Old 05-04-2014, 07:50 AM   #1
Janne83
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,863
Default JanneUniverse2014 v 1.14 now available

v 1.114 in the stash:

v 114 is in the stash:

Dark: https://stash.reaper.fm/theme/1422/Ja...ReaperThemeZip

Light: https://stash.reaper.fm/theme/1423/Ja...ReaperThemeZip

Added:

- Envelope Panel horizontal fader layout

Fixed few minor things



----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

V 1.13 Available:

Link: https://stash.reaper.fm/theme/1387/Ja...ReaperThemeZip

Added:

- MCP Large layout(with color options)*
- Master MCP Large layout*

* Please note that this is a large layout and will work best if mixer is undocked

Fixed:

- better stretch marker visibility
- beter unselected item bg visibility



------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

V 1.12 Available:

Link:https://stash.reaper.fm/theme/1384/Ja...ReaperThemeZip

Added:

-MCP Master layout with dB meter scale
-Transport panel with larger text layout

Fixed:
-few minor glitches


----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
V 1.11 Available:

Link: https://stash.reaper.fm/theme/1383/Ja...ReaperThemeZip

Added layouts:

- MCP Thin (With color fader options)
- MCP Fx Return


------------------------------------------------------------------
V 1.1 Available:

Link: https://stash.reaper.fm/theme/1381/Ja...ReaperThemeZip

Added layouts:

- MCP Narrow (with color fader options)
- MCP Sidebar (with color fader options)
- MCP Separator
- TCP Big Meter
- TCP Separator






----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


This is the v 1.00 of Universe 2014:
Link:https://stash.reaper.fm/theme/1378/Ja...ReaperThemeZip

Layouts:

-MCP Default with colored volume faders
-TCP Default with knobs
-TCP Volume fader with colored options



Due to a compromise (other windows use the same color parameter in the theme editor &!%%!!*) I had to lighten up the midi editor because other windows were too dark and almost unreadable(wish we had a dedicated midi editor bg color)




J
__________________
Win10, R 64bit

Last edited by Janne83; 06-05-2014 at 01:04 PM.
Janne83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2014, 08:36 AM   #2
BeatPsychic
Human being with feelings
 
BeatPsychic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Near Chicago
Posts: 406
Default

Very clean, usable, beautiful design as always Janne... Thank you!!
BeatPsychic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2014, 08:39 AM   #3
henge1
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 478
Default

New default for me!! Beautiful. Btw how do I get the item backgrounds to be blue? Right now they are dark grey.
__________________
Anton Evans
Website: www.villageworkscanada.com
henge1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2014, 09:00 AM   #4
Jan.Zborovjan
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 6
Default

Fantastic ! Default for me now !
Jan.Zborovjan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2014, 09:31 AM   #5
Janne83
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,863
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by henge1 View Post
New default for me!! Beautiful. Btw how do I get the item backgrounds to be blue? Right now they are dark grey.
The default color of items is grey yes.
Its track/item color tint. Set it up in the preferences/appearance/peaks/waveforms section

J
__________________
Win10, R 64bit
Janne83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2014, 10:26 AM   #6
vanhaze
Human being with feelings
 
vanhaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 5,222
Default

New default Theme for me too, thank you so much, it's awesome !
vanhaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2014, 11:43 AM   #7
henge1
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 478
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Janne83 View Post
The default color of items is grey yes.
Its track/item color tint. Set it up in the preferences/appearance/peaks/waveforms section

J
Hmm still not getting that lovely blue item background! Not a big deal.
This theme is pretty much perfect imo.
Can I get the MCP db numbers back if I delete these lines like i did in Janne 2014?
set master.mcp.meter.scale.color.unlit.top [0 0 0 0]
set master.mcp.meter.scale.color.unlit.bottom [0 0 0 0]
set master.mcp.meter.scale.color.lit.top [0 0 0 0]
set master.mcp.meter.scale.color.lit.bottom [0 0 0 0]
__________________
Anton Evans
Website: www.villageworkscanada.com
henge1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2014, 12:44 PM   #8
timothys_monster
Human being with feelings
 
timothys_monster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 983
Default

Nice!!! Will you add narrow MCP layouts as well?
timothys_monster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2014, 01:04 PM   #9
Janne83
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,863
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by henge1 View Post
Hmm still not getting that lovely blue item background! Not a big deal.
This theme is pretty much perfect imo.
Can I get the MCP db numbers back if I delete these lines like i did in Janne 2014?
set master.mcp.meter.scale.color.unlit.top [0 0 0 0]
set master.mcp.meter.scale.color.unlit.bottom [0 0 0 0]
set master.mcp.meter.scale.color.lit.top [0 0 0 0]
set master.mcp.meter.scale.color.lit.bottom [0 0 0 0]
This are my settings for waveform and item display:


Yes youll get the scale back if you remove those lines in this theme as well.

J
__________________
Win10, R 64bit
Janne83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2014, 01:05 PM   #10
Janne83
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,863
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by timothys_monster View Post
Nice!!! Will you add narrow MCP layouts as well?
Yep. Ill add them in one of future updates. I think itll have similar layouts like in 2014 theme.

J
__________________
Win10, R 64bit
Janne83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2014, 02:59 PM   #11
henge1
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 478
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Janne83 View Post
This are my settings for waveform and item display:


Yes youll get the scale back if you remove those lines in this theme as well.

J
Thanks Janne. I know what the problem is ( I think ) I have pretty dark colours for all my track groups ( eg. drums are red, vox are green ) so the items get those track colors. I guess If I wanted the blue background the track itself would have to be blue. Not a big deal! ;-)
So I got the db markings on the MCP, got the tcp text to turn yellow when selected and now I'm thrilled!
This theme kills imo. I feel that I now have the perfect theme.
__________________
Anton Evans
Website: www.villageworkscanada.com
henge1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2014, 03:10 PM   #12
Gates of Horn & Ivory
Human being with feelings
 
Gates of Horn & Ivory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 97
Default

A lot of my buttons now don't seem to have any extra frame for "switched on"? (Like the nice blue-tinted buttons in the screenshots). Is that to be expected?
Gates of Horn & Ivory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2014, 06:02 PM   #13
Janne83
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,863
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gates of Horn & Ivory View Post
A lot of my buttons now don't seem to have any extra frame for "switched on"? (Like the nice blue-tinted buttons in the screenshots). Is that to be expected?
Only main toolbar icons lit blue. custom toolbars vary from theme to theme, Unfortunately there is no universal option to directly incorporate custon icons. (you can import the toolbar icon images by hand into the theme images folder.)

J
__________________
Win10, R 64bit
Janne83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2014, 06:29 PM   #14
krahosk
Human being with feelings
 
krahosk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,852
Default

Thank you Janne. WOW. My new default.
krahosk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2014, 08:36 PM   #15
Mivo
Human being with feelings
 
Mivo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Europe
Posts: 153
Default

This is an incredible theme that perfectly matches my preferences. Thank you, you are very awesome!
Mivo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2014, 11:31 PM   #16
Sorts
Human being with feelings
 
Sorts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Tallinn
Posts: 4
Default

Good eye candy. Lets start campaign - JanneUniverse2014 for official Reaper 5 skin .
__________________
to define is to limit
Sorts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2014, 02:03 AM   #17
jedstar2000
Human being with feelings
 
jedstar2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Bristol uk
Posts: 1,006
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Janne83 View Post

Due to a compromise (other windows use the same color parameter in the theme editor &!%%!!*) I had to lighten up the midi editor because other windows were too dark and almost unreadable(wish we had a dedicated midi editor bg color)


J
Hi J Great work as allways

Its a real shame there's still these associations as 90% of dark themes look shocking when docking the midi editor. I think yours is a good compremise.

Thanks for a great theme !

Jed

p.s. any thoughts on a slim transport like in the default theme?
__________________
...............Reaper the DIY DAW.....................
MultiTrack Editing Macros http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=50111
Hybrid Theme http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=131090
jedstar2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2014, 03:10 AM   #18
Gerry
Human being with feelings
 
Gerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Cadiz Spain
Posts: 268
Default

You have done it again thanks so much for your magnificent work.
__________________
http://www.gerrycooper.com/
Gerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2014, 04:10 AM   #19
Janne83
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,863
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jedstar2000 View Post
Hi J Great work as allways

Its a real shame there's still these associations as 90% of dark themes look shocking when docking the midi editor. I think yours is a good compremise.

Thanks for a great theme !

Jed

p.s. any thoughts on a slim transport like in the default theme?
I could add it in one of future updates,no problem. J
__________________
Win10, R 64bit
Janne83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2014, 05:58 AM   #20
henge1
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 478
Default

Hi Janne. How would I make the Mute and Recording buttons color more vivid?
I'm colour blind and have a bit of a hard time telling when the mute and recording buttons are engaged in the tcp,mcp. Thanks again.
__________________
Anton Evans
Website: www.villageworkscanada.com
henge1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2014, 07:14 AM   #21
Janne83
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,863
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by henge1 View Post
Hi Janne. How would I make the Mute and Recording buttons color more vivid?
I'm colour blind and have a bit of a hard time telling when the mute and recording buttons are engaged in the tcp,mcp. Thanks again.
Oh dear.

I can change the color(or saturation of them) of reddish pngs and send them to you separatelly if you wish.

Edit: Ive made you custom buttons that used red color- theyre more orangy now and have much higher saturation.(please find the zip attached here) Hopefuččy youll be able to distinguish on/off states more easilly. Please let me know if they are better.

J
Attached Files
File Type: zip henge.zip (15.0 KB, 151 views)
__________________
Win10, R 64bit

Last edited by Janne83; 05-05-2014 at 07:31 AM.
Janne83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2014, 07:36 AM   #22
Janne83
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,863
Default v 1.1 Available

Link: https://stash.reaper.fm/theme/1381/Ja...ReaperThemeZip

Added layouts:

- MCP Narrow (with color fader options)
- MCP Sidebar (with color fader options)
- MCP Separator
- TCP Big Meter
- TCP Separator





J
__________________
Win10, R 64bit
Janne83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2014, 08:05 AM   #23
henge1
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 478
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Janne83 View Post
Oh dear.

I can change the color(or saturation of them) of reddish pngs and send them to you separatelly if you wish.

Edit: Ive made you custom buttons that used red color- theyre more orangy now and have much higher saturation.(please find the zip attached here) Hopefuččy youll be able to distinguish on/off states more easilly. Please let me know if they are better.

J
You sir, ARE A GOD!!LOL Thank you so much for this Janne. Incredibly nice of you. Do I just plop these in the Universe folder or do I have to delete the other mute and record buttons. ( sorry for my walter ignorance!)
__________________
Anton Evans
Website: www.villageworkscanada.com
henge1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2014, 08:10 AM   #24
Janne83
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,863
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by henge1 View Post
You sir, ARE A GOD!!LOL Thank you so much for this Janne. Incredibly nice of you. Do I just plop these in the Universe folder or do I have to delete the other mute and record buttons. ( sorry for my walter ignorance!)
No prob. Just drop the images in the theme images folder and replace the old ones- no additional work needed.

J
__________________
Win10, R 64bit
Janne83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2014, 08:17 AM   #25
henge1
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 478
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Janne83 View Post
No prob. Just drop the images in the theme images folder and replace the old ones- no additional work needed.

J
PERFECT! Thank you so much Janne. Worked perfectly.
I'm a happy guy...lol
__________________
Anton Evans
Website: www.villageworkscanada.com
henge1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2014, 09:42 AM   #26
vanhaze
Human being with feelings
 
vanhaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 5,222
Default

Hi Janne, thank you for your awesome Theme !

However, i have one question (look at attached picture)

I see no clear plugin insert slots above the sends area of a channelstrip.
Is this normal ?
Would like to see for example horizontal divider lines so i can see the plugin slots.

Cheers,

Robbie

Last edited by vanhaze; 06-14-2015 at 11:47 AM.
vanhaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2014, 09:59 AM   #27
Janne83
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,863
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vanhaze View Post
Hi Janne, thank you for your awesome Theme !

However, i have one question (look at attached picture)

I see no clear plugin insert slots above the sends area of a channelstrip.
Is this normal ?
Would like to see for example horizontal divider lines so i can see the plugin slots.

Cheers,

Robbie
Thats quite normal. I dont see the need(and also dont like visualy- making this look good and align perfectly is a royal P.I.T.A) for lines because Reaper auto genereates and scales the insert area, therefore wherever you click in the insert area the plugin will be inserted at the topmost insert slot and the next one beneath it. You cannot leave empty slots inbetween two plugins like in ex. Cubase.

J
__________________
Win10, R 64bit
Janne83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2014, 11:26 AM   #28
Susan G
Human being with feelings
 
Susan G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Putnam County, NY, USA
Posts: 3,950
Default

Hi Janne83-

Very, very nice, and thank you!

-Susan
Susan G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2014, 12:05 PM   #29
vanhaze
Human being with feelings
 
vanhaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 5,222
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Janne83 View Post
Thats quite normal. I dont see the need(and also dont like visualy- making this look good and align perfectly is a royal P.I.T.A) for lines because Reaper auto genereates and scales the insert area, therefore wherever you click in the insert area the plugin will be inserted at the topmost insert slot and the next one beneath it. You cannot leave empty slots inbetween two plugins like in ex. Cubase.

J
I diidnt know that, thanx for the info !
vanhaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2014, 02:18 PM   #30
WyattRice
Human being with feelings
 
WyattRice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,022
Default

Very Nice! Thanks for all your hard work and sharing.

Would it be possible for you to add bigger fonts for the transport?
I know it can be done with walter, but I can't seem to get it right. I also like using the transport undocked sometimes, and it's hard for me to get the right walter coordinates to have everything flow right when I resize it.
Anyway, many thanks again for all your work. Well done!
WyattRice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2014, 01:59 AM   #31
Janne83
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,863
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WyattRice View Post
Very Nice! Thanks for all your hard work and sharing.

Would it be possible for you to add bigger fonts for the transport?
I know it can be done with walter, but I can't seem to get it right. I also like using the transport undocked sometimes, and it's hard for me to get the right walter coordinates to have everything flow right when I resize it.
Anyway, many thanks again for all your work. Well done!
I can add a layout with bigger text in one of the next updates.
Yeah I know what you mean- undocked transport walter is a bit messy.

J
__________________
Win10, R 64bit
Janne83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2014, 02:06 AM   #32
XITE-1/4LIVE
Human being with feelings
 
XITE-1/4LIVE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Somewhere Between 120 and 150 BPM
Posts: 7,968
Default

I was just stealing parts of your XL TCP and Master/MCP before but have now dl'd and applied my favorite toolbar icons and actions.
Very happy, and thanks so much for sharing this noble theme.
__________________
.
XITE-1/4LIVE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2014, 06:57 AM   #33
pcmusicpro
Human being with feelings
 
pcmusicpro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Cali, Colombia.
Posts: 630
Default

This theme is really nice but, to my taste, a narrower layout for the MCP would be great.

Also the toolbars need to be worked better and have more than the basics. That by itself itīs a lot of work indeed.

Dual pan in narrow could be improved with the knobs side by side (as in normal layout) and the numbers below them. The same in the TCP.

What I find nice about this theme is itīs simplicity and cleaness but regarding to pans I see room for improvement.

Great job, looking forward to some improvements.

Last edited by pcmusicpro; 05-06-2014 at 07:07 AM.
pcmusicpro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2014, 07:07 AM   #34
TMA
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Liverpool UK
Posts: 192
Default

Thought the same regarding the MCP Narrow layout, must only be about 10 pixels thinner than the normal one.

Lovely theme though
TMA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2014, 07:07 AM   #35
Janne83
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,863
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pcmusicpro View Post
This theme is really nice but, to my taste, a narrower layout for the MCP would be great.

Also the toolbars need to be worked better and have more than the basics. That by itself itīs a lot of work indeed.

Great job, looking forward to some improvements.
Thanks for the headsup mate,

I have a thin layout planned for the MCP already, but itll need a rework of most of the graphics so itll take some time.

Could you define your "toolbars need to be worked better" assesment in a bit more detail.

Maybe Ill add some of additional toolbars(all the main and MIDI toolbar ones are included), however other things in the theme have higher priority at the moment.The list of possible actions is endless and as you said it takes a lot of time.


REgards J
__________________
Win10, R 64bit
Janne83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2014, 12:49 PM   #36
airon
Human being with feelings
 
airon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Berlin
Posts: 11,289
Default

Thanks. Giving this a go for my late night sessions.

That's the second dark theme to come out this week. Spoiled we are. This looks so clean. One has to wonder what any new default theme can do to top these new clean themes.
__________________
(Video)Using Latch Preview - Faderport16 CSI v1.0 config
Airon Audio Dia/FX Edit&Mix
"My ego comes pre-shrunk" - Randy Thom
airon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2014, 12:55 PM   #37
vanhaze
Human being with feelings
 
vanhaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 5,222
Default

If only Reaper had this as it's default theme, i think Reaper's looks would attract far more DAW users and it will problaby be the number One used DAW all over the world. (LOL)
vanhaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2014, 02:32 PM   #38
Janne83
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,863
Default v111 available

Link: https://stash.reaper.fm/theme/1383/Ja...ReaperThemeZip

Added layouts:

- MCP Thin (With color fader options)
- MCP Fx Return



J
__________________
Win10, R 64bit
Janne83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2014, 03:01 PM   #39
WyattRice
Human being with feelings
 
WyattRice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,022
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Janne83 View Post
I can add a layout with bigger text in one of the next updates.
Yeah I know what you mean- undocked transport walter is a bit messy.

J
Thanks. For a test, I think the current size in reaper's theme editor is 7 or 8? For a reference, I can see it a whole lot better at size 10, and bold.
Thanks, Wyatt
WyattRice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2014, 04:29 PM   #40
pcmusicpro
Human being with feelings
 
pcmusicpro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Cali, Colombia.
Posts: 630
Default

Great, those thin tracks are what I need in my laptop.

Regarding toolbar the problem was mine. I had to reset Reaper to defaults in order to have the toolbar icons working ok... I wonder if I will have to redo my toolbars :/

I have another request. Could it be possible to have the meter to the right side of the fader in the MCP? itīs kind of a standard way of looking at software mixers.

Thanks, your work is much appreciated.
pcmusicpro is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.