Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Bug Reports

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-13-2012, 04:52 AM   #1
drew
Mobile
 
drew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: London & São Paulo. Hardcore commercial REAPERite
Posts: 1,630
Default Some pasted notes get misplaced and contain broken quantize data (video demo) (FIXED)

I find that sometimes an item which appears to start at ".00" can behave as if it's really at the very end of the previous measure. As a result pasted notes get misplaced and contain broken quantize data.

This video demonstrates how the bug drove me crazy

Here's the project

Can anyone reproduce?*

Thanks!

*the bug.. not talking about reproduction in general
__________________
Proudly using REAPER exclusively for professional music production at Qsonics.com and recording broadcast and narrative voiceovers at DrewWhite.com.
drew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2012, 05:51 AM   #2
Mercado_Negro
Moderator
 
Mercado_Negro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Caracas, Venezuela
Posts: 8,081
Default

Oh man, that was sooooo funny! Thanks for the laugh

Yeah, I can reproduce it, drew


... btw, still kicking it in Brazil?
__________________
Pressure is what turns coal into diamonds - Michael a.k.a. Runaway
Mercado_Negro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2012, 07:40 AM   #3
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 7,029
Default

best bugreport ever, thanks.

(sorry for not trying to reproduce)
nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2012, 10:41 AM   #4
gofer
-blänk-
 
gofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 10,998
Default

BWAAAHAHAHAHAHA

Please find more bugs Drew, I still hold my belly! That video is downright crazy


Yep, I could reproduce with the help of your video.





... wait.. that sounds wrong somehow..
gofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 02:53 AM   #5
drew
Mobile
 
drew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: London & São Paulo. Hardcore commercial REAPERite
Posts: 1,630
Default

Thanks guys!

It's a long-standing thing - and maybe something about sample rounding, but it also affects loops - even after quantizing them.

Glueing can resolve it, but you don't want to do that endlessly, or only do it when the problem appears - both break your flow.

(@Mercado_Negro - London now!)
__________________
Proudly using REAPER exclusively for professional music production at Qsonics.com and recording broadcast and narrative voiceovers at DrewWhite.com.
drew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 02:08 PM   #6
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 10,320
Default

I think I might have this fixed...
Justin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 02:32 PM   #7
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: brighton, uk
Posts: 12,320
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
I think I might have this fixed...
Yeah! I sometimes get odd quantise behaviour so hopefully the fix sorts that too!

Excellent bug report by the way!

Hope the solution will be worth the effort you put in!
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 02:36 PM   #8
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 10,320
Default

Yeah, it seems "paste notes preserving position in measure" would have really bad quantize data, so that should be fixed.

A+++++ bug report, drew <3 sorry it didn't get looked at sooner!
Justin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 09:34 AM   #9
drew
Mobile
 
drew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: London & São Paulo. Hardcore commercial REAPERite
Posts: 1,630
Default

Hey - thank YOU!

I hope it was as much fun to fix as it was to make the video.. which I could only make within REAPER thanks to LICEcap. Yay LICEcap
__________________
Proudly using REAPER exclusively for professional music production at Qsonics.com and recording broadcast and narrative voiceovers at DrewWhite.com.
drew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 11:53 PM   #10
mustgroove
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 371
Default

Quite possibly the greatest bug report of all time!
mustgroove is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.