Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Feature Requests

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-19-2014, 09:23 AM   #1
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 5,580
Default Regions Sets - Set/Display/Hide/Name Groups of Region

Hi !

I came here with a feature request. The basic idea is to enhance regions behavior with sets, with sets (groups), which can be displayed, hidden, and named.

Context
I use regions a lot. But not for the same things. Sometimes I have several kinds of regions, that overlap each over.

Example
For example, for a "music for video" production, I have a regions for scene. Then I have regions for moods and other regions for subtitles. And other more( Location, moments for the main Theme etc)...

Ideas
It would be nice if we could define a set (ID with name) of regions, and have the ability to choose what set to display.
For example, subtitles would be regions set #1, scenes would be regions set #2, and with two clicks on the region manager window I choose to hide regions 1 and display region #3 scene.

The region set ID number and name could be set via the region manager window, the region property windows and the add regions window.
Several regions could be put in a set at the same time.
Regions set could have names.
We could choose what set of region to export.
Region numbering could be group dependent (This way, we could have several set of regions (for examples Acts, Scene, Chapters...) all starting from the number 1).

This would allow to have several set of regions one project, which would be very useful especially if some of these regions are subtitles (regions export doesn't keep regions subtitles, and subtitles export doesn't keep regions name).

Actual solutions
We have the ability to export regions list but it doesn't allow quick switch between different sets of regions.
One "set" only is saved in the project.

---

What do you think of that ?
Can I open a Feature Request for this ?

Thank you for listening

FEATURE REQUEST VOTE



-----------------------

EDIT:


Best Workarround, this very nice script by Heda !

Take a look at this:
EEL script: Show/Hide Markers using Track's empty items with notes

A must have !

Last edited by X-Raym; 03-26-2018 at 08:10 AM.
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2014, 09:45 AM   #2
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 8,570
Default

Once again SWS extensions to the rescue (I think...)



(it says 'Marker list' but also works with regions)

To get there use action: 'SWS: Open marker list'
rightclick in the marker list window to get the menu (save / switch marker set)

Is that it ?

(PS: I knew SWS had something like this so I checked it out and only realized just now switching between sets is easily possible)
nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2014, 10:04 AM   #3
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 5,580
Default

It works with regions ! I learn new things every day ^^

The fact is that it just load sets, but doesn't allow to choose what set to display, what set to hide...

It just just "SET 1" and there is just the set 1 anymore, my other regions are gone.

I need something more flexible, which allows to display several sets at once if needed A bit like the track manager but for regions.

Actually, there isn't any way to temporary toggle hide/set regions. It just reload a new set, and delete all regions was not saved into one set.
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2014, 11:12 AM   #4
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 8,570
Default

Ah ok, I see now. True, that flexibility isn't offered yet.
nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2014, 12:20 PM   #5
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 5,580
Default

Ok

So I just open the feature request for votes

Thank you for you interest in this !
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2014, 02:42 PM   #6
VVV
Human being with feelings
 
VVV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: France
Posts: 391
Default

+1

And this other feature request would fit perfectly with yours:

http://forum.cockos.com/project.php?issueid=4517
VVV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2014, 06:29 PM   #7
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 5,580
Default

@VVV
I agree ! Voted
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2014, 12:13 PM   #8
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 5,580
Default

I was thinking was regions group would be even nicer if the regions numbering was group dependent.
This way, we could have several set of regions (for examples Acts, Scene, Chapters...) all starting from the number 1.

what do you think of that ?
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2015, 06:27 AM   #9
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 5,580
Default

For those who are still interested by a region/marker manager with group capabilities,
heda as build a script that could be an answer to this need, using empty items and tracks to define regions and groups.

Take a look at this:
EEL script: Show/Hide Markers using Track's empty items with notes


X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2017, 02:52 AM   #10
Gianfini
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 618
Default

++1

Heda scripts are good but I would prefer to avoid proliferation of "service" tracks, and have the SET + HIDE-UNHIDE option for markers and regions as native functionality

g
Gianfini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2018, 01:33 PM   #11
zosoaudo007
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 24
Default

+1 on this
zosoaudo007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2018, 08:00 AM   #12
foca
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Argentina
Posts: 8
Default

+1!! Please Cockos, make this feature native!
foca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2018, 06:47 AM   #13
dimitris
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 75
Default

+1

Would be useful indeed.
dimitris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2018, 06:56 AM   #14
Michael AD
Human being with feelings
 
Michael AD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Hackensack
Posts: 237
Default

It would also be useful if the region number had an option to be made invisible.

I use regions to indicate chords and I don't want to see a number before the chord name.
Michael AD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2019, 02:33 PM   #15
timatkins
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 27
Default yesyeysyeys

+1 for this! Would be super useful
timatkins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2019, 03:07 PM   #16
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 5,580
Default

@timatkins
Check heda's script linked above. very nice workarround. It can solve this FR.
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2019, 04:42 PM   #17
Shreebz
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 21
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by X-Raym View Post
@timatkins
Check heda's script linked above. very nice workarround. It can solve this FR.
That script is useful, but I don't actually use it. Compared to a proper built-in feature it is not as well-integrated as I'd like it to be. It's a brilliant script, but it's not the same as a more robust region system.

Generally, I'd like regions to behave more like items in a track.
Shreebz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2019, 03:52 AM   #18
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 5,580
Default

Quote:
Generally, I'd like regions to behave more like items in a track.
It is EXACTLY what heda's script allows ! ^^ Note that it is now in v2 with more advanced features for RRM compatibility etc.

Having them as items on tracks bring all items editing action support to regions ( grouping, quantizing, splittong, merging etc). Heda's script is the solution :P
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2019, 10:32 AM   #19
Shreebz
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 21
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by X-Raym View Post
It is EXACTLY what heda's script allows ! ^^ Note that it is now in v2 with more advanced features for RRM compatibility etc.

Having them as items on tracks bring all items editing action support to regions ( grouping, quantizing, splittong, merging etc). Heda's script is the solution :P
Heda's script is a workaround. It's a brilliant script, but it's not the same as having a region system that is integrated like items. I tried using it, and it didn't fit into my workflow the way I thought it would.

Reaper just needs more native, robust, and built-in features for regions. We're all in agreement there.
Shreebz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2019, 12:14 PM   #20
timatkins
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 27
Default I concur with Shreebz

HEDAs script is great and very impressive, but i could use native integration that does not require naming tracks to function.

Also, the ability to change the length of multiple regions at once would be AWESOME
timatkins is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.