Old 02-11-2019, 03:40 AM   #1
sonnenstudio
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 7
Default Does reaper have a list of learned midi mappings

Dear forum members,

I have been looking for a while for a list within reaper where all the midi mappings I have assigned to my midi controller within a project (for ex. to plugin parameters, track faders, etc.).

This way I can have an overview of which midi faders/knobs are already in use and where. When working on large projects I constantly midi-learn various parameters to my midi controller (nanokontrol) to make fine-tune changes & to write automation.

In Ableton live, when bringing up the midi learn screen, a list appears of all previously assigned midi controller numbers, with the corresponding plugin parameter. It's handy to be able to delete all midi mapping to various plugin parameters, so that I can start with a clean slate to assign new parameters to the limited midi-faders & knobs that I have. Does a feature like that exist in reaper?

Thanks in advance!
sonnenstudio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2019, 04:03 AM   #2
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 6,033
Default

No natively,


https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=188335



but MPL made a great script for that, called Learn Manager, accessible via Reapack extension for free :P
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2019, 04:31 AM   #3
sonnenstudio
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 7
Default

thanks x-raym !
sonnenstudio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2019, 10:46 AM   #4
Rims
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 21
Default Learn Manager

So I installed Learn Manager to get visibility to what I controllers I have mapped to what parameters, but it is not showing me any mappings. I use the "Reaper midi learn" as opposed to the VST midi learn. (ie midi cc is mapped on a per track, not global basis and the track does not need to be selected for the controls to work)


Is this the right tool to use, or is there another way?
Rims is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2019, 11:31 AM   #5
mpl
Human being with feelings
 
mpl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 2,528
Default

Learn manager is mostly designed for managing default mappings.

Try mpl_List all MIDI OSC learn for current project.lua or mpl_List all MIDI OSC learn from focused fx.lua
__________________
SoundCloud | MPL Scripts discussion | ReaPack | Donate
mpl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2019, 02:05 PM   #6
Rims
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 21
Default

Thanks for the fast response.

mpl_List all MIDI OSC learn threw this error:

mpl_List all MIDI OSC learn for current project.lua:144: bad argument #3 to 'TrackFX_GetParamName' (number expected, got nil)




Anyway here are the PARMLEARN lines from my project file in case that is useful:

PARMLEARN 148:148 19120 2
PARMLEARN 149:149 20144 2
PARMLEARN 155:155 24496 2

PARMLEARN 438 18864 2
PARMLEARN 439 18864 2

PARMLEARN 103 1456 2
PARMLEARN 107 1456 2

PARMLEARN 103 1456 2
PARMLEARN 107 1456 2

PARMLEARN 54 2736 2

PARMLEARN 148:148 23728 2
PARMLEARN 148:148 23728 2
Rims is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2019, 11:21 PM   #7
mpl
Human being with feelings
 
mpl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 2,528
Default

Sorry for late response. Can you share to me your RPP? I`m not sure what ":" sign mean here, never saw it there.
__________________
SoundCloud | MPL Scripts discussion | ReaPack | Donate
mpl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2019, 09:43 PM   #8
Rims
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 21
Default

No problems.

The offending PARMLEARNS with the ":" are from Diva VST3
I added a track with VST2 Diva with the same midi CC's on it and the PARMLEARNs get written without the ":"
Attached Files
File Type: zip BLA_5a - Copy2.zip (700.9 KB, 10 views)
Rims is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2019, 09:32 PM   #9
mpl
Human being with feelings
 
mpl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 2,528
Default

It seems fixed now.
__________________
SoundCloud | MPL Scripts discussion | ReaPack | Donate
mpl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2019, 04:19 PM   #10
Rims
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 21
Default

It works great and is handy as get out to come back to a project after awhile and get a readout of your parameter to midi cc mappings.

Every vst3 that I mapped midi cc on had that "148:148" or "6:4" format instead of an integer so I guess it won't work on them, but no matter to me.
Rims is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2019, 05:14 AM   #11
mpl
Human being with feelings
 
mpl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 2,528
Default

This is undocumented thing (as well as actually every other thing in chunk!), so I don`t know what does it mean. In case of mentioned script I just took first value. Like if it "6:4", the script think it is 6th parameter.
__________________
SoundCloud | MPL Scripts discussion | ReaPack | Donate
mpl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.