Old 05-18-2019, 06:32 AM   #1
noahcopeland44
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 2
Default MIDI Note not recognized if notes are touching

Hello peeps,


I'm currently using apTrigga3 to trigger some hi hat sounds, but there is one funky issue if the midi notes are touching each other. Best way I can explain it is by just showing you via video:

https://youtu.be/WdBax6SNX6k


Does anybody have any idea what's happening?
It believe it's something to do with MIDI note off values not being recognized.
If I hit F3 ("Send all notes off to all midi outputs/plug-ins") during playback RIGHT before the open hi hat note, it will trigger the open hi hat sample. Any ideas?


EDIT: I reached out to the apTrigga support contact, and he recreated my session in Abelton. There was no issue in Ableton and it worked as intended.
noahcopeland44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2019, 03:09 PM   #2
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 9,050
Default

Not a fix for the problem but to be relatively certain it's a Reaper issue you could insert a MIDI logger (e.g included ReaControlMIDI VST can do logging) as first insert and check if the MIDI notes (off) are missed there too.

Last edited by nofish; 05-18-2019 at 03:29 PM.
nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2019, 01:37 AM   #3
Fabian
Human being with feelings
 
Fabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 5,445
Default

I have found that some plugins do not recognize note on messages if they come too close to a previous note off. In those cases I slip edit the ending of the previous note slightly earlier (Shift+drag on Windows).

Maybe that's it?
__________________
// MVHMF
I never always did the right thing, but all I did wasn't wrong...
Fabian is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2019, 04:57 AM   #4
gofer
-blänk-
 
gofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 11,159
Default

Yep, it's rare, but I assume that those plugins aren't developed with Reaper's default 960 ticks per quarter setting in mind.

Instead of dragging each troublemaker note shorter you could use "Edit: Shorten note one pixel" to shorten them in a bulk. Or experiment with a lower ticks per quarter setting (Preferences -> Media -> MIDI).
gofer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2019, 01:07 PM   #5
Fabian
Human being with feelings
 
Fabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 5,445
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gofer View Post
Yep, it's rare, but I assume that those plugins aren't developed with Reaper's default 960 ticks per quarter setting in mind.

Instead of dragging each troublemaker note shorter you could use "Edit: Shorten note one pixel" to shorten them in a bulk. Or experiment with a lower ticks per quarter setting (Preferences -> Media -> MIDI).
Thanks.
I had no idea about any of these possibilities. With Reaper you (well, at least I) surely learn something new every day...
__________________
// MVHMF
I never always did the right thing, but all I did wasn't wrong...
Fabian is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.