Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Feature Requests

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-02-2012, 06:02 AM   #1
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 17,791
Default MIDI Editor: Quicker access to the used controller lanes

OK, here's another idea for quicker access to used Controller lanes in the MIDI Editor:

In the drop-down list, add the used lanes in a group next to the field showing the name of the current lane.
Depending on the position of the MIDI Editor, this will be above or below the full list of lanes.
Then any of the used lanes can be clicked without any searching (for dots) or scrolling.

As in these mock-ups:




The used lanes still appear in the full list, as can be seen.
It's 'only' a matter of adding them again to the drop-down.

-------------
Issue Tracker:
http://forum.cockos.com/project.php?issueid=4436
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. . . . Inspired by ...

Last edited by DarkStar; 09-27-2015 at 10:29 AM.
DarkStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 06:31 AM   #2
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 22,625
Default

+A million
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 06:53 AM   #3
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 18,425
Default

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++ ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

I can't believe we didn't already pick this one up for a group moan! FR, anyone?

(cue well worn record BPP has allowed you to decide what CC etc shows and what doesn't from version 1.
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 09:39 AM   #4
Argle
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1,262
Default

+1, it's a pain to go hunting around for your CCs in a big list.
Argle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 01:30 PM   #5
swiiscompos
Human being with feelings
 
swiiscompos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Lausanne (CH)
Posts: 1,097
Default

+3.9!
swiiscompos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 01:35 PM   #6
Lawrence
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 21,306
Default

Is it ok to say that my other DAW shows all currently used CC's on the horizontal divider between the editor and the CC lane for immediate access?

Makes perfect sense to me... for that one thing. Pretty efficient use of space.

+1
__________________
"I, Bozo The Clown, do solemly swear to uphold the Consti.. consti... uh, how do you pronounce that again?".
Lawrence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 01:39 AM   #7
airon
Human being with feelings
 
airon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: City
Posts: 10,236
Default

Post der Screenshot Lawrence. Ve need to know.
__________________
Dialogue/FX Editor & Re-Recording Mixer
(Video)Using Latch Preview
"My ego comes pre-shrunk" - Randy Thom
airon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 08:21 AM   #8
Banned
Human being with feelings
 
Banned's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Unwired (probably in the proximity of Amsterdam)
Posts: 4,868
Default

+ 1.

Here's how Ableton Live does it:

One display mode is "Show All Modulations" which shows all parameters in drop down menus, with dots to indicate which ones are modulated:



As you can see, it has a similar problem to REAPER: not all parameters are easily selected, lots of unused parameters make scrolling necessary. This is solved by another display mode, "Show Modulated Parameters Only", which hides all unused parameters:

-->
__________________
˙lɐd 'ʎɐʍ ƃuoɹʍ ǝɥʇ ǝɔıʌǝp ʇɐɥʇ ƃuıploɥ ǝɹ,noʎ
Banned is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 09:30 AM   #9
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 22,625
Default

I think DarkStar's suggestion is a much better solution than how Ableton handles it. Just my 2 eurocents.
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 10:04 AM   #10
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 17,791
Default

... also, group the used CCs in the MIDI Editor Filter Events window too.
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. . . . Inspired by ...
DarkStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 12:06 PM   #11
Banned
Human being with feelings
 
Banned's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Unwired (probably in the proximity of Amsterdam)
Posts: 4,868
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
I think DarkStar's suggestion is a much better solution than how Ableton handles it. Just my 2 eurocents.
I agree, because adding a controller would not involve switching modes (unlike Live's method).

One more thing which could perhaps be improved: we don't really need the dots in the short list of used parameters, now do we? I'd rather see two more characters of the parameter name.
__________________
˙lɐd 'ʎɐʍ ƃuoɹʍ ǝɥʇ ǝɔıʌǝp ʇɐɥʇ ƃuıploɥ ǝɹ,noʎ
Banned is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 12:46 PM   #12
Lawrence
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 21,306
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by airon View Post
Post der Screenshot Lawrence. Ve need to know.
I thought everyone here would know what it looked like by now but here it is. Most logical one I've used to date.

__________________
"I, Bozo The Clown, do solemly swear to uphold the Consti.. consti... uh, how do you pronounce that again?".
Lawrence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 03:02 PM   #13
airon
Human being with feelings
 
airon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: City
Posts: 10,236
Default

A very useful way. Let's adapt this to Reaper. Here's one way.
  • The button to the left of the Velocity button could hold Darkstar's proposed menu. It could add new CC lanes to the quick-access-button-header menu as seen in Lawrence's shot.

  • ALT-click on the CC lane heading button (like Velocity in the shot) to clear the CC lane.

  • CTRL+ALT+click on the CC lane heading button to clear and remove from button-heading list.

  • Right-click on CC lane heading button to select another CC lane from a list containing all but the already active and showing CC lanes from a Darkstar-like menu.

    CC lanes that contain data(i.e. are active) but not being displayed at the moment are at the top of the ilst.

Simple, right ?
__________________
Dialogue/FX Editor & Re-Recording Mixer
(Video)Using Latch Preview
"My ego comes pre-shrunk" - Randy Thom
airon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 03:27 PM   #14
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 17,791
Default

... I was thinking of the simplest implementation, in order to get something done.

More extensive suggestions have been made in the past.

http://forum.cockos.com/project.php?issueid=553
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. . . . Inspired by ...

Last edited by DarkStar; 11-03-2012 at 03:40 PM.
DarkStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 06:04 PM   #15
Lawrence
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 21,306
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by airon View Post
A very useful way. Let's adapt this to Reaper. Here's one way.
Yeah, I wasn't suggesting Reaper should copy that. Only that there are potentially more ways to display data than in a list. My earlier "+1" was more to the logical idea of at least putting used parameters up top in the list. I think Cubendo does it that way. The other thing was just an reminder that lists actually aren't the only thing.

Sometimes drop down lists are the best choice, other times maybe not.
__________________
"I, Bozo The Clown, do solemly swear to uphold the Consti.. consti... uh, how do you pronounce that again?".
Lawrence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 01:38 PM   #16
krahosk
Human being with feelings
 
krahosk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,666
Default

Cubase does it nicely.

krahosk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 03:30 AM   #17
Err0r_500
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Paris
Posts: 14
Default

+1 It would really be great, I tested a week ago Ableton Live and thought it was absolutely not suitable for my usage, except for the really convenient way it deals with controller lanes. I think Reaper should improve this point (especially because, in addition you're not even able to sort the envelope lanes in the TCP!)
Err0r_500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2016, 06:15 AM   #18
noise_construct
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1,566
Default

+1

the scrollable pop-up menu is painful to use.
noise_construct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2016, 06:24 AM   #19
alextone
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 219
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lawrence View Post
I thought everyone here would know what it looked like by now but here it is. Most logical one I've used to date.

+This one, which is presonus studio one. (I'm using V3 at the moment. The horizontal selection is fast and a good overview, imho)
alextone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2016, 06:49 AM   #20
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 17,791
Default

New year, new hope

Looking for small dots to the left of the CC names (and when are we going to be able to change them too?) is a pain.

Re: the horizontal list: it will be OK for up to several CCs, but will need some sort of horizontal scrolling when the name list exceeds the MIDI Editor panel width.
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. . . . Inspired by ...
DarkStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2016, 04:05 PM   #21
JFetter
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 28
Default

+1
Just found this thread when searching for something similar.

Well, until this idea gets implemented, is there any way to remove all the CC's I don't use?

All I use :
Volume
Velocity
Mod Wheel
Expression
104 Vibrato
JFetter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2016, 05:03 PM   #22
ELP
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 943
Default

There are lots of actions refers to CC lane.
Example: Set CC lane to xx. (Set CC lane to Velocity etc. pp)
So you can simply bind these actions very quickly to shortcuts or buttons.

There is no need to delete unwanted from the main list...
__________________
I hope you can understand me? Without german beer my written english is always very bad, with beer it becomes unbearable!.
Less is more! To much limited the own creativity.
ELP is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.