Old 06-05-2018, 08:32 AM   #1
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 5,802
Default Script: Wave File CUE Points / LIST Markers Editing

Hi !


Just a demo of an experiment I made:
  • Insert a cue point marker at edit cursor position on selected items
Demo





The main advantage is that it works without having to make an audio render. File writing isn't instantaneous though.



This is just a concept demo, to see if some people are interested. This is way too early for a release though, I'll have to inspect if there is better technology (faster and most of all, way easier to install than this one).


What do you think ?


Cheers !


EDIT: related thread:
What BWF Metadata related actions do you need ? - Cockos Incorporated Forums
https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=202453

Last edited by X-Raym; 06-10-2018 at 06:14 AM.
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2018, 09:39 AM   #2
Sju
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 675
Default

Interesting hack there

Haven't really used cue points other than for loop markers. I didn't know they can contain text, and that Reaper can display it like that.

I often store comments and other info in item notes or item name, but being able to mark exact spots on the waveform would be really useful, if adding/removing them was easier.
Sju is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2018, 09:49 AM   #3
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 5,802
Default

Quote:
I often store comments and other info in item notes or item name, but being able to mark exact spots on the waveform would be really useful, if adding/removing them was easier.
Item markers is defintily something I miss in REAPER. Real visible (colored) item cues with multiline comment would be awesome to add timed comment on takes.



This is a bit different, it is CUE points, so it is only for audio items, and it is written within the file itself. It has minimal information (no color for eg), but can be displayed/used by other softwares.
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2018, 02:01 PM   #4
amagalma
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,486
Default

Great! You made it!


The perfect script would be something like this
amagalma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2018, 03:07 PM   #5
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 5,802
Default

@amalgama
This would be theorically possible.



Though complex cases like stretch markers promise to be quite difficult. I prefer not even think about it ^^
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2018, 04:05 PM   #6
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 14,487
Default

YES please do it!
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2018, 02:30 AM   #7
Sumalc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: France
Posts: 522
Default

It's interesting, will it work on mac also?
Sumalc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2018, 02:53 AM   #8
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 5,802
Default

@Sumalc
Of course ! And surely Linux somehow.

Good thing is now I know how to make it work withiut the cmd popup
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2018, 03:14 AM   #9
amagalma
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,486
Default

Is it possible to delete or move a CUE point with your code?
amagalma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2018, 03:19 AM   #10
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 5,802
Default

@amagalma
Yes it is ! Also, renaming cues.



And soon it should be also to support LIST Region functions s well (for now it is only markers).
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2018, 03:24 AM   #11
amagalma
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,486
Default

Great!
amagalma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2018, 06:00 AM   #12
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 5,802
Default

@amagalma
Still experimenting:



I think the only limitations seems that initial access to file (to get the markers) isn't instantaneous with the current method I use. it can take 2-3 second to get the info.


This means that if we imagine a window to display cue markers, having it to refresh in real time at each item selection change would not be very efficient. An "analyse" button will be better, so that the user know why something doesn't display in real time.

Unless I found a more efficient solution. aka, a CLI tool with quicker file access time

Last edited by X-Raym; 06-07-2018 at 06:15 AM.
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2018, 06:51 AM   #13
Jonas Ekstrom
Human being with feelings
 
Jonas Ekstrom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 88
Default

This is interesting, is it possible to convert markers into CUE points?
__________________
Jonas Ekstrom
www.northmastering.com
Jonas Ekstrom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2018, 07:03 AM   #14
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 5,802
Default

I think I found a way more efficient way to to read/write/install. Has to be tested, but it is promising.


@Jonas
I'm not familar with CUE syntax in particular but as long as we can get the data, we can process them and do anything from them. And yes, we can get the data :P
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2018, 03:10 AM   #15
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 5,802
Default

So I found another way to get / write metadata from wavefiles, and I build a CLI program arround it, it is no way more quicker than my previous version


Here it is, tested with an even bigger file size (30Mb)




That seems pretty usable to me

Sure, between that and a full manager with GUi as suggested by amalgama, there is a bit of work to do !
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2018, 05:10 AM   #16
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 5,802
Default

Ok so I had to rewrite some parts of the libraries I used cause it contains error !


But now is looks good,
I even corrected Loops insertion so...


Here is a demo !


X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2018, 06:36 AM   #17
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 14,487
Default

seems great to me !

the time it takes is trivial.... I for one think it is fast enough

hopefully the input field can be made to show up where the mouse cursor is or
some consistent place where we don't have to go hunting for it each time?
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2018, 06:47 AM   #18
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 5,802
Default

Speed is dependant of the wavefile length cause it duplicate a temp file to do it. Huge files (more like 1Go) will surely take longer. It would bemore optimized if it could just update the wav but I don't know if/how/under what circumstances it could be possible.



Quote:
hopefully the input field can be made to show up where the mouse cursor is or
some consistent place where we don't have to go hunting for it each time?
This is how reaper input popup works. but if there is just one field, just enter your text and press enter. dont need mouse. If multiple fields, just use tabs to go form to another. No muse indeed either.
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2018, 07:23 AM   #19
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 2,367
Default

This's looks awesome man!!!
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub | Stephan Römer - film composer
If you wish to donate for my scripts: please consider an organization like: animal shelter, doctors without borders, UNICEF, etc...
_Stevie_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2018, 03:36 PM   #20
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 5,802
Default

Thanks for your feedbacks !

Still experimenting with this, just to see what could be possible:


The GUI allows to make several marker operation (update/delete/add) in one row, with only one write request to the file (which is far quicker than having to make separate ones)


It is taking way more time than expected because of all the fixes I had to make, and the fact I'm not yet familiar with Python, which is quite hard to debug in REAPER. I may have to focus my work on projects which could help more people than this (LIST-INFO markers doesn't seems to be used by a lot of users), but it is already a nice proof of concept anyway
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2018, 11:48 AM   #21
Jonas Ekstrom
Human being with feelings
 
Jonas Ekstrom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 88
Default

Keep up the great work, this looks really interesting!
__________________
Jonas Ekstrom
www.northmastering.com
Jonas Ekstrom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2018, 01:25 PM   #22
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 8,793
Default

Seems like finally a way to have kind of item markers in Reaper, nice.
nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2018, 02:09 PM   #23
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 5,802
Default

@nofish
Well, Empty items have no markers at all, and MIDI markers already have text markers (though, their view in arrange view is broken see this), so I will not say it is a all purpose marker solutions, and the info e can put here are quite limited (single line, no metadata).


But, it can be very convenient for interoperability, as markers are embeded right into the wav file. For people who share sounds library, I think it might be intersting to mark part of the audio, like maybe max peak for sync point, loop points for ambiance etc.
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2018, 02:32 PM   #24
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 5,802
Default

@nofish
Also, remember this is wavefile metadata only !
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2018, 08:00 PM   #25
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 14,487
Default

so is this ready for us to try?
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2018, 12:14 AM   #26
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 5,802
Default

@hopi
Tkinter Python GUI usage in REAPER doesnt appear to be as straightforward as I would have think. A part from thr fact it requires to install python, it freeze certain things in REAPER which can be a bit disturbing for lamba users (like you cant remove items while the GUI run, you cant run action from action list...)
the solution is to externalize the script, but this means that it requires to install beyond REAPER which despite the good documentation requires lot of steps and mabual editing of files etc... again I think it can discourage people a bit.



As I think I can make a premium pack with these scripts concepts, considering the time I already spent on them, I try to make it as simple as possible for the end user. Thats why I'm porting all the code to Lua, but it is completly different so it takes time. It promises to be even more efficient though, so it might worth it, but untill it is done, we cant know.


So in resume, scripts are really good. they do the job. but Im trying to make them even better :P
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2018, 08:05 AM   #27
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 14,487
Default

thanks much X... understood and I'll wait patiently %^)
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2018, 09:28 AM   #28
Ozman
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 533
Default

This will be very useful for creating sustain loop points for samplers.
Ozman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2019, 08:12 AM   #29
o_e
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 321
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by X-Raym View Post
@hopi
Tkinter Python GUI usage in REAPER doesnt appear to be as straightforward as I would have think. A part from thr fact it requires to install python, it freeze certain things in REAPER which can be a bit disturbing for lamba users (like you cant remove items while the GUI run, you cant run action from action list...)
the solution is to externalize the script, but this means that it requires to install beyond REAPER which despite the good documentation requires lot of steps and mabual editing of files etc... again I think it can discourage people a bit.



As I think I can make a premium pack with these scripts concepts, considering the time I already spent on them, I try to make it as simple as possible for the end user. Thats why I'm porting all the code to Lua, but it is completly different so it takes time. It promises to be even more efficient though, so it might worth it, but untill it is done, we cant know.


So in resume, scripts are really good. they do the job. but Im trying to make them even better :P
I've stumbled over that thread, are there any new developments or is the project dead..?

thx
o_e is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2019, 08:39 AM   #30
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 5,802
Default

dead but can have a revival thanks to Reapy, which solve the problems I had with tkinter !

https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=217560

Meanwhile, take a look at amagalma script, it migh answer some of your needs.

https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=214609
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2019, 12:13 PM   #31
o_e
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 321
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by X-Raym View Post
dead but can have a revival thanks to Reapy, which solve the problems I had with tkinter !

https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=217560

Meanwhile, take a look at amagalma script, it migh answer some of your needs.

https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=214609
Thank you!

Is there also a way to delete media cues?
o_e is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2019, 05:23 PM   #32
MusoBob
Human being with feelings
 
MusoBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 789
Default

"To erase an existing media cue, place an unnamed project marker at the position of the cue"
MusoBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2019, 07:39 AM   #33
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 14,487
Default

wondering about the current status of this one? do ya think we will see it released?
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2019, 09:09 AM   #34
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: brighton, uk
Posts: 12,645
Default

Indeed. This would be very useful for game audio work!
__________________
subproject FRs click here
note: don't search for my pseudonym on the web. The "musicbynumbers" you find is not me or the name I use for my own music.
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2019, 02:30 PM   #35
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 5,802
Default

@hopi
Which script in particular ? The one with GUI ? Else, you can check amalgama one. :P


Quote:
do ya think we will see it released?

I didn't make my mind about it right now. Maybe if it got more attractions or sponsor... but most important, I'll have to be sure it works as efficiently as possilble !
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2019, 03:08 PM   #36
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 14,487
Default

I guess it is the one with the GUI... like you show near the first post... or did I miss something?

I know we can add markers and then get them included as cue's in the file... but IF I am understanding this it seem more direct, ...no?

PS just checked out the amaglma lua... and found a problem

someone should dbl check me on this:

one track, one wav file, about 10 bars long
the wav starts at ruler -1...

two project markers... one at measure "2" and one at measure "4"
now the reason I put the " " is that my project ruler is set to start at -3 so there are 4 bars to the left of the true mesure 1

OK so the lua puts the cues in the wrong locations... because apparently the lua does not take into account the possibility of a ruler
that starts with that kind of minus numbers off-set...
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain

Last edited by hopi; 04-01-2019 at 03:18 PM.
hopi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2019, 04:31 PM   #37
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 5,802
Default

@hopi
if you are fine with amaglma script, (no gui workflow), contact him and hell take care if the bug fix
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2019, 10:56 PM   #38
MusoBob
Human being with feelings
 
MusoBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 789
Default

This is the modified amalgama one from below link, it will insert cue at cursor pos and get user input name:
https://forum.cockos.com/showthread....04#post2137304


This seems to work ok, I only had to change a couple of lines.
right click save Target/Link As
ReaTrak insert media cue to selected item active take wav source file.lua
**make sure your wav media is not in use in another app as it won't remove the old wav.

__________________
ReaTrakStudio Chord Track for Reaper forum
www.reatrak.com
MusoBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.