please
nofish is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2011, 12:46 PM   #5
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: brighton, uk
Posts: 12,504
Default

Yeah it got over a hundred votes!

4.1 for the win!

I cannot bear reapeaks in all those project folders when viewed from other apps, if they had their own folder it would be so less confusing

It's a little easy to accidentally email someone the reapeak instead of the mp3 you just bounced down for them
musicbynumbers is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2011, 01:03 PM   #6
timlloyd
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 4,713
Default

It really has to happen ... soon is preferable
timlloyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2011, 12:56 AM   #7
Thalamus
Human being with feelings
 
Thalamus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Cheshire, UK
Posts: 556
Default

It may be a workaround, but you could use your OS to hide certain file extensions.
Thalamus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2011, 05:41 AM   #8
timlloyd
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 4,713
Default

The actual OSX workaround would be making an Applescript folder action to automatically sort files into their relevant folders.

This is not something that should require a workaround though!

It's simple, simple project file management, and reaper is crap at it ('scuse me) ...

Workaround shmirkaround ... this needs fixing.

It's one of the little things that I found really quite irritating when I first started using reaper, and it's just gotten slightly more irritating the longer I use it. I would imagine it's the same for any user who wants things organised and neat instead of just thrown into a single folder ... it's quite simply very annoying.

I'm totally aware that it might (for some reason) be a bit of a pita for Cockos to do, but it really needs doing.

my 2pence
timlloyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2011, 05:44 AM   #9
mabian
Human being with feelings
 
mabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Italy
Posts: 3,518
Default

A mighty +1 from me
__________________
My DAW: Intel i7700k @4.2GHz / 16GB RAM / RME Fireface UC / 250GB SSD / 2x2TB HD / Win10x64
My Music: http://www.reverbnation.com/errepici - http://www.errepici.it/web/contents.asp?sec=4
mabian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2011, 05:50 AM   #10
EricM
Human being with feelings
 
EricM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia
Posts: 3,801
Default

Yes please! One of those little asap features requests that improve
organisation a lot!
__________________
Shoelace 4 Theme | SoundCloud/erXon
EricM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2011, 06:00 AM   #11
grayter1
Human being with feelings
 
grayter1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Saint Paul, MN
Posts: 440
Default

If you're like me - borderline OCD - when it comes to organization, this is at the top of my Reaper Gripes' list. I bounce between several programs, and keep centralized "loop" and "sample" folders, and it's a PITA to see all of these errant files cluttering up my highly organized folder structures - especially when viewed from other programs.

For the love of all that's good in the world - please fix this, or I will succumb to the madness of my own personal hell of manual file organization.

Seriously, it's one of the biggest reasons I keep PT around...

Terry
grayter1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2011, 11:41 AM   #12
airon
Human being with feelings
 
airon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: City
Posts: 9,962
Default

When I first started using Protools ('96 or so, using it for real around '97), I was actually using Vegas v1 iirc. Somewhere around that time anyway.

I used to think "What a waste to put audio files in their own directory", because Protools put everything in to "Audio Files/". I wasn't doing a whole lot of production back then and was content to organize stuff on the timeline, name it and then export the regions/items.

But a clean project directory became important once I had to find session files.

Here is one important minus point to how Reaper organizes files right now.

You can have the peak files be created alongside the actual media files. This clutter and fucks up anybody's sample collection. The first damn thing I had to do a lot, was clean away those fucking peak files Soundforge and Vegas left behind.

That's the default, thank you very much.

You can of course have the peak files created in one specific directory for all projects and materials. That forces a recreation of the peak files for the project if it's opened on another computer. Small bummer that can turn in to a big bummer on some larger projects.

For speed and portability it is therefore best to have a directory for the peak files. Reaper can use the same means it uses to identify which file belongs to which peak files that is uses when the peak files are all in one big directory(and a bunch of Reaper-created subs).

Protools puts all the overviews in to one file btw, or embeds them in newly created files, though I haven't checked whether they still do that.

So anything that clutters up the project directory needs to go somewhere else. Audio media, peak files, project file backups.

I hope it's easy enough to do, maybe for 4.01 if not for 4.0 . It's one of those little things that makes digging up project files a little easier.

Btw, does the default Reaper create an audio subdirectory for projects ? I sure hope it does. That's a good one to put in for 4.0 at the very least.

Unclutter the projects.
__________________
Dialogue/FX Editor & Re-Recording Mixer
(Video)Using Latch Preview
"My ego comes pre-shrunk" - Randy Thom

Last edited by airon; 07-17-2011 at 12:25 PM.
airon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2011, 11:50 AM   #13
mikeroephonics
Human being with feelings
 
mikeroephonics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,432
Default

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=onRk0sjSgFU
__________________
Please check out these MIDI requests: http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=103192
Thanks.
mikeroephonics is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2011, 11:59 AM   #14
timlloyd
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 4,713
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by airon View Post
Protools puts all the overviews in to one file btw, or embeds them in newly created files, though I haven't checked whether they still do that.
Yep, the WaveCache.wfm is a significantly better way of handling it imo.

Quote:
So anything that clutters up the project directory needs to go somewhere else. Audio media, peak files, project file backups.
Absolutely.

Quote:
Btw, does the default Reaper create an audio subdirectory for projects ? I sure hope it does. That's a good one to put in for 4.0 at the very least.
I don't think so ... pretty sure that atm, new users will still have to go to Project Settings, type in 'Audio Files' and then save as default.

It's rather silly.
timlloyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2011, 12:00 PM   #15
gwok
Human being with feelings
 
gwok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Nelson, BC
Posts: 3,306
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by airon View Post
Btw, does the default Reaper create an audio subdirectory for projects ? I sure hope it does. That's a good one to put in for 4.0 at the very least.

Unclutter the projects.
im pretty sure not, you have to put a word (like AUDIO) in the project settings>audio settings>relative path -

im sure that could be made default pretty easily though
__________________
MacPro Xeon, 10.9.5
Reaper 5
gwok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2011, 12:39 PM   #16
Solar
Human being with feelings
 
Solar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,300
Default

This is more then A +1 MUST have. Before R4 is released, it will be right for timing
__________________
MY: Music Producer, Mix Engineer & Entrepreneur
http://soundcloud.com/officialmy
Solar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2011, 01:50 PM   #17
Caustic
Human being with feelings
 
Caustic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 316
Default

i still just want to be able to "shift delete" delete a file permanently from the arrange view, i have half a hdd full of rubbish takes
Caustic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2011, 04:55 PM   #18
bitrate
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 477
Default

+ for organizing the reapeaks per project.
bitrate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2011, 05:30 PM   #19
Mercado_Negro
Moderator
 
Mercado_Negro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Caracas, Venezuela
Posts: 8,183
Default

Oh good Almighty God of Organization, please make this happen for v4 or at least during v4.xx

I've been dreaming for 4 years, dreaming with *default* folders for .reapeaks, rpp-bak's, stems and rpp-undo's. I have a dream....
__________________
Pressure is what turns coal into diamonds - Michael a.k.a. Runaway
Mercado_Negro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2011, 08:29 PM   #20
bitrate
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 477
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mercado_Negro View Post
Oh good Almighty God of Organization, please make this happen for v4 or at least during v4.xx

I've been dreaming for 4 years, dreaming with *default* folders for .reapeaks, rpp-bak's, stems and rpp-undo's. I have a dream....
+1. Yeah, those too...
bitrate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2011, 11:55 PM   #21
ramses
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 525
Default

+1. Yep. Needs to happen.
ramses is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2011, 03:52 AM   #22
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: brighton, uk
Posts: 12,504
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Caustic View Post
i still just want to be able to "shift delete" delete a file permanently from the arrange view, i have half a hdd full of rubbish takes
There's an sws action for that you could assign to shift + delete but what about the clean project directory window under file menu
musicbynumbers is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2011, 04:03 AM   #23
mirceablue
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Brasov Romania
Posts: 121
Default

Yes organization is everything
mirceablue is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2011, 05:39 AM   #24
TeaBone
Human being with feelings
 
TeaBone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 30
Default

+1 for ReaPeaks not in same folder as audio files! I would like it best, if (when no project is saved) the peaks wouldn't be saved at all (just keep them in RAM), and if the project is saved, store them in a (configurable via preferences) relative path (e.g. ".\Peaks\").

My annoying scenario:
I'm also a drummer and often need to create sheet music from MP3s. I load them into Reaper, and I do want to see the peaks. But they shouldn't be created within my music library...
TeaBone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2011, 05:49 AM   #25
timlloyd
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 4,713
Default

I'm gonna bump this even though it doesn't need it
timlloyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2011, 10:23 AM   #26
airon
Human being with feelings
 
airon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: City
Posts: 9,962
Default

So the list is simple, just to clarify so the devs don't need to search the entire thread when they wish to tackle this.


Relative default folders for :

audio

reapeaks

rpp-bak's

stems

rpp-undo's

That's it, right ?
__________________
Dialogue/FX Editor & Re-Recording Mixer
(Video)Using Latch Preview
"My ego comes pre-shrunk" - Randy Thom
airon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2011, 10:31 AM   #27
SiKo
Human being with feelings
 
SiKo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: dusty hot place
Posts: 1,492
Default

+1
__________________
... yOu aNd mE are ...
SiKo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2011, 10:45 AM   #28
Solar
Human being with feelings
 
Solar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,300
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by airon View Post
So the list is simple, just to clarify so the devs don't need to search the entire thread when they wish to tackle this.


Relative default folders for :

audio

reapeaks

rpp-bak's

stems

rpp-undo's

That's it, right ?

Exactly it @airon. I again believe this is a must because when you look inside a reaper Porject, its honestly a total mess.

Keep the faith
__________________
MY: Music Producer, Mix Engineer & Entrepreneur
http://soundcloud.com/officialmy
Solar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2011, 10:52 AM   #29
timlloyd
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 4,713
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by airon View Post
Relative default folders for :

audio

reapeaks

rpp-bak's

stems

rpp-undo's

That's it, right ?
+

Renders (bounces)
timlloyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2011, 11:18 AM   #30
Tod
Human being with feelings
 
Tod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Just outside of Glacier National Park
Posts: 11,509
Default

I'm certainly all for it, would this all take place in the "Project Settings"?

Quote:
Originally Posted by timlloyd View Post
+

Renders (bounces)
Hi tim, in Sonar I got used to them called Bounces. In Reaper I'm getting used to them being call Stems.

So that leads me to another question since I'm not very familiar with R4 yet. Is there something new in R4 that uses Bounce?

Heh heh, it's all getting a little confuseing.
Tod is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2011, 11:29 AM   #31
timlloyd
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 4,713
Default

Well there's "render" which can be realtime or non-realtime, and there's also "bounce" (save live output to disk).

"Stems" are not the same as a "render"bounce" of a mix/master ... stems are the high-level component parts, not the "whole".

I would suggest perhaps, that a dedicated "Stems" folder could exist relative to the "Bounces/Render" folder. If you bounce stems before a mix, then both folders would obviously need to be created relative to your project directory.

What do people think of this?
[IMG]http://img840.**************/img840/4660/exampleprojectdirectory.png[/IMG]
timlloyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2011, 11:34 AM   #32
ramses
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 525
Default

I reckon it's more practical to keep all project subfolders at the same level. Gives a better overview of where the data is located imo.
ramses is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2011, 11:35 AM   #33
timlloyd
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 4,713
Default

ok, that makes sense as well
timlloyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2011, 12:24 PM   #34
Solar
Human being with feelings
 
Solar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,300
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by timlloyd View Post
Well there's "render" which can be realtime or non-realtime, and there's also "bounce" (save live output to disk).

"Stems" are not the same as a "render"bounce" of a mix/master ... stems are the high-level component parts, not the "whole".

I would suggest perhaps, that a dedicated "Stems" folder could exist relative to the "Bounces/Render" folder. If you bounce stems before a mix, then both folders would obviously need to be created relative to your project directory.

What do people think of this?
[IMG]http://img840.**************/img840/4660/exampleprojectdirectory.png[/IMG]
digging this mockup big time simple and straight to the point
__________________
MY: Music Producer, Mix Engineer & Entrepreneur
http://soundcloud.com/officialmy
Solar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2011, 12:33 PM   #35
timlloyd
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 4,713
Default

I think ramses is right though, it would be better to have each sub-folder at the same level.
timlloyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2011, 12:38 PM   #36
Solar
Human being with feelings
 
Solar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,300
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by timlloyd View Post
I think ramses is right though, it would be better to have each sub-folder at the same level.
Yes he is but i was simply referring to your mockup image But indeed what @ramses says makes total sense
__________________
MY: Music Producer, Mix Engineer & Entrepreneur
http://soundcloud.com/officialmy
Solar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2011, 01:08 PM   #37
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: brighton, uk
Posts: 12,504
Default

I'm sure one more page in the prefs won't hurt to allow us to choose our own places/hierarchy within the project folder
musicbynumbers is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2011, 01:56 PM   #38
Mercado_Negro
Moderator
 
Mercado_Negro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Caracas, Venezuela
Posts: 8,183
Default

Keep it simple, please. One folder for each file type less .rpp's, done.
__________________
Pressure is what turns coal into diamonds - Michael a.k.a. Runaway
Mercado_Negro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2011, 02:13 PM   #39
Tod
Human being with feelings
 
Tod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Just outside of Glacier National Park
Posts: 11,509
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by timlloyd View Post
Well there's "render" which can be realtime or non-realtime, and there's also "bounce" (save live output to disk).

"Stems" are not the same as a "render"bounce" of a mix/master ... stems are the high-level component parts, not the "whole".

I would suggest perhaps, that a dedicated "Stems" folder could exist relative to the "Bounces/Render" folder. If you bounce stems before a mix, then both folders would obviously need to be created relative to your project directory.
Thanks tim.

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicbynumbers View Post
I'm sure one more page in the prefs won't hurt to allow us to choose our own places/hierarchy within the project folder
Shouldn't this go in the "Project Settings" since it will be unique for each project?
Tod is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2011, 02:25 PM   #40
timlloyd
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 4,713
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tod View Post
Shouldn't this go in the "Project Settings" since it will be unique for each project?
I don't think so, because the whole idea is that we simply decide what these folder should be called, and then reaper creates them as needed within our project directory.

I don't see the benefit of being able to change the names of each folder for specific projects.
timlloyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.