Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Bug Reports

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-09-2013, 02:33 AM   #1
clepsydrae
Human being with feelings
 
clepsydrae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,834
Default total hang, runaway memory, no tracks or plugins... !

Hi - got a hang, and whittled the project file down to a minimal thing necessary to reproduce.

Only happens to me on this project (so far). Never seen it before. The example project has no audio items, just one track (though it's not necessary for the crash) and no plugins. It does have some tempo changes, which so far do seem to need to be present: if I remove them, no crash (again: so far, only tried a few times).

The way I trigger it is to move the right edge of the zoom to just past 4:00 (maybe 4:05 or so), and then move the left edge back and forth. (Don't need to use the zoom scrollbar: I first saw it using the mousewheel.) I'm not sure the best/most reliable way to trigger it, but this is they way I do it. It it doesn't happen, I tweak the right edge of the zoom a little and try again. Works every time. As soon as it hangs, memory use shoots up (see second licecap; to over 4GB about 30-60 secs after the hang).





It can happen at any window size. I once waited 5 or so minutes to see if it would release, but no.

Here's the project file. Can anyone reproduce?

Here is my reaper.ini.

Reaper 4.57 64bit + SWS 2.3.0, on a Haswell 4770K Windows 8 machine with Presonus Firestudio Mobile.

The windows event viewer just showed a series of hangs for Reaper with little relevant-seeming data. Let me know if you want it anyway.

I'd love to help get this fixed (attach a debugger, etc, if you can't reproduce), as I can't work on my song until it is!
clepsydrae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2013, 05:23 AM   #2
Ollie
Super Moderator (no feelings)
 
Ollie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: On or near a dike
Posts: 9,632
Default

Could you (temporarily, to test) get rid of all extensions?
Ollie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2013, 12:51 PM   #3
clepsydrae
Human being with feelings
 
clepsydrae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,834
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ollie View Post
Could you (temporarily, to test) get rid of all extensions?
I disabled the reaper_sws64.dll, and the crash still happens. It's the only 3rd-party thing I installed... if there are extensions that come with Reaper that you'd like me to get rid of, let me know.

Thanks a bunch.
clepsydrae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2013, 01:05 PM   #4
clepsydrae
Human being with feelings
 
clepsydrae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,834
Default

Deleting roughly the second half of tempo points seems to make the hang go away?

I compared the crashing RPP, which is a whittled down version of a song i'm working on, with an older, non-hanging, auto-save version of the song. The tempo points are identical. But the tempo points do seem to be related to the hang somehow.

I note that the last 5 tempo points are non-integer BPM, but deleting the last 6 points still gives a hang. Deleting the last ~50% of the points makes the hang go away (at least as far as a small amount of trying has shown.)
clepsydrae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2013, 03:33 PM   #5
clepsydrae
Human being with feelings
 
clepsydrae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,834
Default

FYI, I could not reproduce this in a Win XP pro SP3 VM, 32-bit.
clepsydrae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2013, 03:26 PM   #6
Mr. Data
Human being with feelings
 
Mr. Data's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Location
Posts: 5,211
Default

Is "Preserve pitch in audio items when changing master playrate" enabled?

(right-click the master playrate slider/knob to see the menu where it's in)


-Data
__________________
German Language Pack for REAPER? Get it here!
Deutsche Sprachdatei für REAPER? Hier zu haben!
Mr. Data is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2013, 04:43 PM   #7
clepsydrae
Human being with feelings
 
clepsydrae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,834
Default

It is enabled, yes.

Unchecking it does not prevent the hang. Thanks for the idea, though.

Has anyone been able to reproduce this with the demo project and/or demo .ini?

Thanks!
-c
clepsydrae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2013, 05:32 PM   #8
Mr. Data
Human being with feelings
 
Mr. Data's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Location
Posts: 5,211
Default

I haven't tested your project.

Try the following:

Enable "Preserve pitch in audio items when changing master playrate" again, but use any other algorithm than one of the "élastique" algos and see whether it still crashes.

It might be due to some issue with the élastique.dll.


-Data
__________________
German Language Pack for REAPER? Get it here!
Deutsche Sprachdatei für REAPER? Hier zu haben!
Mr. Data is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2013, 06:45 PM   #9
clepsydrae
Human being with feelings
 
clepsydrae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,834
Default

No change - tried SoundTouch and simple windowed, same behavior. (I assume you meant me to change the default pitch shift mode in the project settings). (Note that the demo project i provided has no audio items in it, if that matters.)

Thanks,
-c
clepsydrae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2013, 07:07 PM   #10
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 9,194
Default

I can't reproduce the hang, unfortunately. RAM use seems stable.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2013, 07:59 PM   #11
clepsydrae
Human being with feelings
 
clepsydrae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,834
Default

Schwa -- what platform did you try it on?
clepsydrae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2013, 07:16 AM   #12
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 9,194
Default

OK, we've replicated this, it's compiler-dependent. We should be able to sort it out.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2013, 09:07 AM   #13
James HE
Human being with feelings
 
James HE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: I'm in a barn
Posts: 4,254
Default

I've had a few scrolling hangs lately - but it's always when under heavy load and haven't tried to find cause, so not sure if I've been effected by this, but, great job in tracking this down guys.
James HE is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2013, 06:31 PM   #14
clepsydrae
Human being with feelings
 
clepsydrae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,834
Default

Brilliant - thanks a million.

I have a song held up due to this -- will the fix come in 4.58 or will it take longer to implement? (I'm assuming there's no known workaround).
clepsydrae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2013, 07:28 PM   #15
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 9,194
Default

It should already be fixed in the latest prerelease build, 4.58rc4.

http://forum.cockos.com/forumdisplay.php?f=37
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2013, 08:03 PM   #16
clepsydrae
Human being with feelings
 
clepsydrae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,834
Default

That's what i'm talkin' about! :-)

Just started happening on a second song. Excited for 4.58. :-)

Thankful for agile development,
-c
clepsydrae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2013, 12:28 PM   #17
DuX
Human being with feelings
 
DuX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Underworld
Posts: 1,081
Default

Indeed, you devs cannot rock any harder, I think.

[no matter my complaints at times, there's no better dev team and no better DAW, and no better DAW forum at least in the Solar System that I know of]

Cheers!
__________________
Goodnight, thank you, and may your God go with you.
DuX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.