Old 11-11-2013, 05:14 AM   #1
Reno.thestraws
Human being with feelings
 
Reno.thestraws's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Belgium
Posts: 10,252
Default ReaNo - My new mod of the default THEME

Hi, Here's my Mod of the default Theme

TCP :




More layouts :

Folder
Colored Faders
Separator (see track 7 in previous licecap)
Empty space (see track 9)

Ergonomic Stuff :
-Yellow square on track number when selected
-Yellow Bar on top of selected items
-Green bar on selected take of selected items
-Different contrast for top and bottom item half (a lots more easier to the eyes when using mouse modifiers on media item bottom half


MCP :


Additional Layouts :
Folder
Colored Faders
Separator (see track 7 in previous licecap)
Empty space (see track 9)

Ergonomic Stuff :
-Yellow square on track number when selected


Download here :
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/...ReaperThemeZip

ALternative Meter version :
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/...ReaperThemeZip

Last edited by Reno.thestraws; 11-12-2013 at 03:22 AM.
Reno.thestraws is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2013, 05:20 AM   #2
Sambo Rouge
Human being with feelings
 
Sambo Rouge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Hertfordshire, England
Posts: 1,955
Default

Very tasty! Nice work.
Sambo Rouge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2013, 10:14 AM   #3
tls11823
Human being with feelings
 
tls11823's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Harrisburg, PA USA
Posts: 1,471
Default

Whenever I try other themes, I always end up coming back to the default - specifically, minor tweaks to the default, such as this one. I like this version - it preserves what's nice about the default, but adds just a few little changes to make it a bit nicer to work with.

Thanks for the effort!
__________________
We act as though comfort and luxury were the chief requirements of life, when all that we need to make us happy is something to be enthusiastic about.
--Charles Kingsley... or maybe Albert Einstein... definitely somebody wiser than myself--
tls11823 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2013, 10:53 AM   #4
nolman
Human being with feelings
 
nolman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: ghent, Belgium
Posts: 314
Default

this is almost the perfect mix of features i was looking for.

default but with:

-spacer
-colored faders
-better track selection indicator
-better item selection indicator

only the contrast between top and bottom is too much for me.
but i will figure out how to change that back.

Thanks!!!
nolman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2013, 11:37 AM   #5
gibi25
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: France
Posts: 2,753
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tls11823 View Post
Whenever I try other themes, I always end up coming back to the default - specifically, minor tweaks to the default, such as this one. I like this version - it preserves what's nice about the default, but adds just a few little changes to make it a bit nicer to work with.

Thanks for the effort!
Should not say it a better way.
Et merci Reno.
gibi25 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2013, 02:16 PM   #6
Reno.thestraws
Human being with feelings
 
Reno.thestraws's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Belgium
Posts: 10,252
Default

Quote:
only the contrast between top and bottom is too much for me.
but i will figure out how to change that back.
dunno if it could help but :

Reno.thestraws is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2013, 03:51 PM   #7
Reno.thestraws
Human being with feelings
 
Reno.thestraws's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Belgium
Posts: 10,252
Default

Here's a little trick with this theme to have a pre fader metering on tracks

1) project settings : allow feedbak in routing as default

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/...20settings.gif

2) Built a track and save as template

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/...ur%20track.gif


3) set as cue buss settings 8 ad^nd built this macro

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/...%20CUEbuss.gif


Now if you want to create a pre fader meter for a track, just run the macro (make sure that "clickable icon for folder track to hide/show chidren is enable in mixer

Reno.thestraws is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2013, 04:13 AM   #8
jico27
Human being with feelings
 
jico27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Paris / France
Posts: 429
Default

Very nice work!


Quote:
Originally Posted by Reno.thestraws View Post
Hi, Here's my Mod of the default Theme...

...Ergonomic Stuff :
-Yellow square on track number when selected
[/URL]
I do like the 'yellow square on track number when selected' feature... It makes me think of sometning slightly different :
Would it be possible to have the same thing on a whole bank of 8 tracks, when selected on a BCF2000 CS, for example, (in mackie mode)? And if 2 BCFs are involved, a different color for each one?

It would be VERY useful on large projects. Don't you think so?
jico27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2013, 05:15 AM   #9
Reno.thestraws
Human being with feelings
 
Reno.thestraws's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Belgium
Posts: 10,252
Default

Quote:
I do like the 'yellow square on track number when selected' feature... It makes me think of sometning slightly different :
Would it be possible to have the same thing on a whole bank of 8 tracks, when selected on a BCF2000 CS, for example, (in mackie mode)?
Nope, Not only with the walter feature.

There are only 2 WALTER ELEMENTS per context (track id and trackid when selected, idem for tcp bg, mcp bg, etc)

so it's impoosible to communicate between the BCF and the THEME

But, with, reascript, cycle conditional action and macro it could be doable. but it represent A LOT OF WORK
Reno.thestraws is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2013, 07:35 AM   #10
jico27
Human being with feelings
 
jico27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Paris / France
Posts: 429
Default

What i'm looking for is a kind of "where you are" visualization for CSs. I rarely saw that implemented in DAWS except in Sonar.
Possible in reaper?

I like the pre-fader metering on track too. Well done.
jico27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2013, 07:40 AM   #11
jico27
Human being with feelings
 
jico27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Paris / France
Posts: 429
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reno.thestraws View Post
Nope, Not only with the walter feature.

But, with, reascript, cycle conditional action and macro it could be doable. but it represent A LOT OF WORK
ok, and a lot of programming knowlegde, i suppose...
so it's not for me. But i do assume the fact that would be a great help for mixing purposes.

Thanks for your precise answers.
jico27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2013, 03:38 AM   #12
G58
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 44
Default

Very useful changes to the default theme; thanks for sharing!
G58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2014, 03:24 AM   #13
nolman
Human being with feelings
 
nolman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: ghent, Belgium
Posts: 314
Default

Hi,
I still would like uncolored selected/unselected tracks to not have the top bottom difference in color at all, anyway i can change it myself ?

So i would like to disable this feature and have it like default.

thnx
nolman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.