Old 05-03-2019, 09:01 AM   #1
mabian
Human being with feelings
 
mabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Italy
Posts: 3,588
Default v5.976+dev0503 - May 3 2019

v5.976+dev0503 - May 3 2019
  • + Bounce: add action to bounce using most recent settings
  • + Bounce: add option to silently increment recorded filename
  • + Notation editor: when setting custom notehead for a given pitch, also reset previously customized noteheads at that pitch
  • # MIDI editor: draw selected CC events more prominently
This thread is for pre-release features discussion. Use the Feature Requests forum for other requests.

Changelog - Pre-Releases

Generated by X-Raym's REAPER ChangeLog to BBCode
__________________
My DAW: Intel i7700k @4.2GHz / 16GB RAM / RME Fireface UC / 250GB SSD / 2x2TB HD / Win10x64
My Music: http://www.reverbnation.com/errepici - http://www.errepici.it/web/contents.asp?sec=4
mabian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2019, 09:27 AM   #2
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 22,938
Default

schwa - CCs are now looking pretty much great/perfect.

However my mouse modifier issue is still there unfortunately
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2019, 09:29 AM   #3
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 22,938
Default

By the way, this happens when you enable dark mode in Windows 10:



Will try to catch other dialogs where this might happen. I also noticed it happening in LICEcap's save dialog.
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2019, 09:57 AM   #4
Fabian
Human being with feelings
 
Fabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 5,296
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mabian View Post
v5.976+dev0503 - May 3 2019
  • + Bounce: add action to bounce using most recent settings
  • + Bounce: add option to silently increment recorded filename
<snip>
There is an issue with bouncing (Save live output to disk) if the path for the filename contains a non-existing folder. Then an error message is given "Error writing output".

When rendering this works, if a path contains a non-existent folder, then that folder is created and the render is written into it. But this does not work the same way for bounce. And as default, bounce seems to use the path and filename set on the render dialog, so...

I did not check this for the v5.976+dev0503 version, but it is this way for the v5.976/x64 version I just now installed a portable version of on W7x64.
__________________
// MVHMF
I never always did the right thing, but all I did wasn't wrong...
Fabian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2019, 10:00 AM   #5
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 10,078
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fabian View Post
I did not check this for the v5.976+dev0503 version
Pretty sure this works correctly in dev0503...
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2019, 11:29 AM   #6
mccrabney
Human being with feelings
 
mccrabney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Nawtonomy, Alabamistan
Posts: 1,855
Default

some unpredictable behavior here with "snap notes/cc to grid" on:



the cc point isn't immediately drawn at grid division closest to mouse click (expected) and instead appears somewhere down the line as you click and drag

btw, licecap's "show mouseclick" option doesn't work very well on dark backgrounds. if it were red, or bright green, you could see when users are clicking a little more clearly -- that'd be useful here
__________________
° striving for a loop-based, controller-centric midi recording/editing workflow.
° desiring to control all quantise parameters from control surface.
° using REAPER to make modern sample-based beat music
mccrabney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2019, 02:20 PM   #7
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 2,345
Default

Confirmed, same here.

BTW, the selected CCs look great, but not too sure about the unselected ones.
They seem very blurry to me:




EDIT: just a thought here: could the dots and lines be opaque and only the curve below transparent? I guess this would solve it.
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub | Stephan Römer - film composer
If you wish to donate for my scripts: please consider an organization like: animal shelter, doctors without borders, UNICEF, etc...

Last edited by _Stevie_; 05-03-2019 at 02:57 PM.
_Stevie_ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2019, 03:30 PM   #8
ovnis
Human being with feelings
 
ovnis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1,311
Default

Randomly, I can't move point or create point inside an unactive MIDI item.
ovnis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2019, 04:08 PM   #9
Tod
Human being with feelings
 
Tod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Just outside of Glacier National Park
Posts: 12,481
Default

I can say this, drawing the little lolipops is so much smoother and nicer then the old events. I kind of feel I got a big weight lifted off my shoulders.
__________________
Kontakt Vid Tutorials->Create Outputs / Create Templates -|- SMDrums Free drums -|- Elk Video Productions -|- Tod's Music
Tod is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2019, 04:18 PM   #10
Tod
Human being with feelings
 
Tod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Just outside of Glacier National Park
Posts: 12,481
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _Stevie_ View Post
Confirmed, same here.

BTW, the selected CCs look great, but not too sure about the unselected ones.
They seem very blurry to me:




EDIT: just a thought here: could the dots and lines be opaque and only the curve below transparent? I guess this would solve it.
Hi Stevie, with the Reaper 5 theme, mine don't look like that. All the nodes or lolipops look the same except the selected are just a darker color.

Or maybe I'm missing the point.
__________________
Kontakt Vid Tutorials->Create Outputs / Create Templates -|- SMDrums Free drums -|- Elk Video Productions -|- Tod's Music
Tod is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2019, 04:52 PM   #11
tusitala
Human being with feelings
 
tusitala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: London (UK)
Posts: 352
Default

Hi all,
Sorry I've been away from Reaper for quite a while and missed this.

How can I see CCs as in the pictures you're posting here?

I updated to the latest version of Reaper, but my CCs still show up as usual, with the bars.


Thanks!
Best
-t
__________________
MacOS 10.14.5
UA Apollo Twin
tusitala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2019, 04:56 PM   #12
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,741
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tusitala View Post
I updated to the latest version of Reaper, but my CCs still show up as usual, with the bars.
-t
It's not an official release, it's a pre-release (dev build). You can download it from landoleet.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
Make a thread "F%#! you Reaper! I quit!" to get more views and feedback since these kind of threads get much more traction
SoundCloudFR: True Non-destructive GLUEAll the REAPER names
vitalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2019, 05:34 PM   #13
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 2,345
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tod View Post
Hi Stevie, with the Reaper 5 theme, mine don't look like that. All the nodes or lolipops look the same except the selected are just a darker color.

Or maybe I'm missing the point.
Yes, just tried that. Apparently the CCs look better on themes with a brighter background. I really think that applying solid colors to the dots and lines would solve this.


Another thing: in the velocity lane, the mouse cursor disappears, when hovering over the events:

__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub | Stephan Römer - film composer
If you wish to donate for my scripts: please consider an organization like: animal shelter, doctors without borders, UNICEF, etc...
_Stevie_ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2019, 06:07 PM   #14
Tod
Human being with feelings
 
Tod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Just outside of Glacier National Park
Posts: 12,481
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _Stevie_ View Post
Yes, just tried that. Apparently the CCs look better on themes with a brighter background. I really think that applying solid colors to the dots and lines would solve this.


Another thing: in the velocity lane, the mouse cursor disappears, when hovering over the events:

Hi again Stevie, here again it must be theme specific, I don't have any disappearing mouse cursors with either my old Reaper 3 or the Reaper 5 default themes.
__________________
Kontakt Vid Tutorials->Create Outputs / Create Templates -|- SMDrums Free drums -|- Elk Video Productions -|- Tod's Music
Tod is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2019, 06:14 PM   #15
Tod
Human being with feelings
 
Tod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Just outside of Glacier National Park
Posts: 12,481
Default

This might be a little bit too much to ask for, but I'd like to be able to select a note and it's velocity by selecting it's handle in the velocity lane.

That could save some needless scrolling.
__________________
Kontakt Vid Tutorials->Create Outputs / Create Templates -|- SMDrums Free drums -|- Elk Video Productions -|- Tod's Music
Tod is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2019, 06:16 PM   #16
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 2,345
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tod View Post
Hi again Stevie, here again it must be theme specific, I don't have any disappearing mouse cursors with either my old Reaper 3 or the Reaper 5 default themes.
I got the same issue with the Default 5.0, though.
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub | Stephan Römer - film composer
If you wish to donate for my scripts: please consider an organization like: animal shelter, doctors without borders, UNICEF, etc...
_Stevie_ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2019, 06:32 PM   #17
tusitala
Human being with feelings
 
tusitala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: London (UK)
Posts: 352
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vitalker View Post
It's not an official release, it's a pre-release (dev build). You can download it from landoleet.
Thanks!!!
__________________
MacOS 10.14.5
UA Apollo Twin
tusitala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2019, 07:18 PM   #18
Tod
Human being with feelings
 
Tod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Just outside of Glacier National Park
Posts: 12,481
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _Stevie_ View Post
I got the same issue with the Default 5.0, though.
Heh heh, could it be in the quagmire of settings.

I wouldn't have a clue where to look.
__________________
Kontakt Vid Tutorials->Create Outputs / Create Templates -|- SMDrums Free drums -|- Elk Video Productions -|- Tod's Music
Tod is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2019, 07:35 PM   #19
Tod
Human being with feelings
 
Tod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Just outside of Glacier National Park
Posts: 12,481
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tod View Post
This might be a little bit too much to ask for, but I'd like to be able to select a note and it's velocity by selecting it's handle in the velocity lane.

That could save some needless scrolling.
Well that was a foolish request, we can already select them by just clicking on the handles.
__________________
Kontakt Vid Tutorials->Create Outputs / Create Templates -|- SMDrums Free drums -|- Elk Video Productions -|- Tod's Music
Tod is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2019, 02:12 AM   #20
Soli Deo Gloria
Human being with feelings
 
Soli Deo Gloria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Posts: 884
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _Stevie_ View Post
Confirmed, same here.

BTW, the selected CCs look great, but not too sure about the unselected ones.
They seem very blurry to me:




EDIT: just a thought here: could the dots and lines be opaque and only the curve below transparent? I guess this would solve it.

Well, while I agree that it is indeed an improvement in visual terms (thanks for that, Schwa!), now that I see it implemented I think that Stevie is right in his appreciations. Broadly speaking, CCs seem rather too blurred, specially with dark themes.

Take a look at this (dev0503) :

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1LC...lYMgBrWyYIAKkO


And now, compare it with this, with a far zoom (official v5.976 release, with bars) :

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1Vn...08oBdomsYIEHcr


And even with this (official release, closer zoom) :

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1p6...ib0iKEwxwd1JRz


Now, sorry, but I insist : bars are still way clearer to the eye when selected. I acknowledge that bars are pretty dark when viewed with a far zoom in a dark brackground (always speaking about Reaper´s default color map), but as far as selection visibility goes, we´re not there yet.

To summarize, in my opinion (as I explained thoroughly in another thread, https://forum.cockos.com/showpost.php?p=2129325&postcount=76 ), unselected CC nodes should be generally brighter, and selected ones should have the same color as selected velocities, which are perfectly clear now with the default color map. Besides, remember that bars always behaved like that :


https://drive.google.com/open?id=1Zw...QpX-g_cXbOU-8z


Apart from that, the highlighted surface beneath selected nodes can be dimmer, as it is now in this dev release.

While this is my opinion, I think the images in the links above will support my statements.

Last edited by Soli Deo Gloria; 05-04-2019 at 02:27 AM.
Soli Deo Gloria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2019, 02:25 AM   #21
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 22,938
Default

Unselected areas of bars are pretty much invisible in your second pic due to dark theme. Sorry but I like the current display method much better than bars - it just needs some more color tweaks.

Plus don't forget that this is the biggest visual benefit of NOT doing it with bars:

EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2019, 02:29 AM   #22
Soli Deo Gloria
Human being with feelings
 
Soli Deo Gloria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Posts: 884
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
Unselected areas of bars are pretty much invisible in your second due to dark theme. Sorry but I like the current display method much better.

Plus don't forget that this is the biggest visual benefit of NOT doing it with bars:


Yes, I acknowledged that in my post if you read it carefully, and I also imply it should be improved when I say that unselected CC nodes should be generally brighter
Soli Deo Gloria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2019, 02:30 AM   #23
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 22,938
Default

Yep, just needs a bit more tweaking, then we can all forget about bars
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2019, 02:33 AM   #24
Soli Deo Gloria
Human being with feelings
 
Soli Deo Gloria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Posts: 884
Default

Exactly, and with those tweaks, I have to say that I´m liking very much the direction this is taking. Busy, multichannel lanes vastly benefit from this concept, as your image show.
Soli Deo Gloria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2019, 03:16 AM   #25
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 2,345
Default

Yep, it's really just some minor tweaks, then we are there!
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub | Stephan Römer - film composer
If you wish to donate for my scripts: please consider an organization like: animal shelter, doctors without borders, UNICEF, etc...
_Stevie_ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2019, 03:45 AM   #26
todd_r
Human being with feelings
 
todd_r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 547
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
By the way, this happens when you enable dark mode in Windows 10:



Will try to catch other dialogs where this might happen. I also noticed it happening in LICEcap's save dialog.
I've switched to dark mode, but still get light coloured dialogue boxes. Is there anything else you have to do?
todd_r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2019, 04:01 AM   #27
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 22,938
Default

I think Cockos would need to make those dialogs follow the dark mode property, or something. Not sure why some dialogs get darker and some others aren't.
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2019, 04:52 AM   #28
todd_r
Human being with feelings
 
todd_r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 547
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
I think Cockos would need to make those dialogs follow the dark mode property, or something. Not sure why some dialogs get darker and some others aren't.
Odd, I dont get any dark at all
todd_r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2019, 04:59 AM   #29
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 22,938
Default

Depends on colormap.
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2019, 05:05 AM   #30
todd_r
Human being with feelings
 
todd_r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 547
Default

Aah. Looks like it's because the 1809 windows update is blocked on my laptop.
todd_r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2019, 05:05 AM   #31
lb0
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 3,040
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by todd_r View Post
I've switched to dark mode, but still get light coloured dialogue boxes. Is there anything else you have to do?
Between my systems I noticed the same thing - one was not dark at all - and on another it was - yet both computers were set to windows dark theme.

This all light themed dialog is a windows issue and not Reaper.

Took me a bit of googling to fix it. Sorry I cannot remember off of the top of my head exactly what you need to do - but it did require a bit of registry tinkering to get it all to work properly.

EDIT: This was in my history - so might be a place to start:

https://www.guidingtech.com/windows-...file-explorer/
__________________
Projects - Reascripts - Lua:
LBX Stripper | LBX Chaos Engine | LBX Floating FX Positioner | LBX SRD Smart Knobs
Donate via Paypal

Last edited by lb0; 05-04-2019 at 05:15 AM.
lb0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2019, 06:04 AM   #32
Soli Deo Gloria
Human being with feelings
 
Soli Deo Gloria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Posts: 884
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soli Deo Gloria View Post
...unselected CC nodes should be generally brighter, and selected ones should have the same color as selected velocities, which are perfectly clear now with the default color map. Besides, remember that bars always behaved like that :


https://drive.google.com/open?id=1Zw...QpX-g_cXbOU-8z


Apart from that, the highlighted surface beneath selected nodes can be dimmer, as it is now in this dev release.

Hmm, one thing to add regarding event colors in general : I switched to the default theme and noticed that the bright color that works great in a dark theme is poorly seen with the default, light theme. While I don´t use it at all (I can only work with dark themes, really), I think there should be an option to have at least a native color map for light themes (with selected events highlighted in a sharp, dark fashion) and another one for dark themes (with a general brighter tone and all selected events highlighted in the same bright way as velocities are highlighted now in the default color map).

And, of course, if there could be options in the color customization menu to change the gradation of selected and unselected events (notes, velocities, ccs, etc.) as we have available with many sections of the program, THAT would be really useful and would allow the user to work comfortably in any context. But maybe it is too much to ask for, I know...

Last edited by Soli Deo Gloria; 05-04-2019 at 06:13 AM.
Soli Deo Gloria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2019, 06:17 AM   #33
juliansader
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,576
Default

I look forward to updating my MIDI scripts to work with the new automation CCs. Currently, MIDI_Get/SetAllEvts doesn't work with Bézier tension, but I would suggest that the tension can simply be included as part of each CC's "msg", as a 4- or 8-byte string with a packed float or double.

The msg of a standard CC such as Modwheel would therefore consist of 7 bytes: string.pack("BBBf", statusByte, dataByte1, dataByte2, tension).
juliansader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2019, 06:27 AM   #34
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 22,938
Default

Well, in this dev cycle we only have square points, no other shapes, like we had in the first iteration of the feature... It might be a while before the curves reappear.
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2019, 09:37 AM   #35
Tod
Human being with feelings
 
Tod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Just outside of Glacier National Park
Posts: 12,481
Default

when selecting adjacent velocities that have the same velocity, it should select the closest preceding velocity, not the first.


__________________
Kontakt Vid Tutorials->Create Outputs / Create Templates -|- SMDrums Free drums -|- Elk Video Productions -|- Tod's Music
Tod is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2019, 09:59 AM   #36
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,741
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tod View Post
when selecting adjacent velocities that have the same velocity, it should select the closest preceding velocity, not the first.
Fair enough!
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
Make a thread "F%#! you Reaper! I quit!" to get more views and feedback since these kind of threads get much more traction
SoundCloudFR: True Non-destructive GLUEAll the REAPER names
vitalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2019, 10:40 AM   #37
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 22,938
Default

In this case it takes the longest, not the first, right?
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2019, 10:43 AM   #38
ovnis
Human being with feelings
 
ovnis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1,311
Default

For more consistency with automation envelope, is it possible not to allow dots crossing?


Last edited by ovnis; 05-04-2019 at 12:08 PM.
ovnis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2019, 10:51 AM   #39
Tod
Human being with feelings
 
Tod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Just outside of Glacier National Park
Posts: 12,481
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
In this case it takes the longest, not the first, right?
Your're mostly right ED, however if you click just ahead of the longest it will still select the one before it. However, it appears that if you click beyond the velocity to the right it will then select the longest.

__________________
Kontakt Vid Tutorials->Create Outputs / Create Templates -|- SMDrums Free drums -|- Elk Video Productions -|- Tod's Music
Tod is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2019, 10:53 AM   #40
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,741
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
In this case it takes the longest, not the first, right?
In this cae the first note is the longest one
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
Make a thread "F%#! you Reaper! I quit!" to get more views and feedback since these kind of threads get much more traction
SoundCloudFR: True Non-destructive GLUEAll the REAPER names
vitalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.