Old 05-06-2019, 09:35 AM   #1
cubic13
Human being with feelings
 
cubic13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Near Serre-Ponçon lake, french Alps
Posts: 814
Default Issue using +devMMJJ versions... (SOLVED)

I have installed the most recent 5.976+dev0505 version, this to test the new v6 default theme implementation, and I get the message error visible on the screenshot visible on the right (to be compared with the 'regular' version on the left that I use without problem with one of my themes) :





Both versions are 64 bits and installed as 'portable', each one having their own installation folder. So, could someone explain what I am missing ? Because as things are, it becomes difficult to test any pre-release version...

Thanks in advance.
__________________
DAW : i7-870|P7P55D-E|16 Gb|2 HDD 1 Tb|W7Pro SP1(64)|RME Fireface UCX + Behringer ADA8200
Soft : Reaper(64)|Cubase 5-6.5(64)|Emulator X3 & several other VSTis (2 bridged)...
Gear : VMK-188+|MPD32|ME30P|Korg 05R/W|Roland D110|Yamaha TX802|Pre-MIDI stuff...

Last edited by cubic13; 05-07-2019 at 11:07 PM. Reason: Solved issue.
cubic13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2019, 09:31 AM   #2
mespotine
Human being with feelings
 
mespotine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Leipzig, Germany
Posts: 1,201
Default

Try copying the reaper.ini from the normal and working version into the folder of the problematic dev-version(replace the existing one). This might help.
__________________
Ultraschall-API - a Lua-functions-library4Reaper: https://forum.cockos.com/showthread....98#post2067798
Reaper Internals - Developerdocs4Reaper: https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=207635
mespotine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2019, 10:03 AM   #3
cubic13
Human being with feelings
 
cubic13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Near Serre-Ponçon lake, french Alps
Posts: 814
Default

Thanks for trying to help, mespotine. Sadly, it didn't work, after making the copy and relaunching the Reaper +dev version : I get exactly the same error message and the same empty input and output lists in the Preferences>Audio>Device panel...

One thing is sure, my Fireface UCX isn't the culprit : it works perfectly with the 'official' 5.976 version, as well as for watching a video on the net, in example. Really wondering what could be happening...
__________________
DAW : i7-870|P7P55D-E|16 Gb|2 HDD 1 Tb|W7Pro SP1(64)|RME Fireface UCX + Behringer ADA8200
Soft : Reaper(64)|Cubase 5-6.5(64)|Emulator X3 & several other VSTis (2 bridged)...
Gear : VMK-188+|MPD32|ME30P|Korg 05R/W|Roland D110|Yamaha TX802|Pre-MIDI stuff...
cubic13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2019, 10:04 AM   #4
mespotine
Human being with feelings
 
mespotine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Leipzig, Germany
Posts: 1,201
Default

If this is the same case with the current dev-release, you can post that into the accompanying thread for that pre-release, as this is probably a regression.
__________________
Ultraschall-API - a Lua-functions-library4Reaper: https://forum.cockos.com/showthread....98#post2067798
Reaper Internals - Developerdocs4Reaper: https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=207635
mespotine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2019, 10:15 AM   #5
cubic13
Human being with feelings
 
cubic13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Near Serre-Ponçon lake, french Alps
Posts: 814
Default

Yep. I'm going to try installing 5.977, then the 5.977+dev0506 in the same way for both, and report back here what is happening. If there is the same issue, I'll make a post in the related pre-release version. Thanks !
__________________
DAW : i7-870|P7P55D-E|16 Gb|2 HDD 1 Tb|W7Pro SP1(64)|RME Fireface UCX + Behringer ADA8200
Soft : Reaper(64)|Cubase 5-6.5(64)|Emulator X3 & several other VSTis (2 bridged)...
Gear : VMK-188+|MPD32|ME30P|Korg 05R/W|Roland D110|Yamaha TX802|Pre-MIDI stuff...
cubic13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2019, 10:43 AM   #6
cubic13
Human being with feelings
 
cubic13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Near Serre-Ponçon lake, french Alps
Posts: 814
Default

OK... I just did exactly the same thing with 5.977 as with 5.976 : the 'regular' version installed in the F:\Reaper5_Portable folder and and the 5.977+dev0506 version in the F:\Reaper_Test one. Result : exactly the same issue with the +dev version...
__________________
DAW : i7-870|P7P55D-E|16 Gb|2 HDD 1 Tb|W7Pro SP1(64)|RME Fireface UCX + Behringer ADA8200
Soft : Reaper(64)|Cubase 5-6.5(64)|Emulator X3 & several other VSTis (2 bridged)...
Gear : VMK-188+|MPD32|ME30P|Korg 05R/W|Roland D110|Yamaha TX802|Pre-MIDI stuff...
cubic13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2019, 02:21 PM   #7
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,091
Default

Anything in the non-working path's UserPlugins folder? I'm 99% sure this is some weird interaction happening as opposed to a regression.

Do you have a portable install that *does* work? Try this:

Copy <portable install that works path> to c:\newpath
Install +devXXYY portably to c:\newpath
Justin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2019, 10:06 PM   #8
cubic13
Human being with feelings
 
cubic13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Near Serre-Ponçon lake, french Alps
Posts: 814
Default

Thanks for the help, Justin...

Surprisingly, the first +dev version has scanned all my plug-ins immediatly at the right places and this went without problems (just one or two error messages from obsolete VST plug-ins for which I lost the licence number). The paths used were this ones :

C:\Program Files (x86)\Steinberg\VSTPlugIns;C:\Program Files\Steinberg\VstPlugins;C:\Program Files\Common Files\VST3

And yes, I have a working portable installed : the one I use on a daily basis which is, since yesterday, at the v5.977/x64 version. I'm going to try what you just suggested : copy the whole content of its folder in the \Reaper5_Test one and install again the 5.977+dev0506 in it. Will report back here how things went...
__________________
DAW : i7-870|P7P55D-E|16 Gb|2 HDD 1 Tb|W7Pro SP1(64)|RME Fireface UCX + Behringer ADA8200
Soft : Reaper(64)|Cubase 5-6.5(64)|Emulator X3 & several other VSTis (2 bridged)...
Gear : VMK-188+|MPD32|ME30P|Korg 05R/W|Roland D110|Yamaha TX802|Pre-MIDI stuff...
cubic13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2019, 11:06 PM   #9
cubic13
Human being with feelings
 
cubic13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Near Serre-Ponçon lake, french Alps
Posts: 814
Default

Hi again, Justin.

OK, I solved it, and rather quickly. I did what you suggested and got exactly the same issue with the +dev version. Then I suddenly remembered that I got exactly the same message when I first installed my interface, nearly one year ago. I even made a thread about it, which is still visible here.

So, there were two mistakes on my end, I reckon :
- the first one is that I used a short-cut icon copied from the one I regularly use : I had changed the target (F:\Reaper5_Test\reaper.exe) of course, but forgot to change the 'start in' setting which was still F:\Reaper5_Portable. This explains probably why the +dev version start scanning immediatly at the right place my plug-ins...
- the second one is related to the old thread : as I am always using a Windows limited account, everything audio related needs to be launched as administrator to work since I installed the Fireface UCX, and this wasn't happening with the E-Mu 1616m that I had before (I never had a clear explanation about this, so if you have one...). So, I ran again the dektop icon shortcut that points to the +dev version 'as administrator' and... problem solved : the Fireface is now recognized as expected by Reaper, no matter if it is the official version or the +dev one.

I should have remembered right away what happened last year, sorry. Thanks again for the help...
__________________
DAW : i7-870|P7P55D-E|16 Gb|2 HDD 1 Tb|W7Pro SP1(64)|RME Fireface UCX + Behringer ADA8200
Soft : Reaper(64)|Cubase 5-6.5(64)|Emulator X3 & several other VSTis (2 bridged)...
Gear : VMK-188+|MPD32|ME30P|Korg 05R/W|Roland D110|Yamaha TX802|Pre-MIDI stuff...
cubic13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.