Old 05-02-2019, 07:26 AM   #1
mcurran
Human being with feelings
 
mcurran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 50
Default erratic playback of Midi files in Reaper

Hi All

I am experiencing erratic playback of Midi files in Reaper. It's not really happening with .WAV files but when I try to playback midi sequences they jump out of time, so for instance instead of a steady 1-2-3-4 it will skip forward into the next measure, and often at the same spots, while at other times will playback fine, particularly if I shut down Reaper and re-open, but not always.

I am using Windows 7 with Reaper v5.965 x 64.

I do also notice sometimes when I am playing my midi keyboard it will just shut off notes as well as shut off the VST program I am using. I do often use Kontakt virtual instruments, which seem to give me the most problems.

I suspect this may be a buffer or processor-related issue, so I am wondering if that might be one possible explanation, and if so, how do I check to see if I may need to upgrade my computer?

Can someone also recommend what are the best buffer and latency settings for both Reaper and ASIO drivers?

thank you very much in advance....
mcurran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2019, 08:51 AM   #2
domzy
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 1,147
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mcurran View Post

I suspect this may be a buffer or processor-related issue, so I am wondering if that might be one possible explanation, and if so, how do I check to see if I may need to upgrade my computer?
open the performance meter (in view options) - what is it showing? especially the real time CPU reading

Quote:
Originally Posted by mcurran View Post
Can someone also recommend what are the best buffer and latency settings for both Reaper and ASIO drivers?
impossible to say, depends on your hardware - processor, motherboard, interface etc. and of course what exactly you are trying to do (realtime playing, virtual synths etc.)
domzy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2019, 09:22 AM   #3
mcurran
Human being with feelings
 
mcurran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 50
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by domzy View Post
open the performance meter (in view options) - what is it showing? especially the real time CPU reading

It doesn't go over 10 and often stays under 7.



impossible to say, depends on your hardware - processor, motherboard, interface etc. and of course what exactly you are trying to do (realtime playing, virtual synths etc.)
Just playing back one simple midi part from one plug-in VST, nothing extensive
mcurran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2019, 08:12 PM   #4
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 14,503
Default

also inside kontakt are settings for amount of ram to allow, etc. look into those....

maybe you should post what your computer specs are?

cpu
ram
audio interface
midi interface
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2019, 08:38 AM   #5
mcurran
Human being with feelings
 
mcurran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 50
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hopi View Post
also inside kontakt are settings for amount of ram to allow, etc. look into those....

maybe you should post what your computer specs are?

cpu
ram
audio interface
midi interface
Hi Hopi,

Thanks for responding.

Yes, there are setting parameters inside Kontakt, can you advise what the optimal settings for those are? [or the standard ones? I may have changed these in my attempts to solve my issues somewhere along this arduous journey, ]

Here is my CPU:

Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit (6.1, Build 7601) Service Pack 1
BIOS: BIOS Date: 02/05/10 19:13:52 Ver: 08.00.10
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2600K CPU @ 3.40GHz (8 CPUs), ~3.4GHz
Memory: 16384MB RAM
Available OS Memory: 16366MB RAM

My audio interface is the Focusrite Scarlett, the midi interface is Cakewalk UM-G.
mcurran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2019, 07:40 AM   #6
mcurran
Human being with feelings
 
mcurran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 50
Default

This is still an unresolved issue....
mcurran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2019, 08:16 AM   #7
domzy
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 1,147
Default

does the MIDI file skip regardless of the VSTi used? If you use reasynth instead of kontakt for example.
domzy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2019, 08:22 AM   #8
mcurran
Human being with feelings
 
mcurran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 50
Default

Yes, it skips regardless of VST used.
mcurran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2019, 08:37 AM   #9
domzy
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 1,147
Default

so that would suggest it's not related to processing issues, or Kontakt.
Maybe you could try doing a clean portable install and see if the problem is still occurring there?
domzy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2019, 08:51 AM   #10
mcurran
Human being with feelings
 
mcurran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 50
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by domzy View Post
so that would suggest it's not related to processing issues, or Kontakt.
Maybe you could try doing a clean portable install and see if the problem is still occurring there?
What is a 'portable install?'
mcurran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2019, 09:05 AM   #11
domzy
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 1,147
Default

a self-contained version of reaper, not specifically linked to your computer. It might be handy in this case as you can install a fresh version of reaper without messing with your current install.
Run the installer and select the option when you are choosing your location to install to (obviously you'll want to chose a different location to your current installation).
domzy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2019, 09:12 AM   #12
mcurran
Human being with feelings
 
mcurran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 50
Default

ok, will try it.
mcurran is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.