Old 03-17-2015, 02:14 AM   #1
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 18,082
Default Q: JSFX sample-accurate automation?

Quote:
+ JS: sample-accurate automation support (individual FX can see the queue of scheduled automation changes while processing an audio buffer block)
I tried a test JS FX (in pre18b) to change a slider value every 441 samples (yes, 100 times a second), set the track automation mode to Write and clicked Play.

I got far fewer than 100 envelope points per second on the Envelope and they were not evenly distributed.

Have I misunderstood or been too optimistic?
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. . . . Inspired by ...
DarkStar is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2015, 03:12 AM   #2
Xenakios
Human being with feelings
 
Xenakios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Oulu, Finland
Posts: 7,992
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkStar View Post
I tried a test JS FX (in pre18b) to change a slider value every 441 samples (yes, 100 times a second), set the track automation mode to Write and clicked Play.

I got far fewer than 100 envelope points per second on the Envelope and they were not evenly distributed.

Have I misunderstood or been too optimistic?
The changelog doesn't mention automation writing. I believe at this point the sample accurate automation is about playing back (reading) existing envelopes. (If the VST3 or JS plugin has implemented it properly. There are very few plugins that actually implement it.)
__________________
For info on SWS Reaper extension plugin (including Xenakios' previous extension/actions) :
http://www.sws-extension.org/
https://github.com/Jeff0S/sws
--
Xenakios blog (about HourGlass, Paul(X)Stretch and λ) :
http://xenakios.wordpress.com/
Xenakios is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2015, 06:45 AM   #3
Banned
Human being with feelings
 
Banned's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Unwired (probably in the proximity of Amsterdam)
Posts: 4,868
Default

Yes, afaik recording automation using the GUI happens at a fixed frequency; which was increased by a factor of 3 (in 5.0pre8). I vaguely remember someone mentioning 60Hz, but I'm not sure.
__________________
˙lɐd 'ʎɐʍ ƃuoɹʍ ǝɥʇ ǝɔıʌǝp ʇɐɥʇ ƃuıploɥ ǝɹ,noʎ
Banned is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2015, 07:54 AM   #4
Argitoth
Human being with feelings
 
Argitoth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 2,055
Default

just in case: sample_accurate_vs_not.RPP
__________________
Soundemote - Home of the chaosfly and pretty oscilloscope.
MyReaperPlugin - Easy-to-use cross-platform C++ REAPER extension template
Argitoth is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.