Old 01-05-2015, 01:26 AM   #1
Breeder
Human being with feelings
 
Breeder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Croatia
Posts: 2,298
Default Unable to move CC events (FIXED)




Example project:
https://stash.reaper.fm/22805/move%20cc%20bug.RPP

How to replicate:

1. Install portable, clean installation of REAPER (using win 8.1 x64 and x64 REAPER)
2. Open the supplied project and open the only item in the project in MIDI editor
3. Try moving CC event in one item in the project...instead of moving, it will get removed

How to replicate creation of MIDI item that exhibits the problem:
4. Proceed from step 3, leaving MIDI editor opened and create new track
5. In that new track, draw new MIDI item (but make sure the other item is not selected so we create completely empty item)
6. Double click newly drawn MIDI item to open it in an already opened MIDI editor
7. Try drawing and then moving CC events in that new item...the same thing happens.

Vote here: http://forum.cockos.com/project.php?issueid=5465

Last edited by Breeder; 01-06-2015 at 10:32 AM.
Breeder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2015, 02:15 AM   #2
gofer
-blänk-
 
gofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 11,242
Default

The key to it seems to be the time selection plus "Automatically select CC when moving/copying within project time selection".

If that option is enabled and the time selection is larger than the item then all kinds of weird stuff starts to happen to dragged CC events.
gofer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2016, 03:10 PM   #3
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 12,340
Default

Confirmed (5.201 x64).

FIXED (5.25)

Last edited by Dstruct; 09-20-2016 at 10:38 PM.
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2016, 03:50 PM   #4
Tod
Human being with feelings
 
Tod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Just outside of Glacier National Park
Posts: 13,014
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dstruct View Post
Confirmed (5.201 x64).
Yeah, I've got work arounds for dealing with CCs, especially with copied material.

But on a native basis, Reaper doesn't deal with copied CCs very well at all.
Tod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2016, 04:02 PM   #5
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 12,340
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tod View Post
But on a native basis, Reaper doesn't deal with copied CCs very well at all.
Just can get better.
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2016, 05:13 PM   #6
Tod
Human being with feelings
 
Tod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Just outside of Glacier National Park
Posts: 13,014
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dstruct View Post
Just can get better.
I agree Dstruct.
Tod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2016, 02:57 PM   #7
juliansader
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3,197
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gofer View Post
The key to it seems to be the time selection plus "Automatically select CC when moving/copying within project time selection".

If that option is enabled and the time selection is larger than the item then all kinds of weird stuff starts to happen to dragged CC events.
What seems to happen is that all CCs in the time selection, as well as all open space in the time selection, get moved/copied as a block. The open space gets moved/copied together with the selected CCs, and will overwrite (delete) other CCs.

Therefore, if the time selection is not confined to the item boundaries, REAPER must try to fit the selected 'block' of CCs and open space into the item boundaries as soon as the mouse action is run. If, for example, the time selection spreads out beyond the end (right edge) of the item, the block will immediately be shifted to the left, and it will seem as if the CCs suddenly jumped to the left. The block cannot be moved out of the item boundaries, so the CCs cannot be moved back to their original positions.

This behavior, although strange at first, does make sense in a way. What can we propose to the devs? Would it be better if the size of the block (of CCs and open space) is automatically limited to the time range of the item, even if the time selection spreads out beyond this range?

EDIT: The more I think about it, the more I prefer the current behavior. The user can define the exact size of the 'block' of open space, even if that block spreads out beyond the item time range. Perhaps an easy solution would be to change the name of the option to something more accurate and informative? (Actually, several of the MIDI editor's actions have rather misleading names, presumably because they are relics of the years when the editor was only single-track capable.)

Last edited by juliansader; 08-25-2016 at 11:18 AM.
juliansader is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.