Old 08-17-2014, 04:48 PM   #1
themixtape
Human being with feelings
 
themixtape's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 941
Default SWS: Go to/Select Region (obeys smooth seek) HELP!

Hi guys, I'm trying to get this to work right, but it's not fully working right.

Say I have three loops I want to use in a song... and trigger them with a MIDI pad, with my drumstick.... they loop indefinitely, until I hit another pad, and then once it reaches the end of that loop, it goes to the one I triggered.

This works perfectly, however...

I'm able to retrigger region 2, 3 and 4.... so each time I hit the pad, it IMMEDIATELY starts the loop... not waiting for the other loop that was playing, to finish.

If I trigger Region 1, it works fine... it plays through the full loop in Region 1, and it will not go to the next one I trigger, until it finishes playing the region (which is what I want). But if it's playing Region 2, Region 3, or Region 4, when I hit any of the "Go To/Play Region" pads... it immediately goes to them, and re-triggers immediately.

I can't wrap my head around it. Using Reaper 4.6, 32-bit.

This usually works, but not today! It's basically acting like Markers... which immediately play when you use a pad or keyboard shortcut for that Marker... I don't want them to work like Markers, as I need time to trigger the next loop I want (for live performance/jamming with a friend).



Thanks for any help!



Btw, Region Playlists don't work... when it triggers the 2nd and 3rd loop (this might have something to do with the problem, by the way)... it glitches and gets "stuck" repeating a millisecond of the start of the loop, on Regions 2 and 3. I've tried using different loops, etc... same problem. Have no idea why.

I've also tried keeping the loops separated (with a bar in between), and tried putting each loop on a different track, but that doesn't work either. Same retriggering thing happens.

Last edited by themixtape; 08-17-2014 at 05:10 PM.
themixtape is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2014, 05:27 PM   #2
themixtape
Human being with feelings
 
themixtape's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 941
Default

I've set the midi trigger pads to Custom Actions:

SWS: Go To/Select Region 01 (pad 1)
SWS: Go To/Select Region 02 (pad 2
SWS: Go To/Select Region 03 (pad 3)
SWS: Go To/Select Region 04 (pad 4)

This works with Reaper 4.71, but not with 4.60... I just tested it out with a different (Portable) Reaper install. Problem solved, basically. So guys, if you have any problem with this, update to 4.71 or later....

Thanks!

Last edited by themixtape; 08-17-2014 at 05:37 PM.
themixtape is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2014, 06:31 AM   #3
nolman
Human being with feelings
 
nolman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: ghent, Belgium
Posts: 314
Default

weird, trying to do the same and when i run go to select region 1, it selects and puts the cursor ready, but when it switches it starts playing the project from the beginning.
Can you try to not put your regions at the start of the project to see if you have te same problem ?
nolman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2014, 10:04 AM   #4
themixtape
Human being with feelings
 
themixtape's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 941
Default

I tried as you suggested. No problems here, EXCEPT (haha)....

On this computer (I have two computers running 4.71 now)... this one, if it's playing Region 3 and looping it... if I jump to Region 1 or 2, the cursor just passes Region 3 and plays silence... it's ignoring the command, even though the pointer (the down arrow on the ruler/timeline) is ready to play Region 1 or 2... it doesn't.

Not happening on the other computer... same version, same loops.

Weird.

EDIT----- I know why. It's because there were loops after Region 3 (about a minute of silence)... if the last Region is the last thing in the project, it won't continuously play when you try to jump to earlier Regions. Also, it is recommended that each Region is back-to-back with the other Regions.
themixtape is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2014, 12:26 PM   #5
themixtape
Human being with feelings
 
themixtape's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 941
Default

Ok, I'm annoyed yet again.

If Region 1 is playing, and I jump to Region 3, it plays Region 2 in between.

If Region 2 is playing, and I jump to Region 1, it plays Region 3, before Region 1.

Why is this so close to working, but not working?

Thanks guys,
Chris
themixtape is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2014, 12:35 PM   #6
themixtape
Human being with feelings
 
themixtape's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 941
Default

Ok, the only way to reasonably do this is to use the Actions:

SWS/S&M: Region Playlist - Play Next Region (smooth seek)
SWS/S&M: Region Playlist - Play Previous Region (smooth seek)

And assign two MIDI pads to both these commands.

So basically, if I have 4 regions...

I hit pad 1 to play region 1... it loops infinitely (as specified in my Region Playlist)... and then I hit pad 4 THREE TIMES (to advance to Region 4)... as soon as Region 1's done playing, it jumps to Region 4 and loops that infinitely, and so on. Have to hit pad several times...

REQUEST--- for Standing Water Studios...

Any way you guys could make Actions that work just as above (with the Region Playlist) but have up to 16 Actions, for Regions 1 through 16... as in, going directly to 1, or 13, or 16... by hitting any of the 16 MIDI pads/buttons? This way, if I want Region 10 to loop, after Region 4 is playing, I won't have to hit the pad 6 times, to jump to Region 10? And likewise, if I want to go to Region 2, after Region 10's playing, I don't want to hit 8 times (previous)?

Example:
SWS/S&M: Region Playlist - Play Region 1 (smooth seek)
SWS/S&M: Region Playlist - Play Region 2 (smooth seek)
SWS/S&M: Region Playlist - Play Region 3 (smooth seek)
SWS/S&M: Region Playlist - Play Region 4 (smooth seek)
SWS/S&M: Region Playlist - Play Region 5 (smooth seek)
SWS/S&M: Region Playlist - Play Region 6 (smooth seek)
SWS/S&M: Region Playlist - Play Region 7 (smooth seek)
SWS/S&M: Region Playlist - Play Region 8 (smooth seek)
SWS/S&M: Region Playlist - Play Region 9 (smooth seek)
SWS/S&M: Region Playlist - Play Region 10 (smooth seek)
SWS/S&M: Region Playlist - Play Region 11 (smooth seek)
SWS/S&M: Region Playlist - Play Region 12 (smooth seek)
SWS/S&M: Region Playlist - Play Region 13 (smooth seek)
SWS/S&M: Region Playlist - Play Region 14 (smooth seek)
SWS/S&M: Region Playlist - Play Region 15 (smooth seek)
SWS/S&M: Region Playlist - Play Region 16 (smooth seek)


I think this would be extremely, EXTREMELY helpful for those of us who would love to use Reaper in a live or jamming setting, as I do.

THANK YOU!!!
themixtape is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2014, 03:33 PM   #7
wol
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 79
Default

Is this the behavior you are looking for?
https://stash.reaper.fm/21524/regions.gif

I got it with custom actions like this:
"SWS/S&M: Go To/Select Region x"
"Regions: Go to region x after current region finishes playing (smooth seek)"
wol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2014, 03:55 PM   #8
themixtape
Human being with feelings
 
themixtape's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 941
Default

I don't think that's going to work... I'll try it in a sec
themixtape is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2014, 03:56 PM   #9
themixtape
Human being with feelings
 
themixtape's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 941
Default

Wait... this might work, indeed. Cool!
themixtape is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2014, 03:59 PM   #10
themixtape
Human being with feelings
 
themixtape's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 941
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wol View Post
Is this the behavior you are looking for?
https://stash.reaper.fm/21524/regions.gif

I got it with custom actions like this:
"SWS/S&M: Go To/Select Region x"
"Regions: Go to region x after current region finishes playing (smooth seek)"
Wait, how would I make the custom action? Like this?

SWS/S&M: Go To/Select Region 1
SWS/S&M: Go to region 1 after current region finishes playing (smooth seek)

SWS/S&M: Go To/Select Region 2
SWS/S&M: Go to region 2 after current region finishes playing (smooth seek)

SWS/S&M: Go To/Select Region 3
SWS/S&M: Go to region 3 after current region finishes playing (smooth seek)

SWS/S&M: Go To/Select Region 4
SWS/S&M: Go to region 4 after current region finishes playing (smooth seek)

?

Last edited by themixtape; 08-18-2014 at 04:19 PM.
themixtape is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2014, 04:03 PM   #11
themixtape
Human being with feelings
 
themixtape's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 941
Default

Ok, I did it like that (my previous post) and it looks like it works. Thank you!

However....

I only have 4 regions, still!

I would like to use more than 4 regions... preferably 8-10!

This Action: "Go To/Select Region x" only goes up to 4, even though this Action: "Go to region x after current region finishes playing (smooth seek)" goes all the way up to 40!

SO CLOSE!!!!

Last edited by themixtape; 08-18-2014 at 04:20 PM.
themixtape is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2014, 04:08 PM   #12
themixtape
Human being with feelings
 
themixtape's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 941
Default

What I don't understand though, is my original Actions/MIDI pads... (without using Region Playlist)... now work the same way as these new Actions I made!! They actually skip right to Region 3 (from 1), etc. This wasn't doing that, before. I have no idea why. Maybe with my new shortcuts (which are assigned to new MIDI pads)...?
themixtape is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2014, 04:08 PM   #13
vanhaze
Human being with feelings
 
vanhaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 5,024
Default

Chris,

I just tried some actions as in attached screenshot.

They work for me without a problem ...

I am on OSX 10.9.4 , Reaper 4.72 (64bit).

Last edited by vanhaze; 01-09-2016 at 02:50 PM.
vanhaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2014, 04:15 PM   #14
themixtape
Human being with feelings
 
themixtape's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 941
Default

Appreciate it, Vanhaze, but this isn't exactly what I need... I need for the regions to loop infinitely until I jump to another. We're definitely on the right track but ideally, I just want more than 4. I'd love to have 16 total Actions, or the ability to combine (like mentioned above), with Go To/Select for anything more than 4.

If I could somehow get into the code (if it's easy enough) somewhere, to add up 12 more "Go To/Select Regions", that would be perfect, haha.
themixtape is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2014, 05:16 PM   #15
wol
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 79
Default

Close Reaper and in S&M.ini change this S&M_GOTO_SEL_REGION=4 to the number of actions you need.
wol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2014, 06:48 PM   #16
themixtape
Human being with feelings
 
themixtape's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 941
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wol View Post
Close Reaper and in S&M.ini change this S&M_GOTO_SEL_REGION=4 to the number of actions you need.


How many times can I thank you for this? And thank the incredibly wonderful Reaper community, and Justin, for his vision.

God, every day I use Reaper, and every day I love it more. Incredible.
themixtape is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2014, 07:29 PM   #17
wol
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 79
Default

lol
wol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2016, 09:28 AM   #18
timbralzoom
Human being with feelings
 
timbralzoom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Turkey/Istanbul
Posts: 1,782
Default

sir!..also i want to thank you sir!
timbralzoom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2017, 01:27 PM   #19
lexaproductions
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 589
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wol View Post
Close Reaper and in S&M.ini change this S&M_GOTO_SEL_REGION=4 to the number of actions you need.
Three years later, I ALSO salute you. You have no clue the impact of this statement will have on my current live gig...

Thanks
__________________
My Patreon address: Reaper4Live
lexaproductions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2017, 03:38 PM   #20
themixtape
Human being with feelings
 
themixtape's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 941
Default

Thank you all for this superb thread.... this is so incredibly useful, live

<3
themixtape is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2017, 10:14 PM   #21
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 9,666
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wol View Post
Close Reaper and in S&M.ini change this S&M_GOTO_SEL_REGION=4 to the number of actions you need.
Quote:
Originally Posted by themixtape View Post
Thank you all for this superb thread.... this is so incredibly useful, live
Does anybody know exactly what the exact definition of "S&M_GOTO_SEL_REGION" ?

In the source code on GitHub:
{ "SWS/S&M: Go to/select region %d (obeys smooth seek)", "S&M_GOTO_SEL_REGION", GotoAnsSelectRegion, 4, SNM_MAX_DYN_ACTIONS, NULL},

So this seems to be something like a number of selectable regions and not a select for something like different modes. And "4" seems to be the default, now (Reaper 5). I do see "S&M_GOTO_SEL_REGION=4" in my S&M.ini where I never changed something like that.


-Michael

Last edited by mschnell; 06-25-2017 at 10:25 PM.
mschnell is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2017, 10:19 PM   #22
themixtape
Human being with feelings
 
themixtape's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 941
Default

I believe it is the ACTION:

"Go to / select Region # (obeys smooth seek)"

When you change the number from 4 to whatever (up to over 200), it shows a bunch of actions in the actions list... for example, if you change 4 to 11...

SWS/S&M: Go to/select Region 1 (obeys smooth seek)
SWS/S&M: Go to/select Region 2 (obeys smooth seek)
SWS/S&M: Go to/select Region 3 (obeys smooth seek)
SWS/S&M: Go to/select Region 4 (obeys smooth seek)
SWS/S&M: Go to/select Region 5 (obeys smooth seek)
SWS/S&M: Go to/select Region 6 (obeys smooth seek)
SWS/S&M: Go to/select Region 7 (obeys smooth seek)
SWS/S&M: Go to/select Region 8 (obeys smooth seek)
SWS/S&M: Go to/select Region 9 (obeys smooth seek)
SWS/S&M: Go to/select Region 10 (obeys smooth seek)
SWS/S&M: Go to/select Region 11 (obeys smooth seek)
themixtape is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2017, 10:28 PM   #23
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 9,666
Default

Ah Thanks ! This does make sens.
This will be useful !
-Michael
mschnell is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2017, 10:32 PM   #24
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 9,666
Default

BTW (I'm just a lurker, here, right now):

Are there also action do play a region jut once (not in a loop) from start to end, at best with "not smart seek" i.e. selecting another region would abort the running one ?

Something like that would be the solution for a request for remote controlling "backing tracks" discussed recently. (In that thread using multiple Tabs had been suggested, what IMHO would be rather inappropriate.)

(see e.g. -> http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.p...85#post1859185)

-Michael

Last edited by mschnell; 08-06-2017 at 10:29 PM.
mschnell is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2017, 05:12 PM   #25
kabas
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Brazil
Posts: 7
Default s&m.ini on mac(sierra)???

I could not find the s & m.ini file on my mac
__________________
Listen more, speak less
kabas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2020, 11:54 AM   #26
anubis
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 19
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wol View Post
Close Reaper and in S&M.ini change this S&M_GOTO_SEL_REGION=4 to the number of actions you need.
Be thanked and saluted in 2020 also.

By the way, it looks like there is no use for a custom action anymore because:

"SWS/S&M: Go To/Select Region XXX"

is now: "SWS/S&M: Go To/Select Region XXX (obeys smooth seek)"

Last edited by anubis; 04-24-2020 at 12:01 PM.
anubis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2020, 12:54 PM   #27
TonE
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Reaper HAS send control via midi !!!
Posts: 2,720
Default

mixtape to which number did you change it? 99 would make it something like Notators 99 patterns from Atari ST. I have to test this with your recent tip how to use those smooth region looping.

I imagine using as follow would make it like 99 scenes of "Ableton Live" session view. Each region will be considered a scene, e.g. if each is 1 bar long, you would have 99 bars reserved for these scenes.

Then after bar 100 you can start recording based on what is now playing... so copying always from looped region to the arrange behind it, as long as you wish, and you can mute tracks while looping and all these muted would be recorded as well, so in effect all like in Live's session view, if not better. And this part is already possible, I did it in the past. If the smooth region loop switching is work, that would complete that feature, nicely.
TonE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2020, 12:57 PM   #28
themixtape
Human being with feelings
 
themixtape's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 941
Default

I modified the ini to give me 40 regions total. I rarely need more than 16!
themixtape is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2020, 03:40 PM   #29
TonE
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Reaper HAS send control via midi !!!
Posts: 2,720
Default

I see thanks for the quick response.
TonE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2020, 10:44 AM   #30
Gribble
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Winchester, UK
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TonE View Post
mixtape to which number did you change it? 99 would make it something like Notators 99 patterns from Atari ST. I have to test this with your recent tip how to use those smooth region looping.

I imagine using as follow would make it like 99 scenes of "Ableton Live" session view. Each region will be considered a scene, e.g. if each is 1 bar long, you would have 99 bars reserved for these scenes.

Then after bar 100 you can start recording based on what is now playing... so copying always from looped region to the arrange behind it, as long as you wish, and you can mute tracks while looping and all these muted would be recorded as well, so in effect all like in Live's session view, if not better. And this part is already possible, I did it in the past. If the smooth region loop switching is work, that would complete that feature, nicely.
I agree that Reaper is surprisingly good for 'scene'/loop arranging, when you use the scope of custom actions and mapping to the keyboard/midi hardware.

I've taken a slightly different approach to building up scenes - custom actions to append a new 16 track (sent to a keyboard workstation, or individual VIs as needed) loop of x bars to the end of the project, either empty, or copying through items on selected tracks in the current loop. It creates a region for the new loop so you can jump the playhead back to play or record more as needed. I love the flow of this, and it's easing the pain of not having a full clip launching view..
Gribble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2020, 11:47 PM   #31
themixtape
Human being with feelings
 
themixtape's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 941
Default

Dumb question... I'm trying to make up to 64 regions.... the S&M.ini file is easily editable... but I have a custom action that includes this action, which gives me the functionality I need for looping...

Regions: Go to region xx after current region finishes playing (smooth seek)


My question is... which ini do I need to modify to change THAT Action's maximum? Right now it's a maximum of 40. And I have an idea where I need 64 total (obviously involves Launchpad X / Launchpad Mini MK3 / Launchpad Pro MK3).

Thanks guys!

EDIT: Welp, there's no need to do custom actions anymore... as Go to/select Region xx (obeys smooth seek) does everything I want (and you can have a LOT in the S&M.ini file... I think they said 200 total)... as long as the Preferences are set correctly:

put a tick mark in the option--- Do not change playback position immediately, and you can then choose

"play to next 1 bar..." or
"play to next project marker, end of current region, or start of next region before seeking"

It works perfectly, as a single action, with either of those options. As long as you have your main loop/repeat on. My custom action combined that, plus "go to region xx", etc... and it worked without that tick mark... which is what I thought, was the only way to do it. Nope. Sweet.

Amazing.

Last edited by themixtape; 08-31-2020 at 12:14 AM.
themixtape is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.