Old 08-22-2013, 11:43 AM   #1
maxdis
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 358
Default Writing program changes without midi controller

Hi
is there a way to write program/bank changes using no MIDI controller? In other words, I would like to change presets in my plugins using keyboard or mouse, and have these changes automatically written as program changes...should I use ReaControlMIDI? If so, how?

thank you
maxdis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2013, 11:19 AM   #2
maxdis
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 358
Default

bump

anyone?
maxdis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 03:45 AM   #3
maxdis
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 358
Default Writing program changes without midi controller

Hi
is there a way to write program/bank changes using no MIDI controller? In other words, I would like to change presets in my plugins using keyboard or mouse, and have these changes automatically written as program changes...should I use ReaControlMIDI? If so, how?

thank you
maxdis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 04:31 AM   #4
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 18,063
Default

Short answer: no.

Longer answer:
You cannot do that automatically but you can write Program Change messages in the MIDI Edito
  • display the Bank / Program Select controller lane
  • double-click in the controller lane
  • Load the bank file
  • position the mouse
  • select the Bank and Program and click [OK]
  • you may need to drag the PC marker to the right position
  • position the mouse
  • select the Bank and Program and click [OK]
etc

... Big pic: https://i.imgur.com/o1irHub.png
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. . . . Inspired by ...
DarkStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 07:53 AM   #5
Amazed
Human being with feelings
 
Amazed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Perth, W.A.
Posts: 1,649
Default

And you can also write midi program changes directly into the midi event list, which some of us (well me at least ) find preferable.
Amazed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 11:51 AM   #6
maxdis
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 358
Default

Thank you for your answers, I knew these methods...too bad they are less than ideal.
Often I'll record some improvisations, changing various VSTi presets, and using mouse I can find a particular preset faster than if I was using my midi controller...so it would be great if Reaper could automatically write the program changes just when I'm choosing presets (regardless if I'm using mouse, keyboard or midi controller).
Actually I found a way to do that, using ReaControlMIDI, but I have to create a .reabank file with the preset names and their bank and program numbers...too cumbersome!
maxdis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 11:53 AM   #7
maxdis
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 358
Default

Thank you for your answer, I knew this method...too bad it is less than ideal.
Often I'll record some improvisations, changing various VSTi presets, and using mouse I can find a particular preset faster than if I was using my midi controller...so it would be great if Reaper could automatically write the program changes just when I'm choosing presets (regardless if I'm using mouse, keyboard or midi controller).
Actually I found a way to do that, using ReaControlMIDI, but I have to create a .reabank file with the preset names and their bank and program numbers...too cumbersome!
maxdis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2013, 03:13 AM   #8
Ozymandias
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 144
Default

Maxdis,

Regarding generating program change messages with a PC keyboard: Have you considered using an input device translator, such as GlovePie or Bome's Midi Translator, routed through a virtual MIDI cable (e.g. loopMIDI) to Reaper?

Obviously, you have to make sure that the keyboard buttons you assign to program change messages do not interfere with your active applications, but you might find this to be a workable solution.
Ozymandias is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.