Old 12-12-2019, 08:02 PM   #1
Edgemeal
Human being with feelings
 
Edgemeal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: ASU`ogacihC
Posts: 1,577
Default v6.01+dev1212 - December 12 2019

v6.01+dev1212 - December 12 2019
+ MIDI editor: add option to use theme color for selected note body and/or border when coloring by track or media item
+ MIDI editor: prevent flicker when scrolling editor in synced view mode [p=2215606]
+ Tempo map: further improve behavior of insert measure from loop selection actions [p=2215874]
+ Tracks: playback offset defaults to disabled (although there is no difference between disabled and enabled with zero offset)
# Mouse modifiers: better handling of drawing looped section of media item that is already a looped section of a media source [inception noise]
# Windows: add context menu item in Add FX window to set/unset HiDPI compatibility mode for multiple selected plug-ins at once
# Windows: improve small pin positioning/sizing

Full changelog / Latest pre-releases
Edgemeal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2019, 11:13 PM   #2
SergeiSobchenko
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Ukraine
Posts: 98
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edgemeal View Post
v6.01+dev1212 - December 12 2019
# Windows: improve small pin positioning/sizing
Thanks, works great!
SergeiSobchenko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2019, 12:16 AM   #3
dangguidan
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 130
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edgemeal View Post
v6.01+dev1212 - December 12 2019
+ MIDI editor: add option to use theme color for selected note body and/or border when coloring by track or media item
This just makes the edge of the selected note clear. The edge of the unselected note is still fuzzy.
I have learned that before this, when the note color follows the track, the color of the edge is indistinguishable, so the whole note edge is blurred.
Now, in addition to the edge blur of note color following track, another problem is that some colors are very close to the background of MIDI editor.
dangguidan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2019, 02:20 AM   #4
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 23,811
Default

This is still an issue over here:



Main toolbar icons have a darker overlay than all others... Wasn't happening in R5.
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2019, 04:33 AM   #5
Vagelis
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Larisa, Greece
Posts: 500
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edgemeal View Post
v6.01+dev1212 - December 12 2019
# Mouse modifiers: better handling of drawing looped section of media item that is already a looped section of a media source [inception noise]
There's no offset after looping an already looped section, solid work!
Vagelis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2019, 04:50 AM   #6
Symphonic Cat
Human being with feelings
 
Symphonic Cat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edgemeal View Post
v6.01+dev1212 - December 12 2019
+ MIDI editor: add option to use theme color for selected note body and/or border when coloring by track or media item
Thank you. Thank you! THAAAAAAANK YOU!!!!

Seriously, thank you very much! It makes all the difference. It was nearly impossible to distinguish between selected notes when you work with multiple tracks/items, especially in situations when you are writing for, say, a string section and like I've seen many composers like to color first violins light orange all the way to basses dark orange or brown. This solves it.

I use just borders, not body (although it's great to have an option to choose that too),this way you get the most information - you see the color of the note so you immediately know what track(instrument) it is, plus it's obvious if it's selected or not. I colored the bottom horizontal 1px line in colormap png to white for borders (because I use dark-themed piano roll) - works like a charm!

Edit: Little mistake - border doesn't have to do with colormap like it was until 5.99 - I used other colormaps with different border colors before v6 - now it's based on selected note color in theme tweaker. Even better.

Last edited by Symphonic Cat; 12-13-2019 at 05:18 AM.
Symphonic Cat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2019, 05:19 AM   #7
mccrabney
Human being with feelings
 
mccrabney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Doopt, Florida
Posts: 2,176
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edgemeal View Post
v6.01+dev1212 - December 12 2019
+ MIDI editor: add option to use theme color for selected note body and/or border when coloring by track or media item
looks great, thank you so much.

dangguidan, i'm not seeing this blurriness you're describing. can you take a screenshot?
__________________
° using REAPER as host/arranger/sequencer to write instrumental beat music.
° striving for a loop-based, controller-centric midi recording/editing workflow.
° wishing noteoffs could extend beyond item end (dangle)
mccrabney is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2019, 05:35 AM   #8
mccrabney
Human being with feelings
 
mccrabney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Doopt, Florida
Posts: 2,176
Default

this makes the "theme changes lost" issue raise its head.

https://forum.cockos.com/showthread....09#post2216409

i think we've hammered out what's going on, though.

reproduction steps:

1- make several changes in the Theme Script
2- observe them on TCP
3- open theme tweaker
4- make a change (to selected midi note background, for example)
5- enjoy your changes, then quit reaper
6- re-open reaper.
7- ISSUE: your theme tweaker changes have been lost, TCP reverts to default
8- re-load the default script. NOTE- TCP goes back to your tweak
9- now make and select some midi notes. ISSUE: the theme tweaker changes are now lost.
10- rinse and repeat

__________________
° using REAPER as host/arranger/sequencer to write instrumental beat music.
° striving for a loop-based, controller-centric midi recording/editing workflow.
° wishing noteoffs could extend beyond item end (dangle)
mccrabney is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2019, 05:44 AM   #9
cool
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Sunny Siberian Islands
Posts: 186
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edgemeal View Post
v6.01+dev1212 - December 12 2019
+ MIDI editor: add option to use theme color for selected note body and/or border when coloring by track or media item
Great! But the notes now look noticeably darker compared to the item:


---------------------------------------------------------------

---------------------------------------------------------------


Also, the highlighted notes look completely white: (Strange, but with my custom theme they look normal)

cool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2019, 05:48 AM   #10
mccrabney
Human being with feelings
 
mccrabney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Doopt, Florida
Posts: 2,176
Default

Quote:
Also, the highlighted notes look completely white: (Strange, but with my custom theme they look normal)
that's because they're drawing their "selected" color from the theme tweaker (outline too, it looks like)

while playing with this, i'm finding that i like leaving the outline to be colored by the track. when i'm selecting multiple notes across multiple tracks, this gives me a little more info as to what is selected where.

simply awesome. imo this should be default behavior, but that's not important to me
__________________
° using REAPER as host/arranger/sequencer to write instrumental beat music.
° striving for a loop-based, controller-centric midi recording/editing workflow.
° wishing noteoffs could extend beyond item end (dangle)

Last edited by mccrabney; 12-13-2019 at 05:54 AM.
mccrabney is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2019, 07:17 AM   #11
mccrabney
Human being with feelings
 
mccrabney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Doopt, Florida
Posts: 2,176
Default

regarding the theme script/tweaker issue reported above:

i've solved this on my end by saving to a new theme, and then duplicating a dedicated theme script for it. this makes sense once it's been thought through, but definitely led me astray at first.

if there was some sort of "save unsaved theme" prompt when exiting theme tweaker WITH an automatic means of creating an associated "[newtheme] theme script" for it, this would result in a lot less user error.
__________________
° using REAPER as host/arranger/sequencer to write instrumental beat music.
° striving for a loop-based, controller-centric midi recording/editing workflow.
° wishing noteoffs could extend beyond item end (dangle)
mccrabney is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2019, 08:49 AM   #12
jrengmusic
Human being with feelings
 
jrengmusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Indonesia Raya
Posts: 567
Default

Bug Report

__________________
JRENG! | M E T R I C
jrengmusic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2019, 09:09 AM   #13
Edison
Human being with feelings
 
Edison's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Brazil
Posts: 143
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mccrabney View Post
this makes the "theme changes lost" issue raise its head.

https://forum.cockos.com/showthread....09#post2216409

i think we've hammered out what's going on, though.

reproduction steps:

1- make several changes in the Theme Script
2- observe them on TCP
3- open theme tweaker
4- make a change (to selected midi note background, for example)
5- enjoy your changes, then quit reaper
6- re-open reaper.
7- ISSUE: your theme tweaker changes have been lost, TCP reverts to default
8- re-load the default script. NOTE- TCP goes back to your tweak
9- now make and select some midi notes. ISSUE: the theme tweaker changes are now lost.
10- rinse and repeat

Hi, mccrabney! How I did it, and it works until the present moment

After the changes if you do not save with "other name", it returns to Default_6.0.
See in this example in 'Transport' changing the color to text.

The interesting thing is that only changes are saved as a result of this: A small file size. In the example 10 Kb

Step by Step:
1- Make the changes
2- Click on the "Save Theme..." button
3- Rename from Default _6.0 to e.g.: Default_ 6.0-2
Done!

See the pics for Default_6.0 and Default-6.0-2 versions

PS: Changes made in "Theme Adjuster" to the 6.0-2 theme only affect this theme and should be opened via "Actions" because it is disabled via the menu Options=> Themes. See pic

Best regards
Attached Images
File Type: png Color theme Default_6.0.png (24.3 KB, 31 views)
File Type: png Color theme Default_6.0-2.png (26.3 KB, 28 views)
File Type: png Color theme File.png (7.9 KB, 30 views)
File Type: png Theme Adjuster menu.png (5.5 KB, 30 views)
__________________
REAPER, em constante evolução!

Last edited by Edison; 12-13-2019 at 09:48 AM.
Edison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2019, 10:06 AM   #14
cool
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Sunny Siberian Islands
Posts: 186
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mccrabney View Post
that's because they're drawing their "selected" color from the theme tweaker (outline too, it looks like)

while playing with this, i'm finding that i like leaving the outline to be colored by the track. when i'm selecting multiple notes across multiple tracks, this gives me a little more info as to what is selected where.

simply awesome. imo this should be default behavior, but that's not important to me
Useful info, thank you!
cool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2019, 11:30 AM   #15
SergeiSobchenko
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Ukraine
Posts: 98
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edgemeal View Post
v6.01+dev1212 - December 12 2019
# Windows: improve small pin positioning/sizing
With the frameless floating toolbar, all works great, but when normal floating toolbar minimized pin is outside.
Attached Images
File Type: png Pin toolbar.png (1.5 KB, 49 views)
SergeiSobchenko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2019, 11:47 AM   #16
gofer
-blänk-
 
gofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 11,178
Default

+ MIDI editor: add option to use theme color for selected note body and/or border when coloring by track or media item
Very good indeed! In my case it's white border = selected, now notes and CC in track color are looking a lot more like how I've configured the other modes (and items as well)

Maybe now's a good time to moan again about track colors not being followed neatly by notes in track color mode.

Here's a licecap with notes in track color mode. I increase the track color's brightness step by step via a script with each mouse click:



(Btw, it's weird that the mouse cursor is visible, as I am clicking outside of the Licecap frame, actually. But in this case it's helpful, perhaps)

It's not super-good to see with the reduced colorset of the licecap, but it's obvious enough that
1) when the track is very dark both notes are brighter than the track. The unselected note is close (at the dark side of its gradient), but not really the same
2) when the track is very bright, both notes are darker than the track. Now it's the selected note which is close (but now that's on the bright side of the gradient).
3) while the track is in the dark range, not every step of change is registered. Instead the notes do pretty wide and uneven jumps in brightness at some of the steps.
(In the brighter range each step seems to make a change.)

Why are track colors not just taken "at face value" and shown as they are on the notes (at some fixed place of the gradient - middle would probably be ideal but at least it should stay where it is)?
It would make the MIDI editor's track color mode much more useful if notes were good at displaying the actual color, no?

Personally, I'd even request an option to disable the brightness change for selection altogether. For me having a white border as selection indicator for notes and CC is obvious enough but I could use a better information as to which track is the source.

Thanks again for that selected border option! Neatneatneat

Last edited by gofer; 12-13-2019 at 11:59 AM.
gofer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2019, 11:52 AM   #17
Vagelis
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Larisa, Greece
Posts: 500
Default

Painting a midi part is not working very good. If i split a midi and paint the first part of it, it paints and loops the part as it should, but when i select the other part of the item, and try to paint it, it doesn't loop properly.

Vagelis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2019, 12:53 PM   #18
mccrabney
Human being with feelings
 
mccrabney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Doopt, Florida
Posts: 2,176
Default

agree with gofer especially on the following -

Quote:
Why are track colors not just taken "at face value" and shown as they are on the notes
wasn't this the direction chosen for track colors in the 6.0 theme, to display the color specified rather than a shade or tint?
__________________
° using REAPER as host/arranger/sequencer to write instrumental beat music.
° striving for a loop-based, controller-centric midi recording/editing workflow.
° wishing noteoffs could extend beyond item end (dangle)
mccrabney is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2019, 01:07 PM   #19
jnif
Human being with feelings
 
jnif's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2,080
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edgemeal View Post
v6.01+dev1212 - December 12 2019
+ MIDI editor: add option to use theme color for selected note body and/or border when coloring by track or media item
How can I get pure/bright MIDI note colors, like in v5.99, when coloring by track or media? Now v6.0x is drawing all note colors darker than in v5.99. This happens also when using 'Default 5.0' them in v6.0x. And the note colors are also inconsistent in v6.0x, i.e. arrange view and MIDI track list show pure colors while notes in piano-roll are darker. EDIT: Same thing already mentioned by cool, gofer, and mccrabney

Here is another related thing that has bothered me many years.
Is there some way to automatically unselect all events in items that are not editable? That would prevent many mistakes where some notes get edited or deleted unintentionally. This latest update where selected notes are indicated more clearly helps, but it does not solve the problem when some selected notes are outside of piano-roll view.

And this related bug is still not fixed:
Selected notes invisible in MIDI editor


jnif

Last edited by jnif; 12-13-2019 at 01:34 PM.
jnif is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2019, 01:31 PM   #20
Ideosound
Human being with feelings
 
Ideosound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: U.K
Posts: 157
Default

Would also be worth getting this render window section to better match if possible.

Ideosound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2019, 06:32 PM   #21
dangguidan
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 130
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mccrabney View Post
looks great, thank you so much.

dangguidan, i'm not seeing this blurriness you're describing. can you take a screenshot?
After studying for a long time, I finally found the reason.
Originally, I always used the custom note color. When I deleted the custom color, the note edge will be blurred in all States. The original V6 note color definition is like this, ha ha!
I studied the MIDI note color map of V6. The note edge color is very similar to the background of MIDI editor. Maybe that's why.
For me, at least, the default settings seem laborious.
I uploaded my current customization so that the notes look much clearer.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg default.jpg (16.8 KB, 35 views)
File Type: jpg custom.jpg (17.7 KB, 35 views)
dangguidan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2019, 01:00 AM   #22
foxAsteria
Human being with feelings
 
foxAsteria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Oblivion
Posts: 7,323
Default

Speaking of pins...



There's still this problem.
__________________
Myyy Wyyyrd Music
foxAsteria is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2019, 03:08 AM   #23
PhelixK
Human being with feelings
 
PhelixK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 163
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ideosound View Post
Would also be worth getting this render window section to better match if possible.

Yes, and perhaps modified a little bit, here's a suggestion for normal/dark look:
– everything in hidpi of course

Attached Images
File Type: gif reaper-render-window-alt.gif (55.3 KB, 129 views)

Last edited by PhelixK; 12-16-2019 at 03:14 AM.
PhelixK is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.