Old 11-15-2018, 07:35 AM   #1
Mbrad
Human being with feelings

Default USB3

Thanks for taking the time to read my question.

I am brand new to the recording scene am looking to learn as much as I can.

I am trialing Reaper (such great reviews) and am also thinking about an external sound card to plug in my guitar and an mic. Should I be looking for something that is USB3 or will previous versions of USB suffice? Does USB3 decrease latency or other recording issues? I've heard that USB can falter if recording for a continuous long time.

Thanks again for your time.

Mbrad
Mbrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2018, 09:17 AM   #2
ThrashJazzAssassin

For USB soundcards, USB2 is recommended. There are no advantages of USB3

https://support.focusrite.com/hc/en-...2-0-vs-USB-3-0

https://www.musicradar.com/news/usb-...udio-interface
Old 11-15-2018, 09:36 AM   #3
Mbrad

Thank you so much for the reply. I was able to find other posts using terms in the pages you suggested and they all say the same thing. Currently no advantage using USB 3 over USB 2.

Have a great day!
Old 11-20-2018, 09:40 PM   #4
Bazzbass

beware of some shonky ebay sellers referring to their soundcard as USB 2, they will flog a USB 1 device as USB 2 coz it will work on a USB 2 socket, but it ain't USB 2 and it will suck big time. Don't ask me how I know
Old 11-20-2018, 11:33 PM   #5
Mbrad

Thanks for the heads up. I was going to hit up Amazon or my local music store. I was looking at the Focusrite Scarlett Solo 2nd gen. Any thoughts? I don't need anything major, just something to get me started that's not going to frustrate me.
Old 11-21-2018, 10:33 AM   #6
DVDdoug

Quote:
I was looking at the Focusrite Scarlett Solo 2nd gen. Any thoughts? I don't need anything major, just something to get me started that's not going to frustrate me.
Focusrite makes good stuff.