Old 05-22-2019, 12:31 PM   #1
PeterenZout
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 4
Default Edit feature!

Hi, I´m pretty new to Reaper. I´m a long time Samplitude user, but turned to Reaper a few months ago. And I love it! Great workflow and features.

But samplitude has some great edit features too, and I was wondering if some of them are possible in Reaper as well.
One of the nicest things in Samplitude is the ´EDIT ROOT VIP`. VIP in Samplitude is what RPP is in Reaper.

In Samplitude this is what happens:
When you are working on a mastering session with mixes that you did yourself, and you notice something in a song, you could easily select the ´object´, which is ´item´ in Reaper, and your multi track mix opens in a new tab. You can make some changes, close the multi track mix and voila, the mix in your mastering session instantly changes to the new mix with the changes.
It's very handy and time saving.

Is this possible in Reaper?

cheers, Peter
PeterenZout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2019, 12:42 PM   #2
EpicSounds
Human being with feelings
 
EpicSounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5,450
Default

sounds like a subproject.
__________________
REAPER Video Tutorials, Tips & Tricks and more at The REAPER Blog
EpicSounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2019, 12:48 PM   #3
Neutronic
Human being with feelings
 
Neutronic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 312
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterenZout View Post
Is this possible in Reaper?
Hi Peter and welcome to the forum!
What you are talking about is called subprojects in REAPER. In a nutshell, as soon as you import a project onto a track of another project the first one becomes a subproject. Then you simply double click it, as you do in Samplitude, and it opens in another tab for editing.
Neutronic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2019, 01:48 PM   #4
PeterenZout
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 4
Default

Ah, a different approach.
From what I understand is that I can make a subproject, for mastering an album, by inserting a mediafile and select a project file from a folder. The project opens and instantly renders a file.
As shown here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bDBpP-tvTeM

Samplitude works with a root project. So every bounce I make from that project is rooted to that project. So if I open that bounced file in another project, it still has roots with the original project.

Is Reaper working the same way if you use subprojects?
PeterenZout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2019, 02:25 PM   #5
PeterenZout
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 4
Default

Reaper just answered my question. I got it all working now.
It's a different appraoch, but works great.
Thanks for the input!

cheers, Peter
PeterenZout is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.