Old 05-21-2019, 11:27 AM   #1
davshev
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 8
Default Kontakt crashing computer and Reaper

I don't know if this is a Reaper issue per se, but I've been having issues with Kontakt crashing Reaper and sometimes my Mac Pro. It began when I started using Fable Sounds Broadway Lites in Kontakt.
davshev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2019, 02:05 PM   #2
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 7,109
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by davshev View Post
Kontakt crashing Reaper
Exactly how ?

-Michael
__________________
www.boa-sorte.de
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2019, 04:16 PM   #3
Tod
Human being with feelings
 
Tod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Just outside of Glacier National Park
Posts: 12,484
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by davshev View Post
I don't know if this is a Reaper issue per se, but I've been having issues with Kontakt crashing Reaper and sometimes my Mac Pro. It began when I started using Fable Sounds Broadway Lites in Kontakt.
Reaper does have a problem with Kontakt. For me it happens when I've got Kontakt open and I'm working between the midi editor and Kontakt.

When I'm working on an all day project, Reaper will usually "Stop Working" at least once, sometimes 3 or 4 times.

I've set my Reaper backups for 10 minutes for this reason and I'm getting by pretty well.
__________________
Kontakt Vid Tutorials->Create Outputs / Create Templates -|- SMDrums Free drums -|- Elk Video Productions -|- Tod's Music
Tod is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2019, 05:22 PM   #4
Bill_T
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 38
Default

I get crashes in both Reaper and Cubase 10 Pro when I go between making the screen for any Kontakt instance visible/not-visible more than a few times per session. It's a sudden hard crash, the DAW just disappears without comment.

For me it's best not to locate those Kontakt screens by flashing them off and on. Using Kontakt 5.8.1 (R43) and Win10 on a biggish i9 system, drivers etc up to date. I've been blaming my old GTX 760 video card, but who knows...
Bill_T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2019, 09:41 PM   #5
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 7,109
Default

NI support is astonishingly responsive and seems eager to solve the problem, but no update or decent analysis of the problem yet.
-Michael
__________________
www.boa-sorte.de
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2019, 10:04 PM   #6
cutnpaste
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 265
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mschnell View Post
NI support is astonishingly responsive and seems eager to solve the problem, but no update or decent analysis of the problem yet.
-Michael

No reason for them to be responsive people buy the product even if it is crap.
cutnpaste is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2019, 07:40 AM   #7
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 7,109
Default

I've been very happy with their v6.0.x. It 's just the 6.1.x that does not work decently for me.

I would not call this "crap"

-Michael
__________________
www.boa-sorte.de
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.