Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Bug Reports

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-26-2014, 08:26 AM   #1
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 6,927
Default Resizing MIDI items shifts notes positions (FIXED)

Tracker:
http://forum.cockos.com/project.php?issueid=5293

---

Could someone tell me if this is a bug or what's going on here ?

As can be seen in the capture initial situation is a note starting exactly on the bar, when I resize the MIDI item the note seems to shift to the right. This is admittedly very high zoom level but I'd think this still shouldn't be ?
Especially as it seems the note shifts more and more to the right the more I enlarge the item to the left.



Project I used for testing is attached (fresh portable 4.71 install)
double-click the MIDI item to bring up the ME
Attached Files
File Type: rpp resize shift note position.RPP (6.0 KB, 66 views)

Last edited by nofish; 07-29-2014 at 07:08 AM.
nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2014, 05:44 AM   #2
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 6,927
Default

any comments ?
nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2014, 08:18 AM   #3
Tod
Human being with feelings
 
Tod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 10,404
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nofish View Post
any comments ?
Yep, confirmed. Reaper 4.7.
Tod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2014, 08:35 AM   #4
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 6,927
Default

Oh wow, I'd consider this a critical bug then as it could mess around with projects.

I wait a bit if a dev chimes in here then it goes to the tracker.

Thanks for checking and confirming Tod.
nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2014, 10:09 AM   #5
Tod
Human being with feelings
 
Tod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 10,404
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nofish View Post
Oh wow, I'd consider this a critical bug then as it could mess around with projects.

I wait a bit if a dev chimes in here then it goes to the tracker.

Thanks for checking and confirming Tod.
I also added another track and added a midi item and then put a note in it only I set the note a little further in on the item. It also moved the note just like your track.
Tod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2014, 10:36 AM   #6
mete0r
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 108
Default

I'm pretty sure I have had this issue without knowing what it was exactly. It was pretty annoying.
mete0r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2014, 11:10 AM   #7
jnif
Human being with feelings
 
jnif's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2,011
Default

Looks like the same bug reported here:
http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=129223

Quote:
Originally Posted by jnif View Post
Notes slide to wrong position when dragging left edge of MIDI item
jnif
jnif is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2014, 12:14 PM   #8
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 6,927
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jnif View Post
Looks like the same bug reported here:
http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=129223
jnif
Yep, looks like the same, thanks.
nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2014, 03:53 PM   #9
Soli Deo Gloria
Human being with feelings
 
Soli Deo Gloria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Posts: 791
Default

Hmmm, I can only replicate it if "Loop source" is enabled in the item. Since I donīt have it by default, in my first attempts I couldnīt reproduce it.

Will it have something to do with that setting?

Last edited by Soli Deo Gloria; 07-28-2014 at 03:58 PM.
Soli Deo Gloria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2014, 06:19 AM   #10
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 6,927
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soli Deo Gloria View Post
Hmmm, I can only replicate it if "Loop source" is enabled in the item. Since I donīt have it by default, in my first attempts I couldnīt reproduce it.

Will it have something to do with that setting?
Have you tried with the test project I attached in the first post ?
"Loop source" isn't enabled there and Tod could reproduce.

If you can't reproduce with the test project, I don't know on which other factors this could depend.

Last edited by nofish; 07-29-2014 at 06:56 AM.
nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2014, 06:49 AM   #11
Soli Deo Gloria
Human being with feelings
 
Soli Deo Gloria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Posts: 791
Default

Well, now I see I can reproduce it with your project, indeed. But if I start from scratch it doesnīt happen, as I said above. Any project setting maybe? Itīs really strange... It seems a case for the tracker, isnīt it?
Soli Deo Gloria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2014, 06:59 AM   #12
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 6,927
Default

Thanks for checking.

Yes, I think so too.
Will put it in the tracker now and update the first post with the link to it.
nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2014, 09:05 AM   #13
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Dstruct's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Dresden, Germany
Posts: 11,996
Default

I can reproduce it with your project but I'm unable to reproduce it with a new project and item ...
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2014, 09:48 AM   #14
jnif
Human being with feelings
 
jnif's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2,011
Default

I can reproduce this bug in Reaper v4.71 portable install with all default settings.

Steps to reproduce:
1. Insert new MIDI item.
2. Draw some notes to the item.
3. Disable "Loop source" in the item properties.
4. Zoom in very close to item start.
5. Disable Snap.
6. Drag item start (resize item) to left.

jnif
jnif is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2014, 10:04 AM   #15
Soli Deo Gloria
Human being with feelings
 
Soli Deo Gloria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Posts: 791
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jnif View Post
I can reproduce this bug in Reaper v4.71 portable install with all default settings.

Steps to reproduce:
1. Insert new MIDI item.
2. Draw some notes to the item.
3. Disable "Loop source" in the item properties.
4. Zoom in very close to item start.
5. Disable Snap.
6. Drag item start (resize item) to left.

jnif
How weird...I do exactly that and I canīt reproduce it. If the devs take a look at Nofishīs project, maybe they can shed some light here...
Soli Deo Gloria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2014, 11:48 AM   #16
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Dstruct's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Dresden, Germany
Posts: 11,996
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jnif View Post
I can reproduce this bug in Reaper v4.71 portable install with all default settings.

Steps to reproduce:
1. Insert new MIDI item.
2. Draw some notes to the item.
3. Disable "Loop source" in the item properties.
4. Zoom in very close to item start.
5. Disable Snap.
6. Drag item start (resize item) to left.

jnif
Ok, reproduced.


FIXED (5.15pre7)

Last edited by Dstruct; 01-30-2016 at 08:59 AM.
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2014, 12:03 PM   #17
xpander
Human being with feelings
 
xpander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Terra incognita
Posts: 3,756
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jnif View Post
Steps to reproduce:
1. Insert new MIDI item.
2. Draw some notes to the item.
3. Disable "Loop source" in the item properties.
4. Zoom in very close to item start.
5. Disable Snap.
6. Drag item start (resize item) to left.
This does happen with the snap also. Really close zoom levels will make it easier to notice what is or is not happening, but it is not necessary to have really close zoom levels for the events to shift their placement. Meaning, you could zoom out, drag the item edge and zoom in to see the shift. Do it again and notice the different amount of shift. Then again, if there is nothing else to go by but these visual clues (?), are they in every case anything more than just visual glitches?

Ok, testing. I can have the snap on and if I'm zoomed very close, MIDI events seem to have an offset when the item edge has been dragged. Interestingly enough, once I drag the left edge to the start of the project, the events line out to the grid again. Then dragging back, the event offset seems to start again, but once back to where I initially started (snap still on to get to the grid), the events are again back to their places.

Done like this with the snap on, the offset seems to be less than one pulse left or right (less than 1/960 with the default PPQ), so it's still within the set MIDI resolution.

Without snap, it's the same thing dragging to the left; offset events along the way, then aligning with the grid when at the beginning of the project. However, there doesn't seem to be way to bring the edge back to the original point without leaving the events offset. If the snap is engaged before dragging back to the right begins, then it is possible, same as with snap on all the way.


Same thing seems to work also with the example project nofish gave earlier. This apparent slight shift of events at very close zoom levels is not a new phenomenon, at least when it is within the MIDI resolution. But it seems that occasionally, and without snap, the offset can be bigger...haven't had enough time to test variables there.

Last edited by xpander; 07-29-2014 at 02:47 PM.
xpander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2015, 01:07 PM   #18
heda
Human being with feelings
 
heda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Spain
Posts: 4,079
Default

I can confirm this issue. I think it depends on the zoom ?

I created another thread. sorry I didn't see yours first. But anyway this is a nasty bug. I voted in your issue tracker.
__________________
HeDaScripts for REAPER | VIP Donations
heda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2015, 04:34 AM   #19
daxliniere
Human being with feelings
 
daxliniere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,584
Default

Oh gosh, this is not good.

This bug plus the bug I get all the time where note lengths are randomly set to tiny (<1% of original?) gives me the heebie-jeebies about MIDI in REAPER, I'm sorry to say.
__________________
Dax Liniere
Not dead, building a studio complex in London. (videos)
[i7-4790K, 12Gb RAM, Win8.1x64, NVidia 9600, UAD2-OCTO, FireFaceUFX, REAPER x64]
daxliniere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2015, 11:56 PM   #20
maxdis
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 309
Default

Unbelievable.
And the worst thing of all, there are so few people discussing this bug (that could screw entire projects), while theming threads are going on for pages and pages.
__________________
Massimo Discepoli - Daniel Barbiero "An Eclipse Of Images"
http://www.acustronica.com/an-eclipse-of-images.html
http://www.massimodiscepoli.com
maxdis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2015, 01:08 AM   #21
EricM
Human being with feelings
 
EricM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia
Posts: 3,800
Default

I never use looped item source in reaper, had so many sync issues
over the years I simply gave up and do manual copies when loop
is required.

e
__________________
Shoelace 4 Theme | SoundCloud/erXon
EricM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2015, 01:27 AM   #22
daxliniere
Human being with feelings
 
daxliniere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,584
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by maxdis View Post
And the worst thing of all, there are so few people discussing this bug (that could screw entire projects), while theming threads are going on for pages and pages.
Sheeple
__________________
Dax Liniere
Not dead, building a studio complex in London. (videos)
[i7-4790K, 12Gb RAM, Win8.1x64, NVidia 9600, UAD2-OCTO, FireFaceUFX, REAPER x64]
daxliniere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2015, 11:36 AM   #23
Mogwai
Human being with feelings
 
Mogwai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 52
Default

Can't reproduce on Reaper 5.01. Maybe it's been fixed

Edit:
This one on 5.01 changelog?
- fixed visual jitter when editing unlooped media item edge

Edit 2: NOT FIXED in 5.01

Last edited by Mogwai; 09-06-2015 at 12:11 PM.
Mogwai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2015, 11:45 AM   #24
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Dstruct's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Dresden, Germany
Posts: 11,996
Default

Not fixed in 5.01. I still can reproduce it with these steps:

1. Insert new MIDI item.
2. Draw some notes to the item.
3. Disable "Loop source" in the item properties.
4. Zoom in very close to item start.
5. Disable Snap.
6. Drag item start (resize item) to left.


FIXED (5.15pre7)

Last edited by Dstruct; 01-30-2016 at 08:59 AM.
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2015, 11:47 AM   #25
heda
Human being with feelings
 
heda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Spain
Posts: 4,079
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mogwai View Post
Can't reproduce on Reaper 5.01. Maybe it's been fixed

Edit:
This one on 5.01 changelog?
- fixed visual jitter when editing unlooped media item edge
I thought so, but I tested it and it still happens.. see here http://forum.cockos.com/showpost.php...2&postcount=18
__________________
HeDaScripts for REAPER | VIP Donations
heda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2015, 12:10 PM   #26
Mogwai
Human being with feelings
 
Mogwai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 52
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by heda View Post
I thought so, but I tested it and it still happens.. see here http://forum.cockos.com/showpost.php...2&postcount=18
Omg, you're right. Confirmed here too.

It's more than just a visual glitch. The notes are actually moving forward, it can be seen from the midi event list.
Mogwai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2015, 02:46 PM   #27
ELP
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 943
Default

It seems really an rounding 100th prob/sample/ms or whatever to ppqn !!

Left rezise only with X/Y Snap enable!
Why ever left rezise MIDI Items without Snap?
Otherwise if you rezise the left edge of items (without x/y snap) and or at higher zoom levels than the Snap size you get wrong Delta Times within the MIDI Item.
Which are really offsets and not only visual.

The DEVS should of course really fix this &
I mean also add an general option
to view and use Measure/Beat/Ticks(1.1.000)
or like other also do Measure/Beat/Sig/Quarter-tick (1.1.1.000) instead ot 100th
for musical timebase events everywhere and not only within the M-Editor as an option.

The thing is that the Delta time of the events within one MIDI Item start at the left edge of the item.
Means you can move/nudge one MIDI item elsewhere at the arrange timeline.
Also inbetween midi ticks means sample/ms or whatever without any problem.
The same with item snap offsets >t=0 no Problem.
You can move any MIDI Item at real accurate timeline positions you ever want.

But resizing the left edge of MIDI Items should always snap at the real midi ticks!!
1/1 | 1/2 | 1/4 | 1/8 | 1/16 |... etc. pp and never ever inbetween.

Frankly, left edge resizing without MIDI Tick snap makes absolutely no sense!!
Because you can move/nudge snap or without snap the item itself elsewhere at the timeline and there is also an SNAP Offset Marker.
So the MIDI item can always be sample/time accurately positioned.
__________________
I hope you can understand me? Without german beer my written english is always very bad, with beer it becomes unbearable!.
Less is more! To much limited the own creativity.

Last edited by ELP; 09-09-2015 at 07:11 AM.
ELP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2015, 01:02 PM   #28
maxdis
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 309
Default

So any news about this?
I can easily reproduce it in Reaper 5.02, following the Dstruct's steps.
__________________
Massimo Discepoli - Daniel Barbiero "An Eclipse Of Images"
http://www.acustronica.com/an-eclipse-of-images.html
http://www.massimodiscepoli.com
maxdis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2016, 07:12 AM   #29
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Dstruct's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Dresden, Germany
Posts: 11,996
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dstruct View Post
Not fixed in 5.01. I still can reproduce it with these steps:

1. Insert new MIDI item.
2. Draw some notes to the item.
3. Disable "Loop source" in the item properties.
4. Zoom in very close to item start.
5. Disable Snap.
6. Drag item start (resize item) to left.
Still there in 5.15pre3.


FIXED (5.15pre7)

Last edited by Dstruct; 01-30-2016 at 08:58 AM.
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2016, 07:32 AM   #30
ELP
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 943
Default

Use the Nudge/set item tool.
position.....trim left or whatever also possible for moving the contents
And these things does nīt happen!

The "rounding errors" seems to be only one problem together with re sizing with the mouse.
__________________
I hope you can understand me? Without german beer my written english is always very bad, with beer it becomes unbearable!.
Less is more! To much limited the own creativity.
ELP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2016, 07:45 AM   #31
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Dstruct's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Dresden, Germany
Posts: 11,996
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ELP View Post
Use the Nudge/set item tool.
position.....trim left or whatever also possible for moving the contents
And these things does nīt happen!
Nope. Happens with the Nudge tool too!

("Nugde left trim by 1 sample" to reproduce)


FIXED (5.15pre7)

Last edited by Dstruct; 01-30-2016 at 08:58 AM.
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2016, 04:41 AM   #32
maxdis
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 309
Default

Confirmed in 5.12
__________________
Massimo Discepoli - Daniel Barbiero "An Eclipse Of Images"
http://www.acustronica.com/an-eclipse-of-images.html
http://www.massimodiscepoli.com
maxdis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2016, 06:49 AM   #33
noise_construct
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1,560
Default

Bugs that affect the audio content should be treated as critical.
noise_construct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2016, 10:47 AM   #34
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 10,197
Default

is the position difference greater than or equal to one tick of the midi item?
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2016, 10:57 AM   #35
heda
Human being with feelings
 
heda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Spain
Posts: 4,079
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
is the position difference greater than or equal to one tick of the midi item?
yes, as you can see in my gif example in #18 the position of the note changes from 6.1.00 to 6.1.05 but it can keep growing.
you have to zoom in significantly then resize the item
__________________
HeDaScripts for REAPER | VIP Donations
heda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2016, 11:21 AM   #36
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Dstruct's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Dresden, Germany
Posts: 11,996
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
is the position difference greater than or equal to one tick of the midi item?
What position difference?
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2016, 11:30 AM   #37
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Dstruct's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Dresden, Germany
Posts: 11,996
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by heda View Post
yes, as you can see in my gif example in #18 the position of the note changes from 6.1.00 to 6.1.05 but it can keep growing.
you have to zoom in significantly then resize the item
This.

FIXED (5.15pre7)

Last edited by Dstruct; 01-30-2016 at 08:58 AM.
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2016, 01:20 PM   #38
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 10,197
Default

ahh I see why, will fix! fix coming in 5.15pre7

Last edited by Justin; 01-29-2016 at 04:25 PM.
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2016, 07:01 PM   #39
ELP
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 943
Default

After the note shift you see (within the MIDI RAW view) that the first note has now an item offset stays at +xx > 0, no matter if the item begin at 0 or not or you move the note to the beginning of the item again -after shift.


example pic after note shift and moving the note & left edge of the item to pos 2.1.00 again
The event content has now an permanent item offset at +49
1.




30.01.15
EDIT:

Fixed with 5.15 pre7 !!! offset +0
Thank you.
__________________
I hope you can understand me? Without german beer my written english is always very bad, with beer it becomes unbearable!.
Less is more! To much limited the own creativity.

Last edited by ELP; 02-24-2016 at 06:11 AM.
ELP is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.