COCKOS
CONFEDERATED FORUMS
Cockos : REAPER : NINJAM : Forums
Forum Home : Register : FAQ : Members List : Search :

Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > Other Software Discussion > WDL users forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-25-2019, 12:32 PM   #1
Nonlinear
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 203
Default What are all the project "plists" used for?

I understand the AU plist is used in the AU component - but what are the other project plists (VST3, VST2, etc.) used for?

Last edited by Nonlinear; 01-25-2019 at 04:30 PM.
Nonlinear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2019, 11:45 PM   #2
Fergler
Human being with feelings
 
Fergler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 3,882
Default

Plist stands for property list, so probably just a bunch of variables.
__________________
Check out my hip-hop, funk-rock band Theatre Crisp
Fergler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2019, 07:01 PM   #3
Nonlinear
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 203
Default

I'm new to Mac so I took some time to study this and now I can answer my own question.

Audio plugins on Mac, even VST and VST3, are not consolidated, single file ".dlls" like they are on Windows - they are bundles of separate code files, graphics files, etc., that make up the plugins. The "plists" are sort of an index of what's in each plugin bundle.

Now that I understand it I don't like it. Seems too easy for someone to rip off your graphics and code when it's distributed as a collection of individual files like this. Maybe it's more CPU efficient this way and that's why it is, IDK.

Last edited by Nonlinear; 01-29-2019 at 08:22 PM.
Nonlinear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2019, 02:53 PM   #4
gstuff
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 60
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nonlinear View Post
Seems too easy for someone to rip off your graphics and code when it's distributed as a collection of individual files like this. Maybe it's more CPU efficient this way and that's why it is, IDK.
Your graphics and other resources are laying there, but not your code. You can always embed all your resources files (graphics, fonts etc) directly into the binary ala Windows using either a simple C include approach or binary data sections: https://gareus.org/wiki/embedding_re...in_executables
gstuff is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.