Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Bug Reports

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-13-2014, 03:23 PM   #1
Junke
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 143
Default Copy/duplicate item - envelope misbehaves (FIXED)

Whatīs going on here?
Junke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2014, 09:54 AM   #2
Junke
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 143
Default

After fiddling around with this behaviour i think itīs intentional, the point appearing is at the start of the next clip. Also i can work around it via ctrl+c/ctrl+v.
Just doesnīt make much sense to me.
Junke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2014, 12:36 PM   #3
Jeffos
Mortal
 
Jeffos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: France
Posts: 1,969
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Junke View Post
Whatīs going on here?
You have the option "envelope points move with items" enabled

EDIT: now, I think are you talking about the late env. points being "overwritten" (?)

If so, yes, itīs intentional: points are indeed copied up to the next item. It's kinda new too (4.75), to improve things when you copy/move items followed by empty space --but in this case/gif, you haven't any point to copy there (i.e. in the empty space at the very beginning of the gif), and your pasting this flat envelope over other points, so everything behave as expected, but.. yeah... I see what you mean...

Last edited by Jeffos; 11-15-2014 at 01:19 PM.
Jeffos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2014, 04:18 PM   #4
Junke
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 143
Default

Thanks for clearing that up.
Yes, the point appearing and overwriting the automation caused the confusion.
Copying and pasting it doesnīt do this so i donīt really understand the logic behind it. Itīs not a problem though.
Junke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2014, 10:09 PM   #5
Jacos
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 227
Default

I haven't been in this situation yet, but it would be a problem to me. "Points move with item", to me, means the points related to that item, ie underneath it- not to interfere with existing automation for other items. Is it confirmed this is intentional? How do you get around it, Junke?
Jacos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2014, 03:05 AM   #6
witti
Human being with feelings
 
witti's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1,186
Default

Confirmed. 'Add edge points when moving envelope points' seems to be broken.
witti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2014, 04:40 AM   #7
Jeffos
Mortal
 
Jeffos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: France
Posts: 1,969
Default

Indeed, fixed for the next build, thanks for the report!

About the OP...
Quote:
Originally Posted by Junke View Post
i donīt really understand the logic behind it. Itīs not a problem though.
... we have already reverted the "old behavior" (i.e. envelopes points moved within item bounds, instead of start of next item) for the next build too, but just to clarify the logic behind it: imagine a sustain type of fx, and an envelope modifying it in the "empty space" following the item (post-fx fade, typically): in this case, you'd want those envelope(s) to be moved/copied too... There are other "clever solutions" to this issue, but they would be confusing (e.g. different behavior per envelope, etc).
Jeffos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2014, 08:55 AM   #8
Banned
Human being with feelings
 
Banned's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Unwired (probably in the proximity of Amsterdam)
Posts: 4,868
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeffos View Post
... we have already reverted the "old behavior" (i.e. envelopes points moved within item bounds, instead of start of next item) for the next build too, but just to clarify the logic behind it: imagine a sustain type of fx, and an envelope modifying it in the "empty space" following the item (post-fx fade, typically): in this case, you'd want those envelope(s) to be moved/copied too... There are other "clever solutions" to this issue, but they would be confusing (e.g. different behavior per envelope, etc).
Fwiw, this 'logic' makes absolutely no sense to me. If one would want to *copy* a part of the envelope, one should not use a *move* action in any case. And if one would want to move a part of the envelope that is not overlapping with an item, one should not try to move that item only, but simply select that part of the envelope.
__________________
˙lɐd 'ʎɐʍ ƃuoɹʍ ǝɥʇ ǝɔıʌǝp ʇɐɥʇ ƃuıploɥ ǝɹ,noʎ
Banned is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2014, 09:02 AM   #9
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 19,045
Default

Automation items, where art thou? There would be no issues such as these with them... (Jeffos - that's the cleverest solution for most of such issues related to automation in Reaper )
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.