Old 05-07-2019, 09:44 PM   #1
Gass n Klang
Human being with feelings
 
Gass n Klang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Detmold - Germany
Posts: 551
Default Reaper crashes a lot. Please check my crashlog

hey guys,
reaper crashes a lot and I dont know why. It has been dead stable within the last 2 years. A new installation of Reaper doesn't have any stability problems so I think there are some settings or scripts wrong. The following crash has been provoked by simply generating 2 projects with just a few empty tracks and loading project A after project B was running.

Quote:
System

- Provider

[ Name] Application Error

- EventID 1000

[ Qualifiers] 0

Level 2

Task 100

Keywords 0x80000000000000

- TimeCreated

[ SystemTime] 2019-05-08T04:36:23.379812800Z

EventRecordID 14052

Channel Application

Computer GassnKlang

Security


- EventData

reaper.exe
5.9.7.6
5ccbb102
reaper.exe
5.9.7.6
5ccbb102
c0000005
00000000006ce99c
2a4
01d5055772bd6ae5
C:\Musiksoftware\DAWs\REAPER\reaper.exe
C:\Musiksoftware\DAWs\REAPER\reaper.exe
513db094-1ff5-4d53-a4b7-477a6a56726a
I can't find the problem so I need your help. I've got the same installation on my desktop PC which also crashes.

Last edited by Gass n Klang; 05-07-2019 at 10:01 PM.
Gass n Klang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2019, 07:03 AM   #2
mespotine
Human being with feelings
 
mespotine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Leipzig, Germany
Posts: 1,221
Default

Have you installed some new plugins recently? Or do you use a new audiointerface?
__________________
Ultraschall-API - a Lua-functions-library4Reaper: https://forum.cockos.com/showthread....98#post2067798
Reaper Internals - Developerdocs4Reaper: https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=207635
mespotine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2019, 02:54 PM   #3
Gass n Klang
Human being with feelings
 
Gass n Klang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Detmold - Germany
Posts: 551
Default

nope. the crashes also happen when no plugin is loaded at all.
Gass n Klang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2019, 07:18 PM   #4
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,114
Default

Can you make a zip of the .rpp file(s) and reaper*.ini and instructions of what you do to trigger the crash (and email it to support at cockos dot com)? Thanks!

Edit: also worth trying: disabling all control surfaces (if that fixes, figure out which control surface is required for duplicating, etc).

Last edited by Justin; 05-08-2019 at 07:56 PM.
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2019, 10:39 AM   #5
Gass n Klang
Human being with feelings
 
Gass n Klang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Detmold - Germany
Posts: 551
Default

thanks a lot, you got mail!
Gass n Klang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2019, 10:51 AM   #6
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 10,087
Default

Thanks for sending it. If you move the CSI plugin out of the way and restart REAPER, does the problem persist?
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2019, 12:27 PM   #7
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,114
Default

I've managed to duplicate with the CSI plug-in installed. It seems that it is calling some REAPER APIs (GetSetMediaTrackInfo() and possibly others) with a stale track pointer, which is causing the crash. Should post in the CSI thread and see if Geoff can duplicate/fix.
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2019, 02:25 AM   #8
Geoff Waddington
Human being with feelings
 
Geoff Waddington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,956
Default

Please get the latest build and see if you still have problems.

The file formats have changed, so make sure to take a copy of your existing dll/dylib and CSI folder, in case you have to revert.
__________________
CSI - You can donate here: geoffwaddington.ca
Pre alpha software: https://stash.reaper.fm/v/33037/CSI%20pre%20alpha.zip
Reaper forum thread: https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=183143
Geoff Waddington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2019, 04:11 AM   #9
Gass n Klang
Human being with feelings
 
Gass n Klang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Detmold - Germany
Posts: 551
Default

thanks a lot. I'm not at home at the moment but after installing (without setting up my configuration) it's stable.
Gass n Klang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2019, 12:27 PM   #10
BlackHouse
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Monterrey, México
Posts: 7
Default

Hi, I had the same issue, trying to load another project with CSI enabled, turned into my reaper abruptly closing. This caused my ASIO drivers to stop working and a pc restart was required every time this happened.

I ended with a shortcut, since CSI is still in development, I changed reaper options to not open a session when starting, but a window asking for what to open (new session, old session or last session/sessions) this way, somehow, the plug-in doesn't crash reaper when loading. And when I need to open another session, I go to File->New project tab; Then I load my session (if desired) or star working in that new session, this way reaper doesn't crash anymore.

Hope this help you!
BlackHouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2019, 09:21 AM   #11
Gass n Klang
Human being with feelings
 
Gass n Klang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Detmold - Germany
Posts: 551
Default

Thanks guys. I've got new crashes. Now they seem to be related to different plugins (fabfilter):


reaper.exe
5.9.7.8
5cd5fd60
FabFilter Saturn.vst3
1.2.0.17
5c88d005
c0000005
0000000000084c65
136c
01d510b1f14640e2
C:\Musiksoftware\DAWs\REAPER\reaper.exe
C:\Program Files\Common Files\VST3\FabFilter Saturn.vst3
cc103a10-41da-408b-9f83-c714ea869c52

what to do?
Gass n Klang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2019, 03:23 PM   #12
skippertag
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 396
Default

Hey guys,

I'm also facing real bad crashes as of yesterday...

I created a new project template...all good...that one opens seamlessly.

But all my older projects crash REAPER which gets stuck and then takes ages to end the task in the taskmanager...

That seems to be happening after I tried to render an audio take with some plugins...

Also, when I open the projects without plugins in save mode that happens...

Where can I find the crashlog?
skippertag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2019, 03:46 PM   #13
skippertag
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 396
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skippertag View Post
Hey guys,

I'm also facing real bad crashes as of yesterday...

I created a new project template...all good...that one opens seamlessly.

But all my older projects crash REAPER which gets stuck and then takes ages to end the task in the taskmanager...

That seems to be happening after I tried to render an audio take with some plugins...

Also, when I open the projects without plugins in save mode that happens...

Where can I find the crashlog?
The bug maybe within the SampleRate Settings...I change my system to 24bit 48000 from 24bit 44100 and I believe the old projects to have set 44100 in the project settings (Alt+Enter). Does that make sense?

I urgently need my old projects back....
skippertag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2019, 10:17 AM   #14
Gass n Klang
Human being with feelings
 
Gass n Klang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Detmold - Germany
Posts: 551
Default next crashes...

reaper.exe
5.9.7.8
5cd5fd60
bx_stereomaker.vst3
1.7.0.0
5af1f970
c000041d
00000000000c8359
2d20
01d526b87c85b2c8
C:\Musiksoftware\DAWs\REAPER\reaper.exe
C:\Program Files\Common Files\VST3\bx_stereomaker.vst3
fde0726d-1158-4e91-a12f-d62206247b4a
Gass n Klang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2019, 07:20 AM   #15
Infrabass
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 101
Default

Hi guys! I also experience a lot of crashes since the last 2 updates.
With and without any plugins.
I also sometimes experienced the hang out issue and had to force quit Reaper.
It's really hard to find a link between each crash.

I'm on OSX 10.14.5
Reaper 5.97.900

If I can help tell me!
Infrabass is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.