Old 05-14-2012, 08:20 PM   #1
Jezzta667
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Katoomba, Australia
Posts: 39
Default Create a color map for MIDI

Hi,

How do I do this?

Why can't I just click on each note (line) and change it's colour. Why can't I also drag the Named Notes section wider so if I'm zoomed in I can see the whole name? Seems like the MIDI editor is way neglected compared to the rest of this awesome program.
Jezzta667 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2012, 11:03 PM   #2
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 14,498
Default

you can load various color maps to the midi editor.. there are more than a few on the reaper stash... I like gofer's the best but there are others.. and then you can always make your own.

If you see what the png file for a midi color map looks like, you will begin to understand why you can't just clk on a note to change it's color... there is a lot more going on...
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2012, 11:34 PM   #3
Jezzta667
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Katoomba, Australia
Posts: 39
Default

Thanks but HOW do I make one?

I can't see why the MIDI lanes can't be set up the same as the track where you can just set a custom colour at will.

What I've done for my drums is group the lanes together for the main kit pieces.

e.g using BFD all of my hi hats in all their open>closed positions with tip/shank are all on adjacent lanes. If I could colour them all say yellow, my snare red, my kick blue, all my toms green and my crashes orange then it would be visually much easier for me to edit them.
Jezzta667 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2012, 12:14 AM   #4
bradleyfilms
Human being with feelings
 
bradleyfilms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Cumbria, UK
Posts: 2,255
Default

Here you go http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=78839
Steve
__________________
Meto ergo psallentes est
bradleyfilms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2012, 12:22 AM   #5
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 14,498
Default

and here ya go also

https://stash.reaper.fm/browse.php?q=color+map&x=0&y=0

I have made some color maps myself... and others have also... you could make your own...

if you want a color you can pick for each note you see in the midi editor, then use a color map and set the editor to show colors for pitch... instead of for velocity which is it's normal default...

perhaps, before you get into asking reaper to do 'what YOU want', get a little more into finding out what and how it does already???

I say this in a friendly tone...

OH forgot to say, you can get all those color maps and have them in a folder in your reaper install and you can load them to change what you see for colors in the editor on the fly...
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2012, 12:29 AM   #6
Jezzta667
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Katoomba, Australia
Posts: 39
Default

Thanks guys but what these links dont tell me is how I start to create a colour map. The one titled MIDI Color Map Explanation tells me nothing about how to get to the point where I can create my own colour map.

Can someone please tell me, from the beginning, how I make a custom colour map, or at least up to the point where this color map explanation will be useful??

And forgive me but Reaper and it's constant updates and improvements does make us a little spoilt when it comes to getting what we want. Let's face it, it does SO much that we like that when we come across something that we dont, it's annoying (as opposed to Pro Tools where you just get used to it being shit). I think you'll agree that the fact that you can resize almost any window/section in reaper that when you can't do the same to see the entire name of your MIDI note, it's annoying.
Jezzta667 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2012, 12:40 AM   #7
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 14,498
Default

you need a graphics program like photoshop or one of the free ones to make a color map...

the best way to learn is to take a copy of an existing one, and alter it and see what you can do... the White Tie link explains what each part of the color map png file does in the editor as well as telling you the sizes and placements required for it in your graphic program work.

Not sure what you mean about not seeing a midi note name??? what do you want to see exactly? I can zoom in until one midi note fills my screen... [26" monitors]...

Do you know what LICECap is? Perhaps you'd care to give us some illusrations of your problems\questions to get better help.
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2012, 12:48 AM   #8
Jezzta667
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Katoomba, Australia
Posts: 39
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hopi View Post
you need a graphics program like photoshop or one of the free ones to make a color map...

the best way to learn is to take a copy of an existing one, and alter it and see what you can do... the White Tie link explains what each part of the color map png file does in the editor as well as telling you the sizes and placements required for it in your graphic program work.

Not sure what you mean about not seeing a midi note name??? what do you want to see exactly? I can zoom in until one midi note fills my screen... [26" monitors]...

Do you know what LICECap is? Perhaps you'd care to give us some illusrations of your problems\questions to get better help.
Thank you, that's the main piece of information that I haven't been able to find during several searches. It's like someone telling me how to do heart surgery without first telling me I need a knife (except less obvious...perhaps I should abandom this analogy)

As for the MIDI note name problem, sure you can zoom in as much as you want, but the column that displays the name does not change width so if you have a note named for example:

S7:3 <Cymbal - Edge>

it takes very little zooming before it becomes:


S7:3 <Cymbal - Ed

and theres no way to expand the column
Jezzta667 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2012, 01:00 AM   #9
Jezzta667
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Katoomba, Australia
Posts: 39
Default

Alright screw this. I'm not going to spend hours learning a graphics program just so I can edit the colours in my MIDI editor. There's too many other things that my time would be better spent on (like making music).

I stand by my position that editing the MIDI note colours the same as the track colours would be a great feature.

Thanks for your help guys.
Jezzta667 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2019, 08:32 AM   #10
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 14,498
Default

well if you don't care to learn how to use a graphics program you could download quite a few midi note color maps from the reaper stash... and try those...

as to the rest of your ideas, well every program has its ways of working that you just have to live with... or use something you like better...
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.