Old 01-15-2019, 09:11 AM   #1
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 17,695
Default MIDI Editor and tempo changes [Resolved: user error]

Here's a oddity (I've used extreme tempos to make it clearer):

>> https://i.imgur.com/efBk9Et.png

The first track has a quarter note clip at 240 bpm and an eighth note clip at 120 bpm; the length of each note (in ms) is the same, as expected.

The second track shows them glued together and the third track shows the glued clip in the in-line MIDI Editor; both take into account the tempo change.

Below that is the glued clip in the MIIi Editor - you'll see there that the 8th notes are represented at the initial tempo. It looks like the tempo change at bar 8 is not taken into account.
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. . . . Inspired by ...

Last edited by DarkStar; 01-17-2019 at 04:03 AM.
DarkStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2019, 03:03 AM   #2
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 17,695
Default

Can anyone confirm this (the principle, anyway)?
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. . . . Inspired by ...
DarkStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2019, 03:13 AM   #3
cfillion
Human being with feelings
 
cfillion's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 2,464
Default

The MIDI editor beat spacing is configured by the selected piano roll timebase (in the ME's View menu). Setting it to "Project time" makes the MIDI editor scale beats according to the tempo as in the arrange view.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MIDI Editor timebase help
The piano roll timebase only affects how MIDI notes and CC events are displayed, not how they are played back.

Source beats:
Beats are counted from the start of the media item; the project ruler is ignored.
Only one loop iteration is displayed.
Beats are displayed evenly spaced, regardless of project tempo changes.
Project beats:
The project ruler is used.
The entire media item is displayed, with all loop iterations.
Beats are displayed evenly spaced, regardless of project tempo changes.
Project time:
The project ruler is used.
The entire media item is displayed, with all loop iterations.
Beats are spaced according to changes in the project tempo.
Project sync:
Display is identical to Project time.
The MIDI editor ruler is kept vertically aligned with the project ruler.

Last edited by cfillion; 01-17-2019 at 03:25 AM.
cfillion is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2019, 04:03 AM   #4
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 17,695
Default

AH ha - thank you. Yep, I was on "Project beats".
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. . . . Inspired by ...
DarkStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2019, 05:33 PM   #5
FnA
Human being with feelings
 
FnA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2,131
Default

In "Time" or "Sync" there is a display problem with secondary items when "Ignore Project Tempo" take property and tempo changes are involved. Blue items (lower track) are set to IPT in this gif:



edit: I see it's bad in Project Beats as well (not shown). Loop points in gif do not indicate anything of importance. Just forgot to clear them.

Last edited by FnA; 01-17-2019 at 05:42 PM.
FnA is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.