Old 05-15-2019, 08:31 AM   #1
timryan257
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 8
Default Random crash when opening projects

I have given up trying to figure this one out myself, and turn to the hive mind for help.

For a few months now, Reaper sometimes crashes when opening a project. Seems like it can be just about any project. If I restart Reaper and reopen the same project, it opens without crashing. Sometimes I can go for days without a crash, but other times it's frequent - like last night during a mixing session when it crashed 6 times in an hour.

The popup message shown upon crashing is:

Microsoft Visual C++ Runtime Library
Runtime Error !
Program: E:\Program Files\Reaper\REAPER.exe
This application has requested the Runtime to terminate in an unusual way.

The Windows 10 event log entry always looks like this

Faulting application name: reaper.exe, version: 5.9.6.5, time stamp: 0x5c1964ac
Faulting module name: reaper.exe, version: 5.9.6.5, time stamp: 0x5c1964ac
Exception code: 0x40000015
Fault offset: 0x00000000007cb3de
Faulting process id: 0xa98
Faulting application start time: 0x01d50ac40cbb6f11
Faulting application path: E:\Program Files\Reaper\reaper.exe
Faulting module path: E:\Program Files\Reaper\reaper.exe
Report Id: e81b5c65-afe5-4f5d-bf1e-033919167d21
Faulting package full name:
Faulting package-relative application ID:

the faulting application and module are always reaper.exe, not a plugin.

any ideas on how to proceed ?

thanks

tim
timryan257 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2019, 10:07 AM   #2
tzzsmk
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Prague
Posts: 93
Default

"any ideas on how to proceed ?"

hmm, first thing try remember exactly when issue started to happen, maybe some botched update, install of some new software or hardware? can be literally anything;

then I'd try running Reaper within new Windows user profile account;

seeing E:\Program Files is rather strange, are you using portable Reaper, or some modified Windows system environment variables?

what's your settings of Reaper launch - I recommend using "Prompt" option for "Open project(s) on startup" in Reaper Preferences -> General
__________________
High Sierra i7-5820K @4.3GHz, ASUS X99-S, 32GB DDR4, GTX980Ti Classified, 850 EVO 500GB, HDSPe AIO, Faderport, Seaboard RISE49, Eris E8, K240 MKII, U2713HM, MacBook Pro 13 Mid-2012 (i7, 16GB, 840 EVO 500GB, 1TB), Fireface UFX, Octamic D & II, DT-770 M, SE215-K
tzzsmk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2019, 10:26 AM   #3
timryan257
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 8
Default

my apologies in advance, I dont' seem to get how to use the "quote" thing when replying ...
======================
hmm, first thing try remember exactly when issue started to happen, maybe some botched update, install of some new software or hardware? can be literally anything;

hard to say -- since it doesn't happen consistently, I didn't really notice it for a while. Although Reaper has been stable for years, I have had the occasional crash now and then, so I didn't notice for a while that there is recurring issue. No new hardware, but ongoing software installs, the usual upgrades, but new plugins here and there too.
================================================== ===
then I'd try running Reaper within new Windows user profile account;

do you mean creating a new Windows user and running Reaper while logged in as that new user ?
================================================== =====

seeing E:\Program Files is rather strange, are you using portable Reaper, or some modified Windows system environment variables?

I have most of my recording software [programs, plugins, etc] running on my E: drive, which is one of 4 SSD drives I have. Windows and non-audio stuff gets the C drive, audio programs and plugins on E, and project files and audio files on F [current projects] and G [archived projects]. I've been doing this for quite a while now, it never seemed to be an issue before to run Reaper from the E drive rather than the C drive
================================================== =====
what's your settings of Reaper launch - I recommend using "Prompt" option for "Open project(s) on startup" in Reaper Preferences -> General

my launch setting is currently set to New Project, so I'm not automatically loading any existing project
timryan257 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2019, 01:27 AM   #4
tzzsmk
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Prague
Posts: 93
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by timryan257 View Post
do you mean creating a new Windows user and running Reaper while logged in as that new user ?
exactly
__________________
High Sierra i7-5820K @4.3GHz, ASUS X99-S, 32GB DDR4, GTX980Ti Classified, 850 EVO 500GB, HDSPe AIO, Faderport, Seaboard RISE49, Eris E8, K240 MKII, U2713HM, MacBook Pro 13 Mid-2012 (i7, 16GB, 840 EVO 500GB, 1TB), Fireface UFX, Octamic D & II, DT-770 M, SE215-K
tzzsmk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.