Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Bug Reports

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-28-2013, 05:36 PM   #1
gwok
Human being with feelings
 
gwok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Nelson, BC
Posts: 3,270
Default Plugin Automation is offset with high track channels counts (FIXED)

anyone know why. I've tested with multiple vst's, and when I have a channel that has for eg, 40 channels enables, the automation for vst's on that cahnnel is offset. please tell me there is a setting i need to tweak!
__________________
MacPro Xeon, 10.9.5
Reaper 5
gwok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 05:57 PM   #2
gwok
Human being with feelings
 
gwok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Nelson, BC
Posts: 3,270
Default

what the heck is this!

http://**************/clip/my-videos/...bzloaujgz.mp4/

(for the record I've toggled the plugin option "adjust autmation" both on and off, no difference)
__________________
MacPro Xeon, 10.9.5
Reaper 5
gwok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 09:02 PM   #3
gwok
Human being with feelings
 
gwok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Nelson, BC
Posts: 3,270
Default

this is horrendeous.
__________________
MacPro Xeon, 10.9.5
Reaper 5
gwok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 09:16 PM   #4
nonobvious
Human being with feelings
 
nonobvious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: brooklyn
Posts: 284
Default

I'm not able to replicate your problem on my windows 7 x64bit Reaper setup. Not sure what would be causing that
nonobvious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 09:24 PM   #5
gwok
Human being with feelings
 
gwok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Nelson, BC
Posts: 3,270
Default

really! no shit. hmmmm........
__________________
MacPro Xeon, 10.9.5
Reaper 5
gwok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 10:00 AM   #6
airon
Human being with feelings
 
airon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: City
Posts: 9,683
Default

Confirmed for Reaper 4.51 x64 on Win7x64, i7 920 CPU. There's definintely something going on.

The little session in the attachments has a simple ReaEQ gain change over a short time. Place something like spech or vocals on the track.

Changing the channel count from 2 to 40 or 56 or something makes a difference in how it sounds, i.e. when it plays. Weeeeiiiiiird.

I'm running a buffer of 512 samples.
__________________
Dialogue/FX Editor & Re-Recording Mixer
Using Latch Preview
"My ego comes pre-shrunk" - Randy Thom

Last edited by airon; 03-10-2016 at 08:54 AM.
airon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 09:12 PM   #7
gwok
Human being with feelings
 
gwok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Nelson, BC
Posts: 3,270
Default

I'm glad someone confirmed this, as it's somewhat unsettling. I had some weird send issues a few projects back, and I think this may be the reason why....
__________________
MacPro Xeon, 10.9.5
Reaper 5
gwok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 02:25 PM   #8
gwok
Human being with feelings
 
gwok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Nelson, BC
Posts: 3,270
Default

hmmm, no fix in latest pres. hope the devs saw this post........
__________________
MacPro Xeon, 10.9.5
Reaper 5
gwok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 09:23 AM   #9
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 10,321
Default

If you turn off "anticipative FX multiprocessing" does that change anything?
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 06:56 PM   #10
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 10,321
Default

Got it, fixing, thanks!
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2013, 04:14 PM   #11
airon
Human being with feelings
 
airon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: City
Posts: 9,683
Default

The latest pre (4.53pre4) is out that addresses this issue.
__________________
Dialogue/FX Editor & Re-Recording Mixer
Using Latch Preview
"My ego comes pre-shrunk" - Randy Thom
airon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2013, 07:46 PM   #12
gwok
Human being with feelings
 
gwok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Nelson, BC
Posts: 3,270
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by airon View Post
The latest pre (4.53pre4) is out that addresses this issue.
hmmm, still pretty choppy - http://**************/clip/my-videos/...slkecfkil.mp4/
__________________
MacPro Xeon, 10.9.5
Reaper 5
gwok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2013, 11:50 AM   #13
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 10,321
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gwok View Post
Can you quantify the rendered output changes?
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2013, 12:14 PM   #14
gwok
Human being with feelings
 
gwok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Nelson, BC
Posts: 3,270
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
Can you quantify the rendered output changes?
ya, playback sounds bad....
__________________
MacPro Xeon, 10.9.5
Reaper 5
gwok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2013, 06:08 PM   #15
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 10,321
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gwok View Post
ya, playback sounds bad....
Can you post a project that has two tracks with the same audio, then the same freely available plug-in that is automated, with one track having a higher channel count and polarity flipped, so we can see how the results differ? In 4.52 and earlier this would work with ReaEQ for example, but that has been fixed in 4.53pre4...
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2013, 06:51 PM   #16
gwok
Human being with feelings
 
gwok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Nelson, BC
Posts: 3,270
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
Can you post a project that has two tracks with the same audio, then the same freely available plug-in that is automated, with one track having a higher channel count and polarity flipped, so we can see how the results differ? In 4.52 and earlier this would work with ReaEQ for example, but that has been fixed in 4.53pre4...
here. this has a a realtime example, and also the rendered output of what im hearing

hmmm, having trouble with reaper attachments - here's a link

http://www.sendspace.com/file/i4kkzs
__________________
MacPro Xeon, 10.9.5
Reaper 5
gwok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2013, 07:17 PM   #17
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 10,321
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gwok View Post
here. this has a a realtime example, and also the rendered output of what im hearing

hmmm, having trouble with reaper attachments - here's a link

http://www.sendspace.com/file/i4kkzs
That one works fine here in 4.53pre4 -- if you were using a previous build it would render incorrectly (and it looks like that project was saved with 4.53pre2).
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2013, 07:57 PM   #18
gwok
Human being with feelings
 
gwok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Nelson, BC
Posts: 3,270
Default

ah dude, my bad!

sorry, i think i dl'd the latest beta, but didn't actually install it, hence i thought I was running on the latest build but wasn't.

so far so good. everything is nulling here
__________________
MacPro Xeon, 10.9.5
Reaper 5
gwok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2013, 02:36 PM   #19
lunker
Human being with feelings
 
lunker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lucas, TX, USA (via Luleå, Sweden)
Posts: 474
Default FINALLY

Happy Day!

I submitted a ticket for this issue in 2010:

http://forum.cockos.com/project.php?issueid=3025
http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=67394

I see it has finally been addressed:

+ Automation: fixed bug where plug-in automation timing would be affected by track channel count [t=127606]

Yay!


I am, however, a little bummed that I didn't get the credit for finding the issue.
__________________
Best Regards, Ernie "lunker" Lundqvist
REAPER (non commercial license)
BDSM (Bad Dog Studio Musicians)

Last edited by lunker; 09-26-2013 at 02:45 PM.
lunker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.