Old 06-17-2012, 01:47 PM   #1
finzic
Human being with feelings

Default MIDI drum recording and quantizing

Hi all, I'm new to MIDI drum recording in REAPER;
I need to record drum tracks for my band with a midi-enable drumkit, and then I need to quantize them with respect to some BPM reference.

In particular, I would like to be able to find a 'correct' 4-beat (or even 5-beat...) measure and use it as a BPM reference, then quantizing all other measures in a section with respect to that BPM reference just found.

I have found a tutorial on Tempo-Mapping, but I'm afraid I am looking for just about the opposite thing: with Tempo-Mapping I am superimposing a measure structure upon what I had actually played, whereas I need to just edit (in some automated way) my MIDI drum notes to get back a little bit in sync, perhaps with some sort of 'humanization' added.

Could you please point me to some solution to that?
Any help will be really appreciated
Thanks
finzic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2012, 01:52 PM   #2
Reno.thestraws

MIDI always sync to the project tempo

so, find the bar that you want, use the tempo calculate tool (create measure from time selection)

now you can quantize your drums normally, The midi grid will follow this tempo
Reno.thestraws is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2012, 01:56 PM   #3
jbmorrow

Right click the "record arm/disarm" button on the track you wish to quantize. At the bottom of the drop-down menu (From right-clicking) there should be "Track recording settings." Click that.

You'll an auto quantize function for the entire track, with various features to play with.
jbmorrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2012, 11:57 PM   #4
finzic

Default Thanks you guys

Thanks you guys,
I will try these 2 tips as soon as possible and get back here with my findings.