Old 11-05-2007, 10:28 AM   #1
JasonTheron
Human being with feelings
 
JasonTheron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Medford, OR
Posts: 1,207
Default Dithering?

Okay, I searched this but dind't find an answer.
Is dithering now included in REAPER's rendering?
Sincerely,

Noob.
__________________
"pff... anybody who has over 900 posts is a total dork..." -Till (Post count of 932 as of the date of this quote)

My Band - http://ischemiacore.com
Till's FR Vote Tracker - http://tillmannn.de/reaper.html -
Underground Music in Southern Oregon - http://www.myspace.com/sohcindustries
JasonTheron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2007, 10:32 AM   #2
Diogenes
Human being with feelings
 
Diogenes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: A place that allows me to protect myself...
Posts: 8,245
Default

Nope. I suggest you try the most excellent Schwa Pycho-dither though. Drop it in last in your Master FX slot and render to 16 bit. What you hear is what you get. Good stuff.

D
Diogenes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2007, 10:39 AM   #3
JasonTheron
Human being with feelings
 
JasonTheron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Medford, OR
Posts: 1,207
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Diogenes View Post
Nope. I suggest you try the most excellent Schwa Pycho-dither though. Drop it in last in your Master FX slot and render to 16 bit. What you hear is what you get. Good stuff.

D
Thank you, sir.
Will do.
I was asking in preparation for a project that I'll be doing in 24/44.1
Wasn't something I wanted to just guess about.
__________________
"pff... anybody who has over 900 posts is a total dork..." -Till (Post count of 932 as of the date of this quote)

My Band - http://ischemiacore.com
Till's FR Vote Tracker - http://tillmannn.de/reaper.html -
Underground Music in Southern Oregon - http://www.myspace.com/sohcindustries
JasonTheron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2007, 10:45 AM   #4
Diogenes
Human being with feelings
 
Diogenes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: A place that allows me to protect myself...
Posts: 8,245
Default

I think there is a JS version of Pyscho-dither included in the Reaper installer. It sounds excellent but you MUST put a limiter ahead of it to make SURE the level does not exceed 0 dB. If it does, Psycho-dither will bypass automatically.

Do a forum search. There is a good thread about it here somewhere...

D
Diogenes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2007, 10:45 AM   #5
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 10,137
Default

Thanks for the marketing D!

The included JS/dither_psycho also does a fine job, use it the same way, as the last effect on the master (with the master fader set to zero).

The JS plug is of comparable quality to other good commercial built-in dithers (eg. pow-R). The commercial version is, well, better.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2007, 11:23 AM   #6
JasonTheron
Human being with feelings
 
JasonTheron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Medford, OR
Posts: 1,207
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Diogenes View Post

Do a forum search. There is a good thread about it here somewhere...

D
Yeah, read that one.
Master fader has to stay at 0 etc...
Thanks all.
__________________
"pff... anybody who has over 900 posts is a total dork..." -Till (Post count of 932 as of the date of this quote)

My Band - http://ischemiacore.com
Till's FR Vote Tracker - http://tillmannn.de/reaper.html -
Underground Music in Southern Oregon - http://www.myspace.com/sohcindustries
JasonTheron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2007, 02:44 AM   #7
griz lee
Human being with feelings
 
griz lee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: in a hotel room near you
Posts: 1,175
Default

Schwa's plugin psycho dither is probably the best dither available on any platform today in my view.

You will be very hard pushed to find a more transparent and highly detailed sound in a 16 bit medium. His 64-bit adaptive shaping algo is a technological masterpiece. I've owned a lot of expensive dither equipment and hardware, but have found absolutely nothing to be as good as this.
griz lee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2007, 04:27 AM   #8
Oxytoxine
Human being with feelings
 
Oxytoxine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 374
Default

sorry the noob question, but how do i exactly use those dither plugs?

insert (as last) in the master channel (set its db = 0), and then, render to file? do i have to set any special settings for the rendering options or the output format in order that they will not "override" the dither plugin's settings or even again apply dithering?

thank you for a short guideline!..
Oxytoxine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2007, 06:13 AM   #9
Diogenes
Human being with feelings
 
Diogenes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: A place that allows me to protect myself...
Posts: 8,245
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
Thanks for the marketing D!

The included JS/dither_psycho also does a fine job, use it the same way, as the last effect on the master (with the master fader set to zero).

The JS plug is of comparable quality to other good commercial built-in dithers (eg. pow-R). The commercial version is, well, better.
You are very welcome Schwa. I ain't just puffing smoke though. I absolutely love this dither and as soon as I am able I'll send you some moolah for the paid version. Gotta keep you fed so you keep creating cool tools...

Oxy, it's all in that thread mentioned above. In your Master FX slot, drop in a limiter set to 0 dB then drop in Psycho-dither. The options then are up to you. I set it to 16 bit output and when I'm happy with my mix I render to 16 bit. Done... and like I said, the beauty of it (IMO) is what I hear in Reaper is what I hear on my finished wave file when dropped on a CD. Fewer guessing games...

D
Diogenes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2007, 06:48 AM   #10
LOSER
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,373
Default

Yay Psycho Dither, dunno what it really does (the VST version) but it looks shiney .

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oxytoxine View Post
sorry the noob question, but how do i exactly use those dither plugs?

insert (as last) in the master channel (set its db = 0), and then, render to file? do i have to set any special settings for the rendering options or the output format in order that they will not "override" the dither plugin's settings or even again apply dithering?

thank you for a short guideline!..
Set the output format to the same as you dither, e.g. if you gonna render to 16bit also set the dither to 16bit.
Setting the output to some other bitdepth than the dither while "override" the settings, as will a volume/fade change (or any other FX) after the dither plug-in.
LOSER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2007, 07:53 AM   #11
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 10,137
Default

Just for grins, here's a short fadeout rendered to 8 bits. The first tone is without JS/dither_psycho, the second tone is with.

Remember that 8 bit resolution is like telling your speakers that they are only allowed to be in one of 256 possible positions, so there's no possible processing that will result in a pristine noiseless tone for this test. The goal of dithering is to convert the ugly truncation noise you hear in the first fadeout into less ear-catching background hiss you hear in the second.
Attached Files
File Type: zip dither-test.zip (70.7 KB, 131 views)
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2007, 07:45 AM   #12
Oxytoxine
Human being with feelings
 
Oxytoxine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 374
Default

thanks guys!

i really appreciate the fantastic help in this forum!
Oxytoxine is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.