Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Bug Reports

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-18-2012, 11:14 AM   #1
gavno
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 13
Default Confirmed Bug: Item Fades mess up Note-on vel 0 events - Notes hang (FIXED)

the fade function is misbehaving..

instead of fading like it did before this new version it plays one flat note through the fade it doesnt release the notes...
im talking about the fade snap
gavno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 12:29 PM   #2
bradleyfilms
Human being with feelings
 
bradleyfilms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Cumbria, UK
Posts: 2,255
Default

I'm guessing here.
I take it this is on a MIDI item, and you are drawing in a fade that affects the velocity rather than the volume.
There was a problem with a pre-release version, but was solved in the public release AFAIK.
Could you tell us which version you're using?
Steve
__________________
Meto ergo psallentes est
bradleyfilms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 12:40 PM   #3
gavno
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 13
Default

im using evaluation of 4.30 the one on the download page..

it is a midi item..

it holds the last midi note whenever theres a fade
gavno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 01:09 PM   #4
gofer
-blänk-
 
gofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 10,999
Default

Does the note end happen to be right at the item end? I think I remember someone reported that velocity fade outs can turn a note off into a note off with velocity zero and that this can lead to the note hang on some instrument plugs.
I couldn't reproduce that myself, though. I constantly see note off velocity zero in my data and it doesn't lead to problems.

If so, you could try whether shifting the note end a bit to the left cures it, as a quick fix of the symptom.



But before you do that, can you please upload a project file with such an item? (hit the "manage attachment" button below the forum post text entry field and direct to your problem project)

Last edited by gofer; 11-18-2012 at 01:21 PM.
gofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 01:48 PM   #5
gavno
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 13
Default

heres a vid of whats going on...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vYjMz...ature=youtu.be


its doing this with every sound..
gavno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 02:16 PM   #6
chriscomfort
Human being with feelings
 
chriscomfort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,722
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gavno View Post
heres a vid of whats going on...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vYjMz...ature=youtu.be


its doing this with every sound..
Hm. That is weird. So you're saying if you were to grab that fade in handle and move it all the way to the left, removing the fade-in, that the notes would no longer sustain like that?

Edit: could you post the .RPP file of that song? It doesn't matter if we both have the same instrument plug-ins.
__________________
http://chriscomfortmusic.com
chriscomfort is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 02:17 PM   #7
gofer
-blänk-
 
gofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 10,999
Default

Ah. I was for some reason assuming you talk about the last note and item fade out. But it seems to happen only on fade in for you, right?
I can't reproduce this here. Both fade in and out are working fine for me.


Which synth is it and does it also happen with others? Can you try it with ReaSynth for trouble-shooting purposes?



Please do upload a project file with the problem. If I can get it to misbehave for me as well, then we are maybe a bit further with spotting the issue.
gofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 02:35 PM   #8
gavno
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 13
Default

with reasynth..
Attached Files
File Type: rpp ASDd.RPP (6.7 KB, 99 views)
gavno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 03:18 PM   #9
chriscomfort
Human being with feelings
 
chriscomfort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,722
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gavno View Post
with reasynth..
Very strange. What I found is when I put a ReaControlMIDI after the Reasynth and open the MIDI log, I see that with any notes within the fade area, the Note off messages are being changed to Note On's. If the fade is removed, the notes act as normal cause the Note Off messages are correct. Even when I dragged the MIDI item into another project, it behaved in this funny manner.

BUT, I could not recreate this effect myself. Neither by recording or drawing notes with the pencil. In fact, I recorded a part, followed that with the copied part from the ASDd project and followed that with a pencil drawn part, all on the same track. Only the copied part acted funny.
__________________
http://chriscomfortmusic.com
chriscomfort is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 03:47 PM   #10
gavno
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 13
Default

the notes are 80 velocity if that changes anything
gavno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 03:55 PM   #11
gofer
-blänk-
 
gofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 10,999
Default

The issue seems to occur when not actually note-off is used to stop a note, but note-on with velocity zero (which is a valid method as an alternative to note off and in accordance with MIDI specs). These seem to falsely get changed to note on with velocity 1 by the item fade.

Clearly this is a bug introduced with the new velocity fade behavior (to not reduce a note at item start to zero velocity).

Thanks for reporting and for posting the trouble project. Alas, I couldn't come up yet with an idea how you could work around it .



I am going to move this thread into the Bug Report forum and add "confirmed Bug" to the title, maybe that helps get attention.

This should absolutely be reported in the Issue Tracker http://forum.cockos.com/project.php?...ssuetypeid=bug. But I really have to go to take a nap now. If someone would be so kind and do that? (don't forget to link to this thread in the report). Otherwise I'll do it tomorrow in the morning (CET) .
gofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 04:30 PM   #12
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 10,321
Default

Fixing.
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 04:46 PM   #13
gofer
-blänk-
 
gofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 10,999
Default

Thanks
gofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 04:50 PM   #14
Banned
Human being with feelings
 
Banned's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Unwired (probably in the proximity of Amsterdam)
Posts: 4,868
Default

Hey gofer, go to sleep now!
__________________
˙lɐd 'ʎɐʍ ƃuoɹʍ ǝɥʇ ǝɔıʌǝp ʇɐɥʇ ƃuıploɥ ǝɹ,noʎ
Banned is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 04:54 PM   #15
gofer
-blänk-
 
gofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 10,999
Default

Haha I noticed the train stopped so I went for a bit of sightseeing (mmmhm, champs elysees)
gofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.