Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Bug Reports

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-23-2014, 05:05 AM   #1
outcast
Human being with feelings
 
outcast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Hamburg
Posts: 33
Default Export Project MIDI - "Write project markers as MIDI cues" (FIXED)

Hey there,

when I export Midi files in Reaper with "embed Tempo Map" ticked, all works just fine. I can open that Midi file even in Cubase, Pro-Tools etc. and the tempo map is loaded without problems.

But when I tick "write project markers as midi cues" I get a lot of mistakes in the exported file:
For example: When I import a midi file with project markes in reaper, the file doesn`t contain the first Marker or the last one. The second one is always there, although when I delete the first marker before exporting. The second one becomes the first one in the imported file.

the pics show how I export the midi Files, and the 2nd one how it`s imported again....You see that the first marker (called count in) and the last one (called diminuendo) is missing, and starts directley with the 2nd one (called Start)

curious is when I delete the second marker (start), the file is exported with the first marker (count in)...
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Export MIDI.jpg (51.0 KB, 161 views)
File Type: jpg Import MIDI.jpg (36.7 KB, 147 views)

Last edited by outcast; 02-23-2014 at 05:15 AM.
outcast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2014, 08:56 AM   #2
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 9,197
Default

Could you post or email (support at cockos) an RPP that demonstrates this problem?
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2014, 09:09 AM   #3
outcast
Human being with feelings
 
outcast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Hamburg
Posts: 33
Default

what is RPP
outcast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2014, 09:12 AM   #4
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 9,197
Default

The reaper project file.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2014, 10:30 AM   #5
outcast
Human being with feelings
 
outcast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Hamburg
Posts: 33
Default

Oh, sure Obviously.

Original RPP (how Midi was exported) and Midi File attached

Still the 1st Marker (count in) is missing...The last one "Diminuendo" is loaded...Strange
Attached Files
File Type: rpp Midi Export Bug.RPP (5.8 KB, 117 views)
File Type: mid Midi Export Bug.mid (445 Bytes, 104 views)

Last edited by outcast; 02-24-2014 at 10:36 AM.
outcast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2014, 10:56 AM   #6
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 16,596
Default

... Confirmed here with your project.

Looking at the Markers in the Region/Marker Manager - "Count in " and "intro" are in the same position, so "intro" is hiding "count in".
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. Inspired by ...

My top 40 FRs, as voted by you (updated for August 2016)
DarkStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2014, 11:08 AM   #7
outcast
Human being with feelings
 
outcast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Hamburg
Posts: 33
Default

When I open the original RPP Project, the region manager tells me:

Marker 1 "Count in" start 3.1.00
Marker 2 "Intro" start 7.1.00

(I`m using SWS Extensions by the way)


But I missed that detail you mentioned:

The exported MIDI Region has 2 markers at the same position when it`s imported again....But why???...It should be the same as the original (same length and same marker postions)
outcast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2014, 11:18 AM   #8
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 16,596
Default

... Yes, I meant when loading the MIDI file into a new project.


In the original project, the first 5 are at 3, 7, 31, 47 and 55
In the reloaded MIDI file they are at 1, 1, 25, 41 and 49.

So, after the initial hiccough they are all 6 bars early
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. Inspired by ...

My top 40 FRs, as voted by you (updated for August 2016)

Last edited by DarkStar; 02-24-2014 at 03:46 PM.
DarkStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2014, 11:20 AM   #9
outcast
Human being with feelings
 
outcast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Hamburg
Posts: 33
Default

Is there a solution for that problem?
outcast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2014, 11:37 AM   #10
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 9,197
Default

Thanks, got it, fixing for the next build.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2014, 12:19 PM   #11
outcast
Human being with feelings
 
outcast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Hamburg
Posts: 33
Default

Great. thx

by the way:
a region manager (with edit function) for tempo markers would be nice too


something like the pic

...this was my orginal post for that issue:
http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=114164
outcast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2014, 06:55 AM   #12
outcast
Human being with feelings
 
outcast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Hamburg
Posts: 33
Default

Thanks for the Fix! midi export works fine now
outcast is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.