Old 05-17-2019, 02:36 PM   #1
jerryteacup
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 19
Default "Loading Project" - stuck even in recovery mode

Reaper v5.978/x64 rev 4d396c (Installed in the default path)
Windows 10 Home 1809 17763.503

So... I've got some old projects I'd like to open, BUT, they won't. Instead, Reaper freezes until I use the Task Manager to close it.

I've tried "Open with FX offline (recovery mode)". Same result.

I uninstalled Reaper and cleaned all traces of it from the registry. Then reinstalled (default path) and tried again. Still no luck.

Oddly enough... I installed it again, this time a portable version on another location. Now the project opened.

Any idea why it behaves like this? Any suggested steps?
jerryteacup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2019, 06:27 PM   #2
foxAsteria
Human being with feelings
 
foxAsteria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Axis Mundi
Posts: 6,252
Default

You can open the project file in a text editor and see if anything is obviously wrong. Not an ideal solution, so hopefully someone else has a better one.

How much time are you giving it to open? Some projects can take several minutes to load. If you get close to maxing out the RAM on your system, the process could be even longer or not be able to complete.

Even if you install Reaper to a different path it still uses the settings from your user folder. Portable installs keep those settings in the install folder and uninstall doesn't touch it. So your config is borked it sounds like and you might as well just delete the whole thing and start fresh. There's an action to open the resources folder under Project menu.
__________________
TwilightMysterySchool
foxAsteria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2019, 12:10 PM   #3
alphoc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 19
Default

I can not open last project. But how to use recovery mode ?
alphoc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2019, 12:30 PM   #4
foxAsteria
Human being with feelings
 
foxAsteria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Axis Mundi
Posts: 6,252
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by alphoc View Post
I can not open last project. But how to use recovery mode ?
search reaper in your start menu. I think you can also hold shift while launching the normal shortcut, but not sure.
__________________
TwilightMysterySchool
foxAsteria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2019, 03:42 PM   #5
darjama
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 319
Default

I noticed that I get stuck at "Loading Project" if there is a sample rate change. Is that possibly the case? Try opening "Reaper Create New Project" then change your sample rate to the file you are trying to open before opening your file.
darjama is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.