Old 07-18-2012, 03:35 AM   #1
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 18,950
Default More toolbars needed

The current implementation of Main +8 and MIDI Piano roll + 4 seems very restrictive.

Given that there are over 5,000 Actions, and if it were possible, you would need to put over 350 on each toolbar to see them all

In some cases I use Docked (multi-line) toolbars, in others floating multi-line toolbars. If the toolbar is too big then it becomes more difficult to find the tool to use and the toolbar occupies more screen space. So smaller toolbars and switching between them is preferable (see this TIP: http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=106897 ) As a consequence more toolbars are really needed.

128 main and 64 MIDI toolbars should do it. Lots of choice there. And perhaps an Action to load a toolbar into a toolbar window from a ReaperMenu file.

[Apologies if this is a duplicate - I tried various keyword Searches.]

Related threads:
http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=69206
http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=88399

FR in Issue Tracker:
http://forum.cockos.com/project.php?issueid=4251
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. . . . Inspired by ...
DarkStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2012, 04:16 AM   #2
Coachz
Human being with feelings
 
Coachz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 9,933
Default

I started with about 4 or 5 toolbars, Now I'm down to 2. I use the vast majority of my commands as shortcut keys. You may work differently of course but for me a couple of toolbars to put my most common things on it was plenty. I do have 250 shortcut keys that I use all the time also. I went through all 5000 actions and picked out my favs, then remapped the entire keyboard and all of the shortcuts.
__________________
---> Checkout my latest Reaper album ! <---
www.chucktownband.com Click Youtube Music to play the entire album.
Coachz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2012, 04:17 AM   #3
Viente
Human being with feelings
 
Viente's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1,972
Default

+1 to OP

voted
Viente is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2012, 05:51 AM   #4
copacetic
Human being with feelings
 
copacetic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,296
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Coachz View Post
I started with about 4 or 5 toolbars, Now I'm down to 2. I use the vast majority of my commands as shortcut keys. You may work differently of course but for me a couple of toolbars to put my most common things on it was plenty. I do have 250 shortcut keys that I use all the time also. I went through all 5000 actions and picked out my favs, then remapped the entire keyboard and all of the shortcuts.
How do you remember so much?
__________________
I am a universal adaptor.
copacetic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2012, 08:51 AM   #5
SpecialRich
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Bath, UK
Posts: 215
Default

Got my vote.

Don't see why there should be an upper limit. Providing you don't try to dock them all they are a usefully repository for actions you use on occasion but wouldn't remember the key commands.

I've made floating tool bars that contain related task specific actions and it works well for me.
SpecialRich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2012, 09:58 AM   #6
lowellben
Human being with feelings
 
lowellben's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: They put me in a home.
Posts: 3,384
Default

I'd like a few more toolbars now that you mention it. I have maxxed out all available ones now and have trained myself to just fiddle with mouse/keyboard shortcuts as needed for other commands.

Toolbars are my friend.
__________________
47.8% of statistics are made up.
lowellben is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2012, 10:26 AM   #7
Coachz
Human being with feelings
 
Coachz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 9,933
Default

I have 2 printouts. 1 is my top 50 or so commands, the other is all 250. I know functions that exit (could be custom actions) and even if I don't use them often, when I'm ready to use them I can refer to my sheet and bam !

Like I'm just starting to learn to nudge more and i have a handful of commands that do that, so once i start using one or two, the others are very similar key shortcuts.



Quote:
Originally Posted by copacetic View Post
How do you remember so much?
__________________
---> Checkout my latest Reaper album ! <---
www.chucktownband.com Click Youtube Music to play the entire album.
Coachz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 09:22 AM   #8
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 18,950
Default

bump bars
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. . . . Inspired by ...
DarkStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2013, 02:29 AM   #9
SpecialRich
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Bath, UK
Posts: 215
Default

+1
voted
SpecialRich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2013, 02:39 AM   #10
airon
Human being with feelings
 
airon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Berlin
Posts: 11,101
Default

Had voted for this too. Always good to have choices.
__________________
(Video)Using Latch Preview - Faderport16 CSI config
Airon Audio Dia/FX Edit&Mix
"My ego comes pre-shrunk" - Randy Thom
airon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2014, 04:17 AM   #11
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 18,950
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Native Acoustics, in Issue Tracker
Yes, definitely need more toolbars. I find it very useful to reserve screenspace by adding ">" arrow buttons to switch toolbars when i need them, but 8 definitely isn't enough right now. This would be an awesome feature if possible.
.....
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. . . . Inspired by ...
DarkStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2014, 04:34 AM   #12
gofer
-blänk-
 
gofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 11,268
Default

Also, we can now open toolbars depending on mouse position contexts thanks to Breeder's new extension actions "BR_GetMouseCursorContext" http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=137197.

More toolbars are needed desperately! Breeder said he wants to implement the get cursor function for the MIDI editor as well
gofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2014, 11:57 PM   #13
foxAsteria
Human being with feelings
 
foxAsteria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Oblivion
Posts: 8,011
Default

these new sws context toolbars could really revolutionize workflow but they are crippled by this very un-cockos limitation.

more votes, now reaperites...
__________________
My Wyyyrd Music
foxAsteria is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2016, 04:30 AM   #14
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 24,414
Default

16 regular and 8 MIDI editor.
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2016, 06:26 AM   #15
RobU
Human being with feelings
 
RobU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 840
Default

I suggested this as a possible solution to toolbar bloat and a lack of screen real estate, but it didn't get a lot of support at the time, bwaaaaa...

http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=182489

It's a great idea if I say so myself

Rob
__________________
The empty vessel makes the loudest sound
RobU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2016, 12:55 PM   #16
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 24,414
Default

Nope.
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2016, 05:34 PM   #17
foxAsteria
Human being with feelings
 
foxAsteria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Oblivion
Posts: 8,011
Default

MANY MORE!
__________________
My Wyyyrd Music
foxAsteria is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2016, 06:59 PM   #18
Lawrence
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 21,554
Default

Wow.

Curious what people are doing to even need 16 toolbars, let alone more than 16.
Lawrence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2016, 07:59 PM   #19
Fergler
Human being with feelings
 
Fergler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 4,485
Default

What I find is that I make toolbar buttons for the most common things I use, and because I use them so commonly I then assign shortcuts to them, and then I stop using the toolbars, and they just sit there.

The exception is that I have many sets of toolbar buttons for fast increments of the same thing. The entire right side of my full-width top toolbar is iterations of +/- rate per item which I use 100s of times per project to fix pitch or start sound design.
__________________
Check out my hip-hop, funk-rock band Theatre Crisp
Fergler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2016, 08:45 PM   #20
foxAsteria
Human being with feelings
 
foxAsteria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Oblivion
Posts: 8,011
Default

Quote:
Curious what people are doing to even need 16 toolbars, let alone more than 16.
Lot's of small, context sensitive, specific toolbars with only a few actions on them can vastly speed up workflow in addition to making the interface more intuitive, with less menu diving. . With too many buttons on each toolbar, things stop being faster because you have to stop and think. 16 is FAR too few.
__________________
My Wyyyrd Music
foxAsteria is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2016, 07:38 AM   #21
Lawrence
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 21,554
Default

Thanks. It's interesting how Reaper (or the Reaper user base maybe) has evolved.

Early on there were some huge debates / arguments about the 'tool bar free' key stroke driven workflow, and how it sucked elsewhere doing that with toolbars cluttered things up in Sonar, Cubase, whatever else, while some were trying to explain that some of those things were optional to view even then, and X years later people are asking for more toolbars here, and now Reaper has more toolbars than any of those other products.
Lawrence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2016, 08:09 AM   #22
Lawrence
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 21,554
Default

Lol. Everything devolves into a daw contest somehow and we kinda must throw some shade, always.

Toolbars in Reaper are cool though.
Lawrence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2016, 08:53 AM   #23
Lawrence
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 21,554
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TonE View Post
cubase is stone age, this is proven. by steinberg.
If you say so. I'm sure, like with any other daw, it has many thousands of happy users who would disagree with that, but if it makes you feel better to go there every five minutes, go for it.
Lawrence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2021, 09:06 PM   #24
Koka
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Location: Georgia
Posts: 11
Default

The current 16 Main Toolbars are not Enoug>

I have Created my beloved Custom Plugin Picker Toolbars sorted by Brands/Category and i have run out them. Can't Progress.

you get my vote.

Link to my Simple Plugin Picker Post: the https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=241087
Koka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2021, 07:03 PM   #25
dreaminglife
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 102
Default More Toolbars - Yes Please

If we can vote on this then I vote lots more toolbars "Yes Please".

I will have some toolbars built in to my screensets then create one toolbar with links to open most of my toolbars. Use as needed.

Thanks

Last edited by dreaminglife; 02-28-2021 at 07:38 PM.
dreaminglife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2021, 01:10 AM   #26
Buy One
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 439
Default

Or an API mechanism for loading MenuSet files on demand so scripters can get busy
Buy One is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2021, 01:23 AM   #27
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 7,670
Default

More toolbars!
vitalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.