Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Bug Reports

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-11-2015, 12:53 PM   #1
Breeder
Human being with feelings
 
Breeder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Croatia
Posts: 2,359
Default The option save minimal undo states not working too good when removing some FXs (i.e.

If the plugin has the option save minimal undo states enabled and it is removed (either by alt-clicking the FX button or simply removing FX from right-click menu in FX chain), undoing that change doesn't always restore full plugin state.

This is really obvious with NI Kontakt. Simply load Kontakt, put some instrument in it and remove FX immediately by alt-clicking the FX button. Undo that change...Kontakt will get reloaded but there won't be any instruments loaded.
Definitely not nice since this can lead to data loss.

Would it be possible for REAPER to always save full plugin state when removing FX?

Vote here:
http://forum.cockos.com/project.php?issueid=5576
Breeder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2015, 06:40 AM   #2
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 12,350
Default

Confirmed with TX16Wx.
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2016, 04:15 PM   #3
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 12,350
Default

Bump.
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2016, 09:56 AM   #4
amagalma
Human being with feelings
 
amagalma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2,677
Default

Just ran into this problem!

Another bump
__________________
Most of my scripts can be found in ReaPack.
If you find them useful, a donation would be greatly appreciated! Thank you! :)
amagalma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2016, 10:03 AM   #5
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 24,326
Default

Not a bug, I think, that's what that option was made to do - saving a minimal possible plugin state chunk in the undo buffer. Otherwise you would EASILY get very huge undo files... For example, let's say that you have about 8 pretty heavy instruments loaded in a Kontakt instance... plugin state chunk could easily end up being dozens of megabytes (because the instrument data gets expanded and serialized into plugin state). Then for every single tweak within Kontakt you'd add up THAT much MB to the undo file!
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2016, 10:13 AM   #6
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 18,767
Default

... perhaps removing a plug-in should be considered as a "minimal undo state", that is, one to be saved fully.
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. . . . Inspired by ...
DarkStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.