Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > newbieland

Old 02-28-2018, 05:32 AM   #1
drmacchius
Human being with feelings

Default Tipp for Newbee Songwrither and Midi-Composer

Hello People. I´m evaluating reaper. I am very interesssed on it, because I like its performance and customizing tools. Evenso its audio toll, that don´t need other audio editing plugin as Wave oder Tools as Wavelab. I played Piano and Synthetizers a long time aber I haven´t have a sequencer. So I am a newbie on the Midi composing and I hat a lot of MIDI instruments and I need a complex midi setup.

Reaper can a lot of things but without customisation is not intuitive. It ist difficult for me anyting customizing, if I have not clear idea of what I must do.

A lot of people says me, that for me I standard DAW as cubase, studio one or logic possible a better chose ist. But I know, that there are a lot of user Themes and Script, that give reaper the same Functions of the other DAWs.

Can you help me? Hi need a tippabout the best way to beginn in the MIDI music with with reaper? The gioia´s Video are good but they aren´t focused on my target.
Are there a theme or customized form of Repaer, that help me in the lerning time with MIDI sequencing an in the time, in that I understand what i´d like to do and I make my customisation ?
drmacchius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2018, 06:20 AM   #2
DarkStar

I do not think that themes will help.

One way to get started is find a MIDI file of some tune you are familiar with, load it into Reaper have a look at it in the MIDI Editor. You will see the MIDI notes there - they may be on different MIDI channel or even on separate MIDI tracks.

To play it, you should consider some sort of multi-timbral (that is, multi-sound) instrument plug-in. On Windows you could output the MIDI file to the Microsoft Wavetable Synth, but that is not recommended for any serious work.