Old 05-17-2019, 05:45 AM   #1
BlessedOne72
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 277
Default Full Band Recording to a Click

The situation is this ...

In the near future our collective is about to be recording some material .
Big boys have told me, that the click track should only be audible to the drummer ;
The rest of The Combo will anchor / click to the drummer .

We'll be tracking with headphone's on,
through a TASCAM US-16x08 to a Behringer Powerplay Pro-XL HA4700 .

How do I set up the click track output designations in REAPER as well as on the TASCAM ?

- BOne -
BlessedOne72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2019, 06:41 AM   #2
Coachz
Human being with feelings
 
Coachz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 6,763
Default

In the metronome in Reaper you can click the io button at the top and Route The Click out to some separate channels. For example let's say your Reaper Master track IO goes out channels 1 and 2 to your main speakers. Then you create a another track called HP headphone mix that has all of your top level folders routing to it and it's IO goes out on channels 3 and 4.

Then to have an independent click just for the drummer you would take the io from the metronome and Route it out on channels 5 and 6. Also send top level folders to 5 and 6. You take the outputs of your Tascam on channels 3 and 4 and run that to your power play so everyone gets that headphone mix except the drummer.

The problem is the PowerPlay seems to only have one left and right input so everyone will get the same headphone mix. You could pick up another little headphone amp like a PreSonus HP4 or if you have high-end headphones something with a lower impedance ability and then take the channels from The Click which are channels 5 and 6 and Route those to it and those headphones go to the drummer. This way The click is only sent to the drummer with the HP mix.
Coachz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2019, 04:09 AM   #3
BlessedOne72
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 277
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Coachz View Post
In the metronome in Reaper you can click the io button at the top and Route The Click out to some separate channels. For example let's say your Reaper Master track IO goes out channels 1 and 2 to your main speakers. Then you create a another track called HP headphone mix that has all of your top level folders routing to it and it's IO goes out on channels 3 and 4.

Then to have an independent click just for the drummer you would take the io from the metronome and Route it out on channels 5 and 6. Also send top level folders to 5 and 6. You take the outputs of your Tascam on channels 3 and 4 and run that to your power play so everyone gets that headphone mix except the drummer.

The problem is the PowerPlay seems to only have one left and right input so everyone will get the same headphone mix. You could pick up another little headphone amp like a PreSonus HP4 or if you have high-end headphones something with a lower impedance ability and then take the channels from The Click which are channels 5 and 6 and Route those to it and those headphones go to the drummer. This way The click is only sent to the drummer with the HP mix.
What about this Behringer Product ;

https://www.thomann.de/gb/behringer_miniamp_amp_800.htm

Compact 9.5 headphone amplifier for studio and live use
4 independent stereo amplifiers
Highest sound quality with virtually all headphones, even at maximum volume
Volume control with 6-digit LED output meter display per channel for precise level control
2 balanced stereo inputs with independent level and balance controls that allow for individual mixes
Separately switchable on all 4 channels
6-digit LED input level meter for precise level indication of both line inputs
2 headphone outputs per channel on the front and rear side allow simultaneous connection of 8 headphones
Several headphone amplifiers can be connected via the parallel link output
Extremely low-noise operational amplifier system for an excellent sound quality
All models from the Mini Series can be stacked on top of one each other to create an ultra-compact signal processor solution

Would it be suitable ?

- BOne -
BlessedOne72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2019, 06:45 AM   #4
Coachz
Human being with feelings
 
Coachz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 6,763
Default

Check your headphone impedance. I have Shure SRH840s with Impedance: 44 Ω

This Behringer says min 100 Ω so with my headphones the bass would suck. I'm using a used Rane HC6 that I got for $75 bucks that works great. Just make sure your headphone impedance is above 100 Ω if you are using this Behringer.

Manual https://static.bhphotovideo.com/lit_files/84868.pdf

I don't own any Behringer and try not to buy any because I still perceive them as cheap junk. I have heard that some of their products are good quality but I have no idea which ones. I bought the Rane because I know it's good quality. I just sold my Presonus HP4 because it was unable to drive low impedance headphones too.

What headphones are you using ?
Coachz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2019, 08:06 AM   #5
BlessedOne72
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 277
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Coachz View Post
Check your headphone impedance. I have Shure SRH840s with Impedance: 44 Ω

This Behringer says min 100 Ω so with my headphones the bass would suck. I'm using a used Rane HC6 that I got for $75 bucks that works great. Just make sure your headphone impedance is above 100 Ω if you are using this Behringer.

Manual https://static.bhphotovideo.com/lit_files/84868.pdf

I don't own any Behringer and try not to buy any because I still perceive them as cheap junk. I have heard that some of their products are good quality but I have no idea which ones. I bought the Rane because I know it's good quality. I just sold my Presonus HP4 because it was unable to drive low impedance headphones too.

What headphones are you using ?
I'm using Superlux HD681Bs ...

Are they good for this ?
Sure they sound good for me for the price of 20EUR, that's why I've bought several of those throughout last years (:
BlessedOne72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2019, 08:09 AM   #6
vdubreeze
Human being with feelings
 
vdubreeze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Brooklyn
Posts: 1,682
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Coachz View Post
In the metronome in Reaper you can click the io button at the top and Route The Click out to some separate channels. For example let's say your Reaper Master track IO goes out channels 1 and 2 to your main speakers. Then you create a another track called HP headphone mix that has all of your top level folders routing to it and it's IO goes out on channels 3 and 4.

Then to have an independent click just for the drummer you would take the io from the metronome and Route it out on channels 5 and 6. Also send top level folders to 5 and 6. You take the outputs of your Tascam on channels 3 and 4 and run that to your power play so everyone gets that headphone mix except the drummer.

The problem is the PowerPlay seems to only have one left and right input so everyone will get the same headphone mix. You could pick up another little headphone amp like a PreSonus HP4 or if you have high-end headphones something with a lower impedance ability and then take the channels from The Click which are channels 5 and 6 and Route those to it and those headphones go to the drummer. This way The click is only sent to the drummer with the HP mix.
What Coach said. Except (and I only know this from looking it up just now) that the 4700 does have aux ins aside from the main L&R inputs on each channel, so it looks like you could take the click out of any separate output of the Tascam (pick any aside from the main outs) and run it into this aux one the drummer's headphone channel.

https://www.behringer.com//Categorie...oogtrans(en|en)
__________________
The reason rain dances work is because they don't stop dancing until it rains.
vdubreeze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2019, 08:47 AM   #7
Coachz
Human being with feelings
 
Coachz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 6,763
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vdubreeze View Post
What Coach said. Except (and I only know this from looking it up just now) that the 4700 does have aux ins aside from the main L&R inputs on each channel, so it looks like you could take the click out of any separate output of the Tascam (pick any aside from the main outs) and run it into this aux one the drummer's headphone channel.

https://www.behringer.com//Categorie...oogtrans(en|en)
Cool. If that's the case then you're golden As You Are. The specs for your headphones say they are 32 ohms so you would want something that can drive that low-level impedance if you need to buy something but it sounds like you don't
Coachz is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.