Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Q&A, Tips, Tricks and Howto

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-24-2020, 06:24 AM   #1
Analog Dessert
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 6
Default New REAPER Extension for Windows for changing Font Size at normally impossible places

A Windows REAPER Extension which globally alters all the REAPER Font Sizes — in places where it’s normally impossible. Like the Font Sizes for the Media Explorer Items, Preferences, Actions, FX Browser, Stock Reaper Plugin’s, etc.

Technically, it works by intercepting the windows system calls (for REAPER only) that are used to create fonts. Then overwrites whatever REAPER is requesting with the sizes we want.

When the extension is installed with REAPER, it makes the font just slightttlllyyy bigger everywhere by default -- making things much easier thing to read, everywhere, out-of-the-box, with no additional configuration needed. Additionally, several “Actions” become available to adjust the font, font size, in case you want some stronger or classier REAPER Readers.



Never squint at your screen ever again



There are up to 4 configurable fonts you can switch between via REAPER Actions.

Webpage : https://www.analogdessert.com/downloads/reaper-readers/
Direct Download Link : https://www.analogdessert.com/app/re...ER_Readers.zip

p.s. The extension isn't perfect, sometimes there's weirdness when using the allow-list/block-list mode, but, as I get time, I'll iteratively improve and find-tune, and update things!

p.p.s. NO MACOS or LINUX SUPPORT! EVER. I'm sorry in advance! Please no requests for one. I don't use, have, or program for those operating systems! I'm so sorry Thank you!

Last edited by Analog Dessert; 10-27-2020 at 06:51 AM.
Analog Dessert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2020, 06:56 AM   #2
Coachz
Human being with feelings
 
Coachz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 9,377
Default

Thanks but no luck with default 6 theme in windows

Last edited by Coachz; 08-28-2020 at 01:04 PM.
Coachz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2020, 07:12 AM   #3
Coachz
Human being with feelings
 
Coachz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 9,377
Default

Also look at the toolbar at top. It scrambled those. I would love to see this work! Thanks for your help.
Coachz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2020, 07:30 AM   #4
Coachz
Human being with feelings
 
Coachz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 9,377
Default

That would be fantastic. Where have you been all this time? 3 posts with this kind of talent ? I hope you become a regular here and thanks in advance.
Coachz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2020, 08:48 PM   #5
Analog Dessert
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 6
Default

Hehe. Right back at cha, you seem very skilled yourself based on my lurks :O!

Also, I updated the extension to address the issues you showed me above -- thanks. I also found the extension was making some plugins' fonts look weird -- and some REAPER graphics, so I addressed that as well.

Last edited by Analog Dessert; 08-26-2020 at 09:28 PM.
Analog Dessert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2020, 12:13 AM   #6
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 20,867
Default

your site is getting blocked by my antivirus. Bitdefender.
__________________
So.... Still waiting for my Covid vaccine. *sigh* Been stuck at home since February.
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2020, 04:00 AM   #7
Coachz
Human being with feelings
 
Coachz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 9,377
Default

Can we get a version between medium and small please?
Coachz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2020, 04:31 AM   #8
akademie
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,829
Default

Yeah, it could be nice if working correctly.
Too sad it is prioritized for those "f*book" individuals
Anyway, thanks for contribution Analog Dessert.
akademie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2020, 05:36 AM   #9
Coachz
Human being with feelings
 
Coachz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 9,377
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by akademie View Post
Yeah, it could be nice if working correctly.
Too sad it is prioritized for those "f*book" individuals
Anyway, thanks for contribution Analog Dessert.
Yeah Facebook sucks and I have a dummy account with zero friends just for stuff like this. I hope he can get us a font between medium and small as I can't use it yet at 1920x1200
Coachz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2020, 09:04 AM   #10
Analog Dessert
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ivansc View Post
your site is getting blocked by my antivirus. Bitdefender.
EDIT : I reached out to BitDefender and submitted a false positive for them to review. Super weird

I also hate, and think Facebook is evil (I also only have a dummy account, in order to have a 'Page') -- it's just easy to post updates and have it seen on a place people are frequently. Thats why I say reach out to me email / pm and I'm always happy to send direct links But, I do all this shit for free, so support is nice too and makes me feel appreiciated , if people do have one.

But, alas, we are on forums and I respect the sentiments as well, so here's a direct link : http://analogdessert.com/app/reaper/...Readers_V2.zip

Last edited by Analog Dessert; 08-27-2020 at 10:55 PM.
Analog Dessert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2020, 09:14 AM   #11
Coachz
Human being with feelings
 
Coachz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 9,377
Default

Analog Dessert is the hero we need ! YAY !
Coachz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2020, 09:36 AM   #12
serr
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 9,544
Default

I wouldn't mind larger text in the start/stop/total time fields in the transport. This isn't adjustable in OSX either. I'm going to suggest this isn't a Windows faux pas to work around but more a Reaper limitation. A Reaper action to do that within Reaper would be most welcome!

Or if I'm simply overlooking a preference setting to play with, that would be a fine answer too!
serr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2020, 05:13 AM   #13
Coachz
Human being with feelings
 
Coachz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 9,377
Default

Coachz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2020, 06:14 AM   #14
akademie
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,829
Default

Direct download link still does not work, as I already wrote you in PM.

EDIT:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Analog Dessert View Post
...<snip>
p.s. I must have hotlink protection on my website -- right click the direct download URL above, copy to clipboard, paste in a new browser tab/window
!
<snip>...
Yes, copy/paste download link to new tab worked

Last edited by akademie; 08-28-2020 at 10:35 AM. Reason: edit
akademie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2020, 06:37 AM   #15
Coachz
Human being with feelings
 
Coachz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 9,377
Default

Hang tight. New version is coming soon and is super nice.
Coachz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2020, 06:27 AM   #16
Ampa
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 25
Default

Hi Analog Desert,

Firstly, thanks for tackling the tiny fonts issue.

I have downloaded and installed your plugin and the actions show in the action list, but have no effect.

Windows 10 with the default Reaper 6 theme.

Is V2 the latest version? Or is there a newer version as alluded to by Coachz?
Ampa is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2020, 06:50 AM   #17
Coachz
Human being with feelings
 
Coachz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 9,377
Default

He's working on the new version but doesn't have it yet. Hopefully very very soon as it works great in my Windows 10
Coachz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2020, 04:51 PM   #18
Coachz
Human being with feelings
 
Coachz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 9,377
Default

I was hoping for a quick turnaround as what I tested is very close but Analog Dessert has gone radio silent. I hope he is ok.
Coachz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2020, 07:57 AM   #19
Ampa
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 25
Default

Yep, I too hope everything is OK with Analog Desert.

Fingers crossed that life just got busy, and that one day Reaper Reader will be continued... my eyes would certainly appreciate it!
Ampa is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2020, 03:17 PM   #20
Analog Dessert
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 6
Default

Hello all! I love you guys, thanks for the support and concern! I just uploaded a new version of REAPER Readers -- which addresses the configuration saving and loading issue!

Whenever the actions "Analog Dessert's ReaperReaders: Set Font to #1", etc, are executed, the last loaded font configuration will persist across REAPER restarts now.

Also, I addressed an issue with hot key persistence upon restarting REAPER to any of the "Analog Dessert's ReaperReaders" actions.

Lastly, I updated the Allow/Block List key to F12.

Enjoy!

Quote:
I have downloaded and installed your plugin and the actions show in the action list, but have no effect.
I hope you read the README! You need to close and re-open any windows to see any changes take effect.
Analog Dessert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2020, 04:08 PM   #21
Ampa
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 25
Default

Great to see you back.

No time to test today, but will take a look asap.

Thanks for the new version
Ampa is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2020, 03:47 AM   #22
mozart999uk
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 409
Default

Lordy. Can;t wait to try this. As a nearly 50 year old, some of the fonts are tiny! :-)

There's been along thread about font sizes in the main forum. If I can find it again, can I post a link to this thread, there?????
mozart999uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2020, 08:37 AM   #23
Coachz
Human being with feelings
 
Coachz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 9,377
Default

I'm sure he won't mind if you post a link to this thread there. By the way it's working great here. Really helps my old eyes
Coachz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2020, 09:23 AM   #24
serr
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 9,544
Default

I don't know what all can't be adjusted in Windows but in OSX the 'start' 'end' and 'total' time fields in the transport window can't be enlarged. That's really the one and only thing I want that I don't know how to adjust.

If anything here can be lead to address that, that would be cool!

53 here. I control-scroll zoom the screen for something every day!
serr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2020, 02:52 AM   #25
mozart999uk
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 409
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by serr View Post

53 here. I control-scroll zoom the screen for something every day!
I'm with you :-)

Windows magnifier gets a lot of use this end :-)
mozart999uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2020, 09:39 PM   #26
Analog Dessert
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 6
Default

Hi all! I just released another update. I felt the font configuration was probably too cryptic, so I added some test "preview labels" for the 4 fonts, that automatically update when changing values. I also added a "Font Selector", making font selection quicker and easier.

Enjoy

(See the screenshots I added to my original post)
Analog Dessert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2020, 05:35 AM   #27
RobertP
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Norfolk UK
Posts: 1,012
Default

This looks like the bees knees!
Just to check, are the install instructions the same for portable Reaper installs?
%%appdata%% etc....
__________________
Windows 7 Pro. Intel i7 3400ghz. 16GB Ram. Focusrite Scarlett 8i6. Reaper 64.

suleiman: "WTF r u ppl on abt ?"
RobertP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2020, 08:28 AM   #28
Geoff-h3o
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: West Wales
Posts: 580
Default

PUt it in user plugins in the portable folder
Geoff-h3o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2020, 11:47 AM   #29
xackley
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kitchen table, next to frig
Posts: 1,180
Default not loading

Reaper 32bit shows the Actions, but does nothing.
Reaper 64bit does nothing.

I have the both the 32 and 64 dll in the proper folder.

Reaper 32 and 64 both running v6 theme.

A difference in my install might be the location.

C:\Reaper(64)
C:\reaper(32)

Other extension like SWS and Reapack load.

When I ran Reaper32 it did create the ini file.

%LOCALAPPDATA%\Analog Dessert\REAPER Readers

[Default]
Mode=2
Height=-23
Width=0
Weight=400
Face=MS Shell Dlg
[1]
Height=-23
Width=0
Weight=400
Face=MS Shell Dlg
[2]
Height=-21
Width=11
Weight=0
Face=Arial
[3]
Height=-27
Width=14
Weight=0
Face=Arial
[4]
Height=-35
Width=17
Weight=0
Face=MS Shell Dlg
__________________
^^^^^^^^^^
https://soundcloud.com/user-463176271

Last edited by xackley; 10-27-2020 at 11:53 AM.
xackley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2020, 12:46 PM   #30
Analog Dessert
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 6
Default

I assume you've read the README, right, and thus you know that executing the actions don't have any visible instant effect -- until you close and reopen some reaper windows.
Analog Dessert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2020, 12:57 PM   #31
Coachz
Human being with feelings
 
Coachz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 9,377
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xackley View Post
Reaper 32bit shows the Actions, but does nothing.
Reaper 64bit does nothing.

I have the both the 32 and 64 dll in the proper folder.

Reaper 32 and 64 both running v6 theme.

A difference in my install might be the location.

C:\Reaper(64)
C:\reaper(32)

Other extension like SWS and Reapack load.

When I ran Reaper32 it did create the ini file.

%LOCALAPPDATA%\Analog Dessert\REAPER Readers

[Default]
Mode=2
Height=-23
Width=0
Weight=400
Face=MS Shell Dlg
[1]
Height=-23
Width=0
Weight=400
Face=MS Shell Dlg
[2]
Height=-21
Width=11
Weight=0
Face=Arial
[3]
Height=-27
Width=14
Weight=0
Face=Arial
[4]
Height=-35
Width=17
Weight=0
Face=MS Shell Dlg
Run action "Analog Dessert's ReaperReaders: Set Font to #1" then close and reopen Reaper
Coachz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2020, 01:07 PM   #32
RobertP
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Norfolk UK
Posts: 1,012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff-h3o View Post
PUt it in user plugins in the portable folder
Thanks
__________________
Windows 7 Pro. Intel i7 3400ghz. 16GB Ram. Focusrite Scarlett 8i6. Reaper 64.

suleiman: "WTF r u ppl on abt ?"
RobertP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2020, 01:16 PM   #33
xackley
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kitchen table, next to frig
Posts: 1,180
Default

Yes I did close and open the FX window repeatedly and shut down and started Reaper a dozen times.

As I said, the Actions are not available in Reaper64.
The Actions are available in Reaper 32 but do nothing.

Running Windows 10 pro as administrator

Thank you
Don
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Annotation 2020-10-27 160148.jpg (60.9 KB, 44 views)
__________________
^^^^^^^^^^
https://soundcloud.com/user-463176271

Last edited by xackley; 10-27-2020 at 01:35 PM.
xackley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2020, 10:56 PM   #34
xackley
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kitchen table, next to frig
Posts: 1,180
Default

I thought I found the problem, but I was wrong.
Even after check marking Unblock, it still didn't load.


EDIT:
But I just tried it in Reaper32 after checking Unblock for the 32 bit dll, and gosh those fonts are now huge!

So it is working in Reaper32, but still not loading in Reaper64.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Untitled.jpg (55.3 KB, 28 views)
__________________
^^^^^^^^^^
https://soundcloud.com/user-463176271

Last edited by xackley; 10-27-2020 at 11:03 PM.
xackley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2020, 11:43 PM   #35
xackley
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kitchen table, next to frig
Posts: 1,180
Default

Preference took a couple of loads before it took the larger font. At first it did not resize to fit with larger fonts. Pressing f12 did not work well, little fonts for the list, big font for the setting.

The FX browser fonts did not change to the larger font. The font were larger, but not arial 14 bold. As you said in the first post, just having your dll in userplugins would make fonts a little bigger and that appears to be the case. But Set to Font#1 had no effect.

The FX window and cockos plugs did worked well.

The routing window did not work well with the larger font, it was messy.

This was in Reaper32.
Still does not load in Reaper 64.

Don

Edit: It now works in the FX browser as intended after a few opens and closings.

Edit2: Went through a bunch of "Views" and they all worked as intended.
Request: Is there any way you could grab the JS fonts?
__________________
^^^^^^^^^^
https://soundcloud.com/user-463176271

Last edited by xackley; 10-28-2020 at 12:08 AM.
xackley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2020, 03:46 AM   #36
Geoff-h3o
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: West Wales
Posts: 580
Default Where do I find the actions?

Plugin installed but how do I get to the "Actions" ?

Thnx
Geoff-h3o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2020, 04:32 AM   #37
Coachz
Human being with feelings
 
Coachz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 9,377
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xackley View Post
Preference took a couple of loads before it took the larger font. At first it did not resize to fit with larger fonts. Pressing f12 did not work well, little fonts for the list, big font for the setting.

The FX browser fonts did not change to the larger font. The font were larger, but not arial 14 bold. As you said in the first post, just having your dll in userplugins would make fonts a little bigger and that appears to be the case. But Set to Font#1 had no effect.

The FX window and cockos plugs did worked well.

The routing window did not work well with the larger font, it was messy.

This was in Reaper32.
Still does not load in Reaper 64.

Don

Edit: It now works in the FX browser as intended after a few opens and closings.

Edit2: Went through a bunch of "Views" and they all worked as intended.
Request: Is there any way you could grab the JS fonts?
You used the 64 bit plugin? Where did you put it?
Coachz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2020, 09:15 AM   #38
xackley
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kitchen table, next to frig
Posts: 1,180
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Coachz View Post
You used the 64 bit plugin? Where did you put it?
See post 33
__________________
^^^^^^^^^^
https://soundcloud.com/user-463176271
xackley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2020, 09:18 AM   #39
Coachz
Human being with feelings
 
Coachz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 9,377
Default

I would remove the 32 bit one.
Coachz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2020, 09:40 AM   #40
xackley
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kitchen table, next to frig
Posts: 1,180
Default

I originally only had the 64 bit dll.
I added the 32 just to test.

I also install 64 bit in stand alone just to test and put the dll in the standalone userplugin folder. It did not load.

I told windows defender to ignore C:\Users\xackl\AppData\Roaming\REAPER. It did not help.

I turned down UAC, it did not help.

It appears Geoff-h3o might be having the same experience.

Don
__________________
^^^^^^^^^^
https://soundcloud.com/user-463176271
xackley is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.